We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Girls' Weekend Get Away!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in St. Michaels
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Terrific Girls' Weekend Get Away!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

My two friends and I visited the Inn at Perry Cabin for a Girls' Weekend and we had a wonderful time. We requested a 3rd floor, 1 bedroom suite so we didn't encounter the noise that other reviewers mentioned in other posts. The room was comfortable, spacious and clean. We enjoyed all the amenities in the room from the robes, slippers and homemade cookies that came with the turn down service. Each staff member that we interacted with before, during and after our stay were genuinely friendly and helpful which made our trip that more enjoyable. We ate in the restaurant each morning for breakfast and had no complaints with the service or the food. We also did Afternoon Tea which was a nice treat. As far as the Resort Fee that has been brought up in other posts, it was clearly outlined in the confirmation email that I received from the Inn. I do agree that for the price you pay to stay at the inn it is a bit excessive especially since they charge a daily resort fee and it was probably the only negative part of the stay. Since my friends and I knew about it, we did make sure to take advantage of all the "free" activities - kayaking, s'mores, yoga, champagne reception, use of pool, bikes, etc. and we enjoyed all of them. The Inn schedules plenty of activities so it's not that hard to re-coup the fee if you're looking to stay busy. The town is within a 5 - 10 minute walk of the inn and we were able to walk and ride bikes there. When we signed up for the yoga classes, we were able to take the shuttle to the studio which was nice and we appreciated the shuttle service (Thanks, Mason!). We also visited the spa while we were there and enjoyed our treatments. The Relaxation Room has reclining chairs, fruit, nuts, infused water and tea for you to enjoy before and after your treatment. Our visit to the pool area was relaxing and a staff member was constantly checking on us to make sure we didn't need anything. Our chairs were comfortable, we were provided towels and the staff brought us two umbrellas for our area. I'd definitely return to the inn if I were looking to splurge on another Girls' Weekend trip.

Room Tip: Request a 3rd floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wahoowa91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Director of Operations at Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. I am so glad you were able to take advantage of the many activities that we offer our guests. From the kayaks and bikes to the fishing and crabbing tours we offer, we try and offer many activities that will bring our guests fond memories of their stay with us.

Thank you again for your great feedback and we hope we offer another fun girls weekend for you!

Sincerely,

Chris Sullivan
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    684
    213
    80
    51
    21
See reviews for
112
715
20
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Neavitt, MD
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

If you plan to visit Saint Michaels, DON"T MISS the Inn at Perry Cabin!!!! Whether you stay here for a week or just come for tea or a quick dinner at the Pub, you'll find it offers the most beautiful setting in Talbot County. The waterfront views are lovely, but it's the gardens that draw me back again and again. A true must-see.

Room Tip: I live in the area so have no reason to sleep there, but have had breakfast, lunch, tea and dinner a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMWnvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed here 17 years ago with my then girlfriend, now wife. It was one of our dreams to pull in here on our own boat, with our two kids. So we lived the dream last week. MAJOR drawback however was there is NO ELECTRIC at the dock! Only the sailboat school had a marine power pedestal. Major disappointment that IPC really has to rectify. My bet is they don't rely at all on boating guests for business, but a hotel like this (everything first rate) simply has to have marine power on their boat docks.

Other than the surprise at the dock, our stay was wonderful. Room, property, cleanliness, all wonderful. Most of the staff were pleasant, but some at front desk, Sherwood Landing restaurant, pool bar, etc, were less friendly and helpful than I've experienced at other apples to apples ($$) resort properties and I've been around. Attitudes were what I would describe as "indifferent" or "standoffish." In contrast, all the bellhops and doormen were fantastic. They greeted us with a smile and you saw in their eyes that they meant it. Also the Maitre d at Sherwood's landing, was superb. Our server was not.

Yes, I would stay here again, which is why I'm providing the feedback for improvement.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Director of Operations at Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am glad you were able to enjoy most of your stay. I do apologize about the dock power, that is something we will look into for the future.

I would also like to apologize about some of the staff you encountered. Service is our number one priority here and we do extensive training to ensure our guests are well taken care of. I would like to apologize personally if I may. Please feel free to email me at csullivan@perrycabin.com or call me at 410-745-2200 ext 246 at your convenience.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to hear from you soon.

Sincerely,

Chris Sullivan
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Washington, PA
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

My husband and I spent three nights here to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary. We splurged on a third floor 1 BR suite with water view--think it's probably the nicest room type there, and it was well worth it. The room was very much to my taste -- bright, spacious, with clean, nautical lines and simple colors. The bathroom with an open closet was the smartest concept I've ever seen in a hotel. Unpacking and accessing our clothes was very convenient, and it certainly helped that the bathroom was bigger than some hotel rooms.

Service was very pleasant, especially room service. When we first arrived, there was no bell service, but when I walked in and pointed it out, they were very apologetic and called the bell boy right away, who was again apologetic and very helpful.

We went to St. Michael's to do nothing, so it was perfect for us. We spent one whole day at the pool (very good service yet again) and another day antiquing/shopping, but did not do any other activities. The clientele of the hotel tends towards the geriatric -- not exactly a young and hip place -- but that slow, relaxed pace was exactly what we needed. If you can splurge on a nice room and want to do nothing but unwind, I highly recommend the Inn and Perry Cabin. My husband and I will treasure our time spent there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wellesley88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainview, New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Just had an outstanding girls weekend away at the Inn at Perry Cabin. It was the perfect setting for relaxing and getting away from our stressful lives. The view from our rooms were spectacular and the accommodations were luxurious. We really enjoyed our dinner at Sherwood's Landing and the daily bike ride into town. The pool was delightful and the lunch menu made it easy not to leave our lounge chairs. The service on property was was wonderful but I have to admit my favorite part of the weekend was our trip to the Spa - received an amazing massage, the perfect way to end a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We just returned from a wonderful weekend and loved the Inn. We arrived early and were thrilled to discovery that our room was ready. The room was beautiful as was its patio and garden. We were also very pleased with the variety of activities that were available. When we checked in, we quickly signed up for many of the acitivites including the aerial yoga and s'mores. I highly recommend the aerial yoga. I had never done anything like it and thoroughly enjoyed it. If you like yoga (or even if you don't), bring your yoga clothes and give it a try. We had tea Saturday afternoon and found it to be very relaxing and well done. Overall, the facilities were well maintained and beautiful.

There have been several comments about the staff on this forum. The service was good, but not perfect. The front desk tended to be staffed by people who were quite young. While pleasant, they were not as proactive as they could have been. For example, when I asked to sign up for the aerial yoga, I should have been told it was off site, given driving directions, and given the necessary voucher. This should not have required me to make two more trips to the front desk to ask about these logistics. We were also disappointed that our room had not been turned down prior to our return from dinner. On a more positive note, the man who made sure everyone had everything they needed at the pool on Sunday (sorry that I forgot his name) was wonderful and enhanced the experience.

Overall, it was a wonderful weekend and we hope to return. We would highly recommend the Inn for a weekend getaway. While we were only there for a weekend, we felt like we had gotten away and had a lovely vacation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank first_replay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Difficult to find a more delightful location right on the bay. However the enjoyment of our Friday/Saturday stay was spoiled by plain poor management. At check in, I deliberately confirmed that the twin bedded room which we had booked was what we we getting and was assured that it was, 5 minutes later, after viewing our double bed, I was back at reception to be told " oh we don't have twin bedded rooms" why did they accept and confirm our booking and confirm when I asked at check in?? Not a good start, the bathroom basin would not hold water, a delightful maintenance man soon sorted that out, why did their chambermaid not report it ?? No in room coffee or refreshments although there was a very noisy - empty fridge - why? Complimentary coffee and tea was available each morning, but in the main reception, barefoot and unwashed in THEIR reception - not a good idea.
When we went to the restaurant to ask to see the menu, the 'girl' at the desk was so condescending it was almost too much trouble for her to find us one and we felt so uncomfortable that we ate out for the whole stay. Didn't want to put them to too much trouble!
Theo's restaurant in St Michaels was the complete opposite and the staff and food could not have been nicer.
A beautiful place spoiled by some staff so far up their own 'bums' it could only appeal to a certain clientele.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Freemasonsheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Director of Operations at Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback. I sincerely apologize about the misunderstanding about the double beds. We have not had double beds here for over a year and I was very suprised to see that someone told you that we had them. I have forwarded your comments about the room and the restaurant to their respective managers so that we can follow up with these as well.

I would like to apologize personally if I may. Please feel free to call me at 410-745-2200 or email me at csullivan@perrycabin.com at your convenience.

Thank you again for your feedback and I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Sincerely,

Chris Sullivan
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Michaels
1.7 mi away
St. Michaels Inn
St. Michaels Inn
#3 of 4 in St. Michaels
459 reviews
18.2 mi away
Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa
Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Chesapeake Beach
588 reviews
7.8 mi away
Oxford Inn
Oxford Inn
#1 of 1 in Oxford
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
The Inn at Chesapeake Bay Beach Club
18.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina
0.2 mi away
Parsonage Inn
Parsonage Inn
#2 of 13 in St. Michaels
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond

Property: Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
Address: 308 Watkins Lane, St. Michaels, MD 21663-2114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Talbot County > St. Michaels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in St. Michaels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond 5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conde Nast Traveler Readers' Choice Award Winner, Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond, is a 78 room waterfront estate with a nod to the legendary history of Maryland's fabled Eastern Shore. Cradled by the Chesapeake's Miles River, Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond sits on the edge of St. Michaels, a town steeped in the region's crabbing and oystering traditions. The Inn boasts a top-rated spa, a zero-edge pool, acclaimed dining, Afternoon Tea and countless activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Belmond, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Perry Cabin By Orient-Express Hotel St. Michaels
Hotel At Perry
Inn Perry Cabin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing