We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Helpful, friendly staff made this a great experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in St. Michaels
Certificate of Excellence
Western Maryland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Helpful, friendly staff made this a great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

We were in need of a quiet, restful few days after a very busy and stressful month. The Inn provided just the respite we needed! The facility is quiet, clean and nice. Our room was very nice and the bathroom was as big as our sleeping room! The first night we found that the bed was way too hard and the pillows were flat, causing us to have a terrible night's sleep. After my husband talked with the staff the next morning, a foam topper was put on our bed and we got new pillows. This improved the bed immensely and we had no other trouble sleeping.

The staff, to a person, were friendly and helpful. Alex was great at check-in, helping us store our bikes in the bike shed and getting everything to our room. The staff's friendliness helped to make our stay enjoyable.

We ate dinner in Sherwood Landing the first night and breakfast there very day. The choices were varied and good. I actually really liked the grits at breakfast. The wait staff, again, was friendly and helpful. Not only that, we had the same waitress two mornings in a row and she asked how our bike ride had been the day before.

It was an easy stroll from the Inn to the main part of town.

All in all, the rest that we needed!

Room Tip: We asked for a room on the top floor (which is only 3 floors) and it was great! It was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank herbowitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Director of Operations at Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. I sincerely apologize about the firmness of the bed, but I am glad we responded quickly to your request and that you were able to enjoy the rest of your stay!

I have shared your comments with our staff and they are thrilled that you had such a great stay.

We hope to see you again soon! If I could be of any further assistance to you in any way, please feel free to call me at 410-745-2200 or email me at csullivan@perrycabin.com

Sincerely,

Chris Sullivan
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

989 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    654
    198
    76
    44
    17
See reviews for
104
680
16
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

The Inn at Perry Cabin is an upscale resort on the banks of the Chesapeake Bay. The Inn is clean, quiet and generally populated with couples on trending a bit older and well-heeled. Rooms are spacious and well-appointed, if not oddly arranged at times (for example, in our room, you need to squeeze in between the bed and tv stand to cross from the entry to the sitting area). And the facilities offer a range of activities and opportunities to relax from bocce to kayaking and from the spa to clusters of Adirondack chairs and tree swings facing the water.

Two somewhat minor things keep me from giving the Inn a five star rating - the first is the very slow housekeeping service, the second is quality of food/room service. While the rooms and facilities are quiet clean and well-maintained, the general straightening up of rooms lasts well into the afternoon and early evening. There's something quite disappointing about returning to your room at 5 pm after being out since the early morning to find that the bed has still not been made. The room service menu is extensive (and the restaurant is generally good, not amazing, but good), but the staff called three times to make sure they got our breakfast order right, only to deliver the correct food, but to forget to leave silverware, napkins and condiments. A call back rang and rang and rang with no answer for about 10 minutes (we just gave up and trekked down to the dining room to ask for what we were missing - the extreme eye-rolling of the hostess suggested that that was not a welcome move, but then perhaps she should have answered the phone ;-)).

All in all, I would recommend the Inn to those looking for a quiet and relaxing break, but I would urge the staff to up it game just a little bit in order to ensure a perfectly five star experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachgirl722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Director of Operations at Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback. I apologize about your room no being made up in a timely manner. I have brought this issue up to my Housekeeping Manager. Our normal daytime housekeeping service runs from 8:30am to 4:30pm and we are investigating as to why your room was not done that day. I also apologize about the room service issue that you had. I have shared your feedback with my Food and Beverage Manager as well so that we may correct this problem so it will not happen to someone else.

I would like to apologize personally if I may. Please call me at 410-745-2200 or email me at csullivan@perrycabin.com at your convenience.

Thank you again for your feedback and I hope to talk to you soon.

Sincerely,

Chris Sullivan
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

This is a gorgeous inn with many rooms spread out on the beautifully landscaped property.
Situated on St. Michael's harbor, the lovely water view with sail boats, yachts, etc. make for a restful feel. Food is excellent and especially nice is a choice if a casual pub dinner or a more upscale dinner in the lovely dining room. Rooms are nice but small. We really enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Smbrauner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darnestown
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

It's not often that my husband and I get a chance to get away for a night without our kids, so when we do, we like to be sure we go somewhere relaxing. We stayed in one of the master suites...amazing luxurious room! It was very clean, tasteful decor, and very comfortable and quiet. Throughout our stay the staff was very helpful and attentive. We had spectacular service at Sherwood's Landing as well as the pool bar. Food was terrific! We sat on the adirondack chairs by the water, walked the beautiful gardens, and rode their bikes. The infinity pool is fabulous as well...the water is a bit cold, but relaxing.
If you love historical charm ( you even get an actual key for your room...not a plastic card) in a quaint town, then you must try Inn at Perry Cabin. We will definitely come back for another visit!

Room Tip: Ask for the Caledonia building....it's very quiet"!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 3kidsDarnestown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

While the rooms were nice, especially with a view of the water I was disappointed with how loud the place is at night. Our room was down the hall from the bar which was very loud and people in the hall kept yelling. As did the people on the room next door when they went out on the balcony. We went there for a nice relaxing weekend without the kids and got no rest at all. Very disappointing weekend.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Smalfri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Director of Operations at Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback. I sincerely apologize about the noise issues you had during your stay. We try to encourage our guests to let us know if they have any issues during their stay so that we can address them in a timely manner in order to take care of the problem for them. This is certainly a problem we could have addressed for you while you were staying with us.

I would like to apologize personally if I may. Please feel free to email me at csullivan@perrycabin.com or call me at 410-745-2200.

Thank you again for your feedback and I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Sincerely,

Chris Sullivan
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Spent a four day weekend there - our first trip to the Eastern Shore. Weather was blazing hot, but the breeze off the water kept it mostly comfortable. What I liked: very comfortable bed, absolute silence at night (we had the bi-level suite), extremely well-kept inside and out (plantings were spectacular). What I didn't like: no shelf space in the bathroom, deck chairs need pads, reservations at Sherwoods Landing were hard to get but dining room wasn't even half full at 7:30 on.
Area is a wonderful place to visit. Loved the Maritime Musuem, the Crab Claw (played Whack a Crab), the town of Oxford, the art museum in Easton, the end of Tilghman Isl.

Room Tip: Rooms by the bar aren't very peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eaglejohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Director of Operations at Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments. I am so glad that you were able to sleep so peacefully and enjoyed our grounds. I do apologize about the issues with seating in the restaurant and the shelf space in the bathrooms. I have shared your comments with my restaurant manager and we will work to ensure this is not an issue with our other guests moving forward. I will also work with my Director of Housekeeping and find a resolution with the shelf space in our bi-level suites.

Thank you again for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,

Chris Sullivan
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful rooms, clean, comfy and large. (We had a suite though).
Service impeccable.
I recommend, it's price but worth it!
for best simply cooked good Italian try Osteria Alfredo
in Easton just beside the Acme store
Dont go to the Bistro in St Michael it sucks

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Michaels
1.7 mi away
St. Michaels Inn
St. Michaels Inn
#4 of 4 in St. Michaels
3.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
0.4 mi away
St. Michaels Harbour Inn Marina & Spa
0.2 mi away
Parsonage Inn
Parsonage Inn
#2 of 13 in St. Michaels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina
8.0 mi away
Tidewater Inn
Tidewater Inn
#4 of 9 in Easton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
0.6 mi away
George Brooks House B&B
George Brooks House B&B
#5 of 13 in St. Michaels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond

Property: Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
Address: 308 Watkins Lane, St. Michaels, MD 21663-2114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Talbot County > St. Michaels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in St. Michaels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond 5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conde Nast Traveler Readers' Choice Award Winner, Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond, is a 78 room waterfront estate with a nod to the legendary history of Maryland's fabled Eastern Shore. Cradled by the Chesapeake's Miles River, Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond sits on the edge of St. Michaels, a town steeped in the region's crabbing and oystering traditions. The Inn boasts a top-rated spa, a zero-edge pool, acclaimed dining, Afternoon Tea and countless activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Belmond, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Perry Cabin By Orient-Express Hotel St. Michaels
Hotel At Perry
Inn Perry Cabin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing