We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic and luxurious”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in St. Michaels
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 25, 2011

We stayed here for a 3-day anniversary escape and loved it. The location is superb, walking distance into town, but we also took advantage of the bikes available for a ride. The natural setting is beautiful, right on the water, and the grounds are landscaped beautifully with flowers at every turn and plenty of greenery that makes the buildings seem smaller and more intimate and provided privacy on the patio attached to our room. We took advantage of the spa for massages (fantastic) and the pool, as well as a sailing lesson through Offshore Sailing School (also fantastic) which has boats docked at the Inn. While many small details made our experience feel luxurious, I would say the food at the Inn was the most surprising and delightful aspect. Often it seems that hotel restaurants can be kind of mediocre but get away with it, riding on the rest of an otherwise luxurious experience. I was prepared for this, having read some mixed reviews here of the main restaurant, Sherwood's Landing. But this was not at all the case -- the food was fabulous, sophisticated, and interesting. And because we just wanted to hang around and relax at the hotel, we tried all the options (Sherwood's Landing, Purser's Pub, breakfast in our room, afternoon tea). Every time it was delicious. We were told that a new executive chef just came on board about a week ago -- based on our experience this seems to be working out very well! Overall we had a wonderful, relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msk2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,079)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

900 - 906 of 1,079 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2011

My husband arranged a special surprise trip to the Inn at Perry Cabin for my 50th birthday.

After reading all the glowing reviews I was very excited and looking forward to a
Ritz Carlton-esque experience.

Unfortunately that was not to be.

We arrived in the late afternoon following a 3 hour drive-the woman at check in was pleasant enough and the grounds were lovely but it was clear that this was not quite in season as the hotel had few guests and even fewer employees, it seemed.
She let us know that afternoon tea was being offered in the adjacent room, should we be interested, although we wanted to do some exploring we did venture into the next room only to find that, unlike any other similar hotel of this calibre (the White Elephant on Nantucket, or the Castle Hill Inn in Newport, for example) Afternoon Tea would be $20 pp- not complimentary (??) -surprising, given the fact that room rates off season are over $400/nt .

Our room was a lovely suite on the first floor- linens and amenities, very nice.
However, in the shower there was very little water pressure (truly just a trickle) and it took 5 minutes for the water to become hot (again, "???"). We have never experienced this in either a modern or historic hotel before.

After a very nice dinner off property and then a lovely breakfast in the restaurant (which I would give 4 stars) we headed out for the day to explore the local area.
Upon returning to our room around 3:45 PM we arrived to find that the room had not been cleaned (another "???" moment). Upon calling the concierge to see what had happened, instead of an apology I received "well, they have until 4:00 to clean the rooms, you know" from a very young (and obviously untrained) girl who should never have been in that position. I was absolutely shocked.

All of the above, coupled with the fact that not once was a verbal acknowledgement made of our special occasion nor was a plate of cookies (or some gesture) ever extended, really soured what should have been a fabulous experience. Except for the wait staff, employees did not seem engaged and there was little, if any eye contact.

I really wanted to love the Inn at Perry Cabin.

Perhaps it was because it was off season and they weren't properly staffed but I was sadly underwhelmed at the whole experience and will not have a 50th birthday again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Welltraveledfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatPerryCabin, Director of Rooms Division at Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2011

Thank you so much for choosing to celebrate this special occasion with us at The Inn at Perry Cabin. Although I'm sorry to read that your experience fell short of your expectations, I do appreciate your willingness to share feedback regarding your stay.

I appreciate your kind comments about your suite, the property, and breakfast in Sherwood's Landing, but I would like to sincerely apologize for the poor level of service you and your husband received during your stay. Providing extraordinary guest satisfaction through friendly, attentive service is our goal at the Inn at Perry Cabin, and in this instance, it appears that we didn't deliver. I will certainly address all of the issues you raised with our staff to ensure that future guests won't encounter similar problems.

I would welcome the opportunity to speak with you directly to personally apologize. Please feel free to contact me at your convenience. Thank you once again for your business and for your feedback.

Sincerely,

David Merryman
Director of Rooms Division

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2011

Anniversary weekend, selected the spa package with breakfast included. First day we did room service for breakfast--everything was well done, and the right temperature--hard to do for room service.
Our room was on the third floor--nice view of the grounds and the boats on the water side, and even a view of the front of the inn. Bed, furniture, decorations, all very nice. Nice robes, and a pair of slippers, and a sweet treat, and some fruit in the room. Ice in the bucket both days without asking.
Our spa experience was equally enjoyable--nice people doing good work--we were very relaxed.
Overall, the other reviews are right when they say everyone is friendly. They look you in the eye, say hello, open the door for you. Do the extra thing. Great atmosphere.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WineloverVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2011

My husband and I went to the Inn for an extended weekend getaway. We took advantage of the "Suite Escape" spring promotion (a 20% discount), so we stayed in a master suite with a partial waterfront view. Our suite was spacious and tastefully decorated; it had a fireplace as well as plenty of storage and natural light. The inn's staff members were very courteous and pleasant.

We enjoyed the following:
- afternoon tea with tasty sandwiches, scones, and desserts served in the lovely morning room
- proximity to small shops
- great bath products (We particularly liked the milk and oatmeal soap.)

We noted the following areas of improvement:
- minor ant problem (Though staff members addressed this when I brought it to their attention.)
- No microwave or coffeemaker (Our suite had a wet bar so it would have been convenient to have these appliances.)

Room Tip: Use special promotions (e.g., Suite Escape)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TT777_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Inn recently to celebrate our fifth wedding anniversary. My husband had proposed to me in one of their cozy sitting rooms with fireplace (he guided me into the room through a bookcase with a hidden door opening into the room - - very fun!). We spent our honeymoon there as well. We have always found it to be a perfect adult getaway. The Inn is situated right on the water, most of the rooms have some view of the water. The older historic part of the Inn has smaller less expensive rooms, and we have stayed in several of them (some with balconies and some without) - all very nice. The rooms have always been spotless. The only complaint is that there is only a very small glass shelf in the bathrooms to place toiletries. The Inn has a great restaurant with wonderful views of the water from every table, and there is a small cozy pub with comfy overstuffed chairs by a fireplace and an interior patio when the weather is warm. On selected Saturdays in the spring they have a small jazz band in the restaurant. The Inn staff provides attentive but unobstrusive service. We have not yet taken advantage of the new spa and pool. The Inn is within easy walking distance of the quaint town of St Michaels with boutiques and coffee shops, a waterfront museum complex, and river boat tours. The town of Easton (about a 20 min drive) has an absolutely fabulous Italian restaurant, Scozza, where the atmosphere is lively and the food fabulous (homemade pasta). Mason's in Easton has wonderful food in a historic building, ask for a table overlooking their small garden area, they also have wonderful selection of chocolates in their coffee/cafe area.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ms55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2011

My boyfriend and I came from DC for a night and were pleased with out stay. We were slightly disappointed that our room did not have a patio or balcony, but we enjoyed our waterfront view and the small sitting area in our room that was in a unique little loft space. Service was great. The bartender at Purser's Pub was really friendly and our dinner at Sherwood's Landing was delicious and romantic. The Inn is just off the main street in St. Michael's and we easily walked into town to have lunch, stop into the shops, and go to the winery.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 042581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2011

We recently took advantage of the Inn's Winter Wonderland package for a two-night mid-week stay. The value was outstanding when considering the $100 per night resort credit and the $45 per day breakfast credit. We stayed in a state room in the main building, which was large and beautifully appointed with a direct view of the grounds and the river. State rooms vary in location and size, so it does make a difference as to which room is selected. We contacted the hotel directly to discuss the various room selections and they were very helpful in assisting us in making that choice. The weather was cold and rainy but it didn't make a difference in our enjoyment of the place because the inn is so comfortable and welcoming, as if it was our own home. To a person, the staff was very friendly and helpful, from the pub bartender to the front desk staff to Sherwood's Landings hostess and waitresses, as well as the housekeeping staff. This was our third trip to the Inn, and we can't wait to return as we feel more and more comfortable with each visit.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harryoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Michaels
1.7 mi away
St. Michaels Inn
St. Michaels Inn
#3 of 4 in St. Michaels
487 reviews
18.2 mi away
Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa
Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Chesapeake Beach
600 reviews
0.4 mi away
St. Michaels Harbour Inn Marina & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina
4.8 mi away
Wades Point Inn on the Bay
0.5 mi away
The Old Brick Inn
The Old Brick Inn
#1 of 13 in St. Michaels
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond

Address: 308 Watkins Lane, St. Michaels, MD 21663-2114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Talbot County > St. Michaels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in St. Michaels
Price Range: $365 - $929 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond 5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conde Nast Traveler Readers' Choice Award Winner, Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond, is a 78 room waterfront estate with a nod to the legendary history of Maryland's fabled Eastern Shore. Cradled by the Chesapeake's Miles River, Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond sits on the edge of St. Michaels, a town steeped in the region's crabbing and oystering traditions. The Inn boasts a top-rated spa, a zero-edge pool, acclaimed dining, Afternoon Tea and countless activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Perry Cabin By Orient-Express Hotel St. Michaels
Hotel At Perry
Inn Perry Cabin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing