We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ants and Flies on the Bay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Harbourtowne Resort
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in St. Michaels
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tallahassee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ants and Flies on the Bay”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2009

I stayed at this hotel on business with twenty-seven colleagues as part of a retreat. What caused me the greatest concern were the ants and flies in my room and in the restaurant. The flies were relentless and did not make for an appetizing meal. I had them to spray for the ants in my room and this helped to control them. Even the trainer was swatting flies in the meeting room. The venue is quite scenic given that it is right on the bay. My room was nicely decorated but the carpeting was old and not what I expected given the rates. I had a private patio with chairs and a table and enjoyed hearing the sound of the water on the rocks. The food was decent but plentiful. The service was fine. I had never seen so many insects at a hotel in my ten years of business travel. We all agreed that we would never return. It is no wonder that besides one or two families, there seemed to be no other guests.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank professorb1913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    108
    58
    30
    24
See reviews for
53
149
8
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2009

The food is very good, the rooms are nice, the view is unbeatable. The staff is very friendly and helpful. I love the new addition of the shuttle boat to town. Very peaceful and relaxing, great location to recharge.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acainelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2009

We stayed here for one night and were lucky to have a room out on the point. We had a great view of the water and a patio with chairs. Our room, however was dingy and had a damp smell. It was like a motel room...however, we paid $200/night. We also stayed one night at the Harour Inn near the town of St. Michaels and in comparision, I'd rather stay at Harbourtowne. We paid the same amount at Harbourtowne for the same quality of room but didn't have the lovely water view. If you are set on St Michaels and can't afford to stay at the Inn at Perry Cabin, this wouldn't be such a bad place.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank mh6776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these St. Michaels hotels

Edgewater, Maryland
Level Contributor
183 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2009

Booked an overnight non-profit board retreat here for a group of 20 women. I did visit the property before booking and was amazed by the beautiful setting - it happened to be a gorgeous day and I was hooked the moment I got out of the car without even seeing inside!

The waterviews are beyond compare as the resort sits on a point of land surrounded by water. I have stayed at the Inn at Perry Cabin just 2 minutes down the road and their setting simply cannot compete. This is not a 5 star resort, but all of the attendees were very pleased with the resort and their accomodations which have all recently been renovated. The bed was comfortable. The grounds are immaculate. The staff was very helpful and pleasant.

The meals (dinner, b'fast and lunch) were all good & plentiful - not spectacular, but we weren't going for the food. We wanted a relaxed setting which was perfect for our board retreat. The meeting room was great (aside from a small ant issue which they quickly resolved) and the snacks provided were very good. I would recommend this resort to anyone looking for a reasonably priced resort.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lsnyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roxietravels
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2009

I booked my association's annual meeting at this hotel. I was not able to come for a site visit prior to the meeting. What a huge mistake this was! While the property may be on a golf course and be located in a lovely historic town, the hotel is little more than a Motel 6.
My boss was not happy, the Board not impressed and I was left being very embarrassed. The paskages are misleading.

Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank roxietravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2009

I recently had the privilege to stay at the Harbourtowne Golf Resort during a business trip. I have to say that my group had immediately asked upon our departure that we continue to come to your location for future events.
The entire transaction between your company and ours was handled by your sales manager Valarie Haddaway, who was fantastic. Upon my arrival to your facility I was immediately greeted by Valarie who provided me with all of the information and event locations. Valarie made sure that my group was pampered to a point that they are not use to.
I have to say that Valarie has been a pleasure to work with and I will most assuredly recommend your location and Valarie.
Thank you again for the great stay and your tremendous coordinator Valarie Haddaway.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thm0116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2009

My college friend had a wedding at Harbourtowne last fall. I never knew about this site, but now that I do, I feel like I should add my two cents.

The ceremony was gorgeous. The bride and groom silhouetted by the water, right at sunset. It coulndn't have been prettier. Thank God the weather was great! The reception was even better. We had drinks and hors d'oeuvres on the deck right next to the water, then moved into the restaurant for dancing and dinner. The DJ was very good, and the dinner was amazing!

I ended up getting a room last minute so I wouldn't have to drive home. I was surprised how reasonable the price was, especially for how nice the room was. Everything there seems to have a great water view. The bed was really comfortable. I am rather picky when I travel The bed is usually my biggest complaint, but it wasn't bad at all.

I'm not sure when I will be back in the area, but I'll definitely keep Harbourtowne in mind if I am.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pennsylvania84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Michaels
2.2 mi away
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
#1 of 4 in St. Michaels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
3.8 mi away
St. Michaels Inn
St. Michaels Inn
#4 of 4 in St. Michaels
3.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
18.5 mi away
Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa
Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Chesapeake Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
St. Michaels Harbour Inn Marina & Spa
20.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina
2.3 mi away
Parsonage Inn
Parsonage Inn
#2 of 13 in St. Michaels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbourtowne Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbourtowne Resort

Property: Harbourtowne Resort
Address: 9784 Martingham Drive, St. Michaels, MD 21663-2228
Location: United States > Maryland > Talbot County > St. Michaels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in St. Michaels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbourtowne Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbourtowne - St. Michaels is located on Maryland's beautiful Eastern Shore and a premiere destination for relaxation and rejuvenation. Our property boasts 'Spectacular Views - Everyday' with 111 guest rooms nestled along the banks of East Chesapeake Bay and Miles River - every room is within 100 feet of the water! The Conference Center Our Conference Center caters to groups from 10-160 for meetings, team-building events and retreats. Our 18,000 square feet of meeting space has natural lighting and our on-site professional planners customize meeting experiences according to needs and budget. Waterfront Weddings and Events Harbourtowne - St. Michaels remains a top choice for waterfront weddings, receptions as well as events and gatherings. We have a full-time coordinator on property to assist with every detail for planning and executing an affair to remember. The Town Our property is lucky to share the same zip code with the historically rich, charming town of St. Michaels. The town's cobble-stone walks are lined with boutiques, art galleries and restaurants unique to this area of Maryland and museums provide cultural history about this area. At Harbourtowne - St. Michaels, you'll enjoy the laid back atmosphere most notable to the Eastern Shore lifestyle and we're a short drive from Washington, DC, Baltimore and Philadelphia. Let us be a part of your Eastern Shore Experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbourtowne Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbourtowne Golf Hotel St. Michaels
Harbourtowne Hotel Saint Michaels
Harbourtowne Golf Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing