We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Harbourtowne Resort
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in St. Michaels
GreenLeadersSilver level
Branchville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

This was our 1st time staying at Harbourtown, and 1st time writing a review. After booking a long weekend started looking at different sights and read some very uncomplimentary reviews of the resort and was a little nervous for our stay. What a pleasant surprise when we arrived 2 hours early and the front desk staff happily let us check in. The crabs were excellent! The view of the sunset from our patio at night was so beautiful. The staff of the hotel and restaurant especially Mike the bartender were very knowledgeable of other restaurants in the area and super friendly. The Pro John and his wife are the best. It is so peaceful we will defiantly be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tsgc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    108
    58
    30
    24
See reviews for
53
149
8
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
alexandria va
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Impromptu trip to Harbourtown resort for a Saturday night in late august 2013. Weather looked like it was going to be nice so headed over the bay bridge for a very pleasant stay in this resort. Had a friend who stayed here several years ago who was not impressed but it must have had a lot of renovations since then. The resort was quiet and peaceful with bright clean rooms and a good view from each. I had a great nights sleep and did not notice any hard mattress. Got up in the morning and had nice run around the community and did a few laps in the pool. This is not the Ritz but it is a convenient and not too expensive break from DC/VA region. You will need a car to get into town but that is not a deal breaker for me.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

my husband and I have stayed here twice now.

We haven't eaten here so we have no comment on the food. But the suite rooms are clean spacious and have an incredible view! We usually go in August and it is quiet and private. The gold course is beautiful and the staff is incredibly nice. We could not get late check out which was the only thing that bothered us, however just request it when you book and you should be able to get it.

An incredible place for its price! We wouldn't stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: Osprey Suite is wonderful. They also have fab looking cabins ... the cabins look more out of date bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PennsWoodsWinery1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, NJ
Level Contributor
73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

My wife and I had a nice stay hear despite the iron burn marks on the carpet, the advertised rate was a little pricey but your keyboard can easily find a better rate on some popular sites. Beautiful views from almost every room, polite staff and a decent restaurant for a quick breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geewoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middletown
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Stayed at Harbourtown Golf Resort weekend of August 16, 2013. I have read some of the reviews before writing this and the response to two reviews was that lightening struck. The rooms were sparse, the bathroom looked like an afterthought with the toilet so close in between sink and wall that it was difficult to flush the toilet.

The internet barely worked at all and as I would go to breakfast I would ask those sitting in the lounge area with their laptop if they were getting connected. I was told both times it was not good but better than in the room.

Had a coffee pot (kurik style) but there was no small frig or microwave. It was amazing how you could hear people from the rooms on both sides of our room.

As for front desk, we could not check in until after 3pm as well. No lea-way in that and I watched the women tell a few people that they couldn't give them their room number because they didn't know which room they would be given. I do find that hard to believe.

Water view was nice. Gave an "average" for rating. It was not what I would say is a resort, just a bigger motel style.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kitten3700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Delaware
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Location...location...location. Beautiful views of Hambleton Cove and the Miles River. Sorry no beach, water activity, or decent pier to walk upon. While the establishment is surrounded by a neighborhood and golf course, direction signs do a good job of directing you through the private housing to check in.

Despite the name do not mistake this for what is known today as a vacation resort. Construction, maintenance, and decor are on par with a dated motel 8. Plumbing shows age, for instance the Moen push pull lavatory faucets are very hard to operate. All sliding glass doors look, act, and sound as if the tracks have never been cleaned or lubricated.

Second story rooms are all walk up. The basics, such as vending, ice, and laundry are hard pressed to find if they even exist. Meals, other than a super 8 buffet style breakfast of cold scrambled eggs, must be taken at the club house of the neighborhood golf course up the road. Where the pool may also be found.

No this is not the modern definition of "resort", and the demand for resort room rates will never make it so. It is a roadside motel in a location better served if the establishment were razed and a resort took it's place.

Room Tip: Better rooms are in plenty in St Michaels proper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hostelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

I am mostly a weekend golfer in the DC area and usually play at decent golf courses (Westfields, Laurel Hill, Old Hickory). We had played Harbourtowne about three years ago and came back this past weekend to find the course in terrible shape. I really did not recognize the course. Although the fairways had just been aerated, the entire course was in bad shape...lots of dead grass, tee boxes that have had no TLC, etc. I would not recommend this course to any golfer, especially for the price they are charging. Only good thing about it is the snack bar on the turn where a very nice lady tended to guests. Also, I cannot comment on the rooms as we stayed with friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gretchen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these St. Michaels hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Michaels
2.2 mi away
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
#1 of 4 in St. Michaels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
3.8 mi away
St. Michaels Inn
St. Michaels Inn
#4 of 4 in St. Michaels
3.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
18.5 mi away
Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa
Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Chesapeake Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
St. Michaels Harbour Inn Marina & Spa
20.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina
2.3 mi away
Parsonage Inn
Parsonage Inn
#2 of 13 in St. Michaels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbourtowne Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbourtowne Resort

Property: Harbourtowne Resort
Address: 9784 Martingham Drive, St. Michaels, MD 21663-2228
Location: United States > Maryland > Talbot County > St. Michaels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in St. Michaels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbourtowne Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbourtowne - St. Michaels is located on Maryland's beautiful Eastern Shore and a premiere destination for relaxation and rejuvenation. Our property boasts 'Spectacular Views - Everyday' with 111 guest rooms nestled along the banks of East Chesapeake Bay and Miles River - every room is within 100 feet of the water! The Conference Center Our Conference Center caters to groups from 10-160 for meetings, team-building events and retreats. Our 18,000 square feet of meeting space has natural lighting and our on-site professional planners customize meeting experiences according to needs and budget. Waterfront Weddings and Events Harbourtowne - St. Michaels remains a top choice for waterfront weddings, receptions as well as events and gatherings. We have a full-time coordinator on property to assist with every detail for planning and executing an affair to remember. The Town Our property is lucky to share the same zip code with the historically rich, charming town of St. Michaels. The town's cobble-stone walks are lined with boutiques, art galleries and restaurants unique to this area of Maryland and museums provide cultural history about this area. At Harbourtowne - St. Michaels, you'll enjoy the laid back atmosphere most notable to the Eastern Shore lifestyle and we're a short drive from Washington, DC, Baltimore and Philadelphia. Let us be a part of your Eastern Shore Experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbourtowne Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbourtowne Golf Hotel St. Michaels
Harbourtowne Hotel Saint Michaels
Harbourtowne Golf Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing