We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our 20th Year Staying At Best Western-St. Michaels”
Review of St. Michaels Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St. Michaels Inn
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in St. Michaels
Hillsborough, New Jersey
Level Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Our 20th Year Staying At Best Western-St. Michaels”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

This year we stayed two nights at this Best Western in St. Michaels, MD. It has changed owners recently (within the last year or two) and is not as good as previous visits. As another reviewer mentioned, the motel is pretty dated and could use some bathroom make-overs. As well as a good thorough cleaning. The front pool, which was closed last year (why, we don't know) could use some attention, i.e., weeding the pool surround and pest control of the bushes around the pool. On the positive side, it is a reasonably priced establishment (considering the other choices in the immediate vicinity) that offers free continental breakfast until 10 AM that is quite good.

Room Tip: We like the rooms in the front that are closer to the (bigger) pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DFedor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    123
    77
    62
    46
See reviews for
115
178
13
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

1st room was extremely musty, and couldn't breath, was given a different room but the bathroom was very dirty. Walls were dirty, not stained but dirty, and there was a lot of mildew in the shower. Not clean!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
5 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these St. Michaels hotels

Lusby, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed just one night for our anniversary while we were visiting St. Michael's on our way home from Ocean City. They hotel is very nice the staff is absolutely wonderful. They are very helpful and knowledgeable of the area. They helped us find wonderful restaurants that were loved by locals. The only complaint about our stay was the AC system was VERY loud. It was August so we definitely needed it on and it woke us up off and on all night because it was so loud. Also, the water pressure and water temperature was horrible. There was barely any hot water the morning we were checking out and the pressure was equivalent to someone pouring a watering can over your head. We brought this to the attention of the girl at the front desk she apologized and said that usually happens when a lot of guests are taking showers at the same time. Other than that our stay was nice. The room was clean and well stocked with coffee & towels. The complimentary breakfast was decent. They had a lot of choices. I would definitely come back for another visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Shannon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dresher, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I tripped on the outside lip at the door. I fell in the door and face first on the floor. I was in alot of pain and went to tell the desk people what had happened. I had scrapped my nose and down and split my lip which was gushing blood. When I told the desk she took my name and my number to give the owners who were coming in. The owners never once called to see how I was or if I needed anything. horrible reaction from the owners
Also the rooms were very ding. I wasn't impressed at all and would never visit them again One dollar is to much to pay there for a room

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
4 Thank Frisbee60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston SC, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Very poor quality everything. Dingy dirty rooms. Smelly...mold and mildew odor. They welcome pets, but charge $20.00 per pet. My 4 lb chihuahua stays in a travel playpen when we are out. Her food, water, bed and toys are in there with her. They sure pad their revenue.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Bev W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valerie G, General Manager at St. Michaels Inn, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. I was under the impression that we had met all your needs during your stay. After your initial night that we did not charge you for, and we held your room after you checked out, and we were sold out,(while you checked with other hotels for a room, and you were not able to find a pet friendly hotel), and allowing you to leave your dog in your room while you were out, I truly thought everything was fine with you. You also told me personally that your room was fine and your housekeeper did a good job and you were leaving a tip for her. I am a little confused regarding your reviews, I must have misunderstood our conversations. I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. As far as our pet fee goes, we are the only pet friendly hotel in St Michaels, all other pet friendly hotels are 10 to 25 miles away. and charge $5 to $25 more than us. We only charge a minimal pet fee of $20 per day which covers extra cleaning and flea control.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littlestown
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The hotel was very clean, nicely decorated, reasonably priced, good location and close to downtown St. Michael's. The breakfast was good and the staff was very friendly. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

This hotel is reasonably priced, well-decorated and extremely confortable and close to nearby downtown St. Michael's. We stay there every year, once or twice during the summer months. It is wonderful! We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank johnbY5943LY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valerie G, General Manager at St. Michaels Inn, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
On behalf of our Staff we would like to thank you for your Trip Advisor review. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Michaels
1.7 mi away
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
8.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Easton Inn & Suites
1.3 mi away
St. Michaels Harbour Inn Marina & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Parsonage Inn
Parsonage Inn
#2 of 13 in St. Michaels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bay Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Bay Cottage Bed & Breakfast
#7 of 13 in St. Michaels
5.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
3.8 mi away
Harbourtowne Resort
Harbourtowne Resort
#3 of 4 in St. Michaels
3.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Michaels Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Michaels Inn

Property: St. Michaels Inn
Address: 1228 S Talbot St, St. Michaels, MD 21663-2636 (Formerly BEST WESTERN St. Michaels Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Talbot County > St. Michaels
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in St. Michaels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — St. Michaels Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our quaint, pet friendly hotel in St. Michaels is a welcoming retreat for your weekend getaway, extended vacation - even a business trip. Beautifully appointed hotel rooms feature comfortable furnishings inspired by our coastal location. Modern amenities feature free high-speed wireless Internet and flat-screen TVs with premium channels, including HBO. Enjoy a daily complimentary continental breakfast and use of our sparkling outdoor swimming pool. We're conveniently located, only a mile from downtown St. Michaels dining, shopping and attractions. Our exceptionally friendly staff will wow you with their knowledge of the area, and are happy to direct you to the many activites such as boating, fishing, hunting, kayaking, paddleboarding, shopping or just exploring nature. The St. Michaels Inn and conference center can accommodate your next event by offering five meeting rooms including a banquet room to seat up to 160 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your St. Michaels Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western St. Michaels Motor Hotel St. Michaels
Best Western St Michaels Md
St Michaels Best Western
Best Western Saint Michaels
Saint Michaels Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing