We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Accommodations”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Michaels
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dr. Dodson House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 13 St. Michaels B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Perfect Accommodations”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

My husband and I celebrated his return from a deployment with a two night stay at the Dr. Dodson House this past weekend. It was just perfect! We arrived later than expected but Ben was happy to accommodate us and make us feel welcome. He also gave us wonderful dining recommendations. The Harbor View room was wonderful--very cozy and a nice view of the water. Everything was clean and the breakfasts were delicious! Fresh fruit, orange juice, coffee and the tomato cheese tart and banana pecan waffles were such a treat! Jaime remembered talking to me on the phone when I described the nature of our getaway and specifically wanted to make sure we had a great reunion stay. We didn't move the car all weekend, which was awesome. Thanks for such a perfect weekend!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    11
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
179
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

My husband and I just spent two nights at the Dr. Dodson House and thought it was great. Ben & Jaime, the innkeepers, are both extremely warm and friendly and made us feel at home. The Inn was very clean (which is extremely important) and comfortable, and is just a really charming spot. Breakfast was cooked to order, and the food was incredibly good. We were very pleased with our choice and would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DinoH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birdsboro, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed October 9, 2012

My wife and I spent two great nites and morning breakfasts at this homey bed and breakfast near the Chesapeake Bay. The accommodations were historic and comfortable and the breakfasts were absolutely fantastic thanks to innkeepers Jaime and Ben. Our two days were full of things to do and we didn't have to move the car. Good times.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woodglen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

My wife and i celebrated our 20th here at Dodson House and it was fantastic. From the hospitality of Jamie and Ben. To the scrumptious breakfasts. The rooms were beautiful as well as homey. We just couldn't ask for better hosts. We made lifetime memories as well as friends. Their recommendations for restaurants as well hit the jackpot. We will definitely return very soon.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harleychef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

What a wonderful visit Ben and Jaime provided. Ben's cooking is fabulous--as good as the best breakfast place you could want for. Jaime tops it off with the warmest smile and friendly greeting to start your day right.

There are only three rooms here, so you really get special attention. We loved the 2nd floor porch with great lounge chairs to sip our wine and nibble on our cheese (store is only a block away) and watch the sun set. Bed was comfortable and room well appointed. The Harrison room has a small bath, so if you don't like tight spaces, you should probably ask for one of the other rooms. It worked quite well for us. This area of the house was built in 1799, so that added to the charm. We enjoyed our two night stay and would have enjoyed a third night if our travel plans had allowed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjmartintx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2012

My husband & I just celebrated our 20th wedding anniversary at Dr. Dodson's B & B. We both have traveled to many places in the states & in Europe. The one thing I have found is that it is not always the actual place you stay at that makes it great, but the people who are running it & the other guests that are there. Ben & Jaime are the best!!! They make you feel like you are old friends and are delightful to talk with. The breakfast was delicious & I would not have changed a thing. They also are right on with their recommendations for places to dine & drink. Will definitely go back in the near future!

Room Tip: Harbor View room was perfect. Loved the views. Definitely spend time on the second floor porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed at Dr. Dodson's for one night this past weekend. It was my husbands first expereince at a B&B and it was a great one and definitely my best one! We were greated by Ben and he gave us a tour of the place which was really pretty and clean and then he provided us with our choices for breakfast the next day (all of which were delicious). He and Jaime both have such great personalities and made us feel very comfortable throughout our stay. They really made sure you had everything you needed. We stayed in the room on the very top floor of the house. The bed was comfortable and the room was decorated very nicely. They also have a great second floor balcony where you can enjoy a nice glass of wine and people watch before heading out for the evening. Location is great and you can walk everywhere. We would definitely stay here again during our next visit to St. Michaels.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ;-)
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Michaels
0.3 mi away
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
1.5 mi away
St. Michaels Inn
St. Michaels Inn
#3 of 4 in St. Michaels
459 reviews
7.6 mi away
Oxford Inn
Oxford Inn
#1 of 1 in Oxford
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Parsonage Inn
Parsonage Inn
#2 of 13 in St. Michaels
342 reviews
0.1 mi away
Five Gables Inn & Spa
Five Gables Inn & Spa
#8 of 13 in St. Michaels
210 reviews
0.8 mi away
George Brooks House B&B
George Brooks House B&B
#4 of 13 in St. Michaels
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dr. Dodson House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dr. Dodson House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Dr. Dodson House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 200 Cherry Street, PO Box 956, St. Michaels, MD 21663-0956
Location: United States > Maryland > Talbot County > St. Michaels
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in St. Michaels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dr. Dodson House offers five-star hospitality and the perfect location for exploring St. Michaels. We are just steps from the harbor and one block away from the great shops and restaurants on Talbot Street. History buffs will appreciate the c.1799 brick home's original features, including doors, woodwork, fireplaces, and wavy glass. Beautifully appointed guest rooms, lovely gardens, the second-story porch and delicious breakfasts have delighted guests since 1994. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dr. Dodson House Bed And Breakfast
Dr. Dodson House Hotel St. Michaels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing