We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Michaels
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dr. Dodson House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 13 St. Michaels B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2012

When my boyfriend and I stayed at Dr. Dodson House, we immediately fell in love with this charmingly beautiful inn! We were greeted by the *awesome* Jaime and Ben upon arrival and we decided right then and there that this would be the ONLY place we would ever stay again when traveling to St. Michaels! The rooms were clean, comfortable and warm. We felt at home right away. The breakfast was to die for...I'm still hoping that Ben will share his eggs benedict recipe! We have stayed at many b+bs all over the country and our experience at Dr. Dodson house was truly top notch. We will definitely be back again soon and will recommend to anyone visiting the St. Michaels area!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ndimauro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (261)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 261 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2012

Having visited Dr. Dodson house for over a decade, and always been overwhelmed but the superior hospitality, graciousness and vivacity - not to mention superlative breakfasts- of Janet, I was a bit apprehensive about the fact that she had turned over the inn keeping duties to Jaime and Ben. Janet, of course, assured me that she would not turn over "her baby" to anyone who would not maintain the standards she had set. WOW, was she right! I introduced my boyfriend to the new regime this weekend and it was a wonderful experience. Granted, the "youngsters" have a different energy, but it's equally engaging, relaxing and very endearing. I will certainly be back and my companion is getting over his dislike of the B&B communal breakfast thanks to the folks at Dr. Dodson AND the caliber of guests they attract. Well done!

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

My wife and I escaped to St. Michaels for the first time last weekend. We chose the Dr. Dodson House based primarily on Trip Advisor reviews and were not disappointed. The house itself is great - three nice sized rooms, a comfortable sitting room, nice breakfast room and two great porches. The Dodson room was great - clean, spacious and nicely decorated. The location = terrific. The inn is just a short walk to the shops, restaurants and Patriot cruise but located off the main street and thus quiet. The best part of all though were Ben & Jaime. They were great hosts and made us feel really welcome from the very moment we walked in the door. I am currently in a cast and a little awkward with stairs and Ben was quick to grab our bags and get them up to our room. The breakfast was delicious and we really enjoyed the conversation with the other guests. Thanks, Ben & Jaime, for a great stay. We are already looking forward to the next trip.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

My husband and I were able to get away recently and had the good fortune to spend a weekend at Dr. Dodson House. The B&B was lovely and the breakfasts absolutely delicious (I especially loved the tomato tart). We appreciated the time the innkeepers, Jaime and Ben, were able to devote to our questions to help make our weekend special. I've already recommended Dr. Dodson to several friends and would love to find a weekend to return this fall.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank CMP-WLBRDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Our stay at Dr. Dodson House Bed & Breakfast was nothing short of phenomenal. Jaime and Ben are amazing hosts. We felt like distinguished guests as soon as stepped into the foyer. The B&B has all of luxuries of a fine hotel along with the antiquity and conversation that you would expect at a historic inn. Our rooms included a modern bathroom and (important) amenities such as coffee maker, flatscreen TV, and iPod dock. Breakfast and service was amazing - with a planned and thoughtful menu. The historic home is located perfectly near the marina with quick access to the Chesapeake Bay Maritime Museum, shops, and restaurants. Jaime and Ben are rock stars in St. Michael - they can always recommend the best options if you need advice for fun or dining. We had a 5-Star experience. Make sure to joy a glass of wine on the majestic porches during your stay!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tbconnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Located right in the heart of everything! Can walk to shops, restaurants, museum, etc. Superb hospitality by the innkeepers. They were super friendly and welcoming. Gave great recommendations on restaurants, things to do, etc. Breakfast was AMAZING!!! Can't wait to stay there again!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaimedwilson2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

I surprised my husband with a weekend trip to St. Michaels in July 2012 and stayed at the Dr. Dodson House. Jaime and Ben's hospitality began well before our actual visit when they made recommendations for everything from a special dinner to how to get a great, local birthday cake shipped to the house.

The inn is centrally located to downtown St. Michaels and is very walk-able to every destination we wanted to reach. The historical home has all the charm of its years, with updates to accommodate every amenity we could have wanted. The rooms were cozy and clean and breakfast was the best we've ever had at a bed and breakfast. Jaime and Ben have brought fun and youth to a sometimes-stuffy industry and made every effort to make our stay perfect.

I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marni L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Michaels hotels
0.3 mi away
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
1.5 mi away
St. Michaels Inn
St. Michaels Inn
#3 of 4 in St. Michaels
500 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Old Brick Inn
The Old Brick Inn
#1 of 13 in St. Michaels
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Parsonage Inn
Parsonage Inn
#2 of 13 in St. Michaels
348 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Michaels Harbour Inn Marina & Spa
4.9 mi away
Wades Point Inn on the Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dr. Dodson House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dr. Dodson House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 200 Cherry Street, PO Box 956, St. Michaels, MD 21663-0956
Location: United States > Maryland > Talbot County > St. Michaels
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in St. Michaels
Price Range: $250 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dr. Dodson House offers five-star hospitality and the perfect location for exploring St. Michaels. We are just steps from the harbor and one block away from the great shops and restaurants on Talbot Street. History buffs will appreciate the c.1799 brick home's original features, including doors, woodwork, fireplaces, and wavy glass. Beautifully appointed guest rooms, lovely gardens, the second-story porch and delicious breakfasts have delighted guests since 1994. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dr. Dodson House Bed And Breakfast
Dr. Dodson House Hotel St. Michaels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing