We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fish and Chips on the Fourth of July”

The Blackthorn Irish Pub
Ranked #12 of 49 Restaurants in St. Michaels
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Silver Spring
Level Contributor
111 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fish and Chips on the Fourth of July”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

My wife and I had a hankering for fish and chips while cruising St Michaels on the Fourth of July, but we didn't want to spend a lot of money so almost every Irish pub I know has fish and chips and Blackthorns didn't disappoint. The battered Cod was not too crispy but the cod was very fresh, served with steak fries and a rather large portion of Cole slaw with golden raisins, side of Tartar sauce and ketchup. Cole slaw needed a little more zing and I told the chef to use some celery seed in it next time. The waitress was very helpful and refilled our cold beverages quite often. The A/C didn't seem to be working this day but all the overhead fans were on so it wasn't too uncomfortable inside. Lots of TV's to watch games and news and the Weather Channel!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wayne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    84
    43
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swarthmore, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
123 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good pub food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

A pretty friendly staff and they served some of the traditional pub foo with a twist. Very clean, though a bit noisy.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank TMJC11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“New Restaurant worth a try”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Not a lot of restaurants open on Tuesdays so we took a chance on the Blackthorn. The service was a bit slow but the food (corned beef sandwiches, crab soup) were served piping hot. The sandwiches were loaded with meat which made for a delicious meal. I would recommend giving this restaurant a try as we were quite satisfied with our meal.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kiff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Stopped in for lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

My wife and I ordered the Fish and Chips, and Crab cake sandwich. I expected more out of the Fish, since we are on the bay and also the fact that its an irish pub, fish and chips should be a staple. I wasn't too impressed. Just a word of advice, don't serve this on such a small plate. the fish was stacked on the fries so it was hard to break the fish up and the fries got soggy The restaurant seemed new so maybe they are going to come into their own. The bar area was really nice for drinks before dinner. It was a large bar with flat screen tvs. We enjoyed sitting at the bar. But all in all it was an average stop for lunch in this beautiful town

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank SyracuseCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom Pa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Eight of us walked in at 9:40 P.M. and the kitchen closes at 10:00. No problem they sat us and served us. Food was very good. There was entertainment at the bar but we didn't stay. Very clean. Will go back

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank jayandpatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blackthorn Irish Pub also viewed

St. Michaels, Talbot County
 
St. Michaels, Talbot County
St. Michaels, Talbot County
 

Been to The Blackthorn Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing