We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, but did not meet expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Five Gables Inn & Spa
Ranked #9 of 13 St. Michaels B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Ok, but did not meet expectations”
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed in one of the king rooms for a Saturday night. It was off season so the town and inn were relatively quiet but there were three other couples staying at the inn that weekend. The room was a good sized space but the bed was uncomfortable. Liked the jacuzzi tub in the bathroom, but it could use some updates. Grout was missing in the shower tile and the tile floor gets very slippery when wet. Because the building is old, we also heard creaks and noises all throughout the night which kept us awake. There was a couple staying in the room above us and we could hear every move they made. My wife could also hear someone snoring in the room next to us. It was nice how the inn has a Keurig machine in the common area that guests can help themselves to along with some fresh cookies. We did not try the spa facilities so cannot speak to those. Overall, the inn is a fine place to stay, but if you need quiet to sleep, it will be a struggle. It is probably much louder during the high season.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank fisherow373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    74
    27
    10
    6
See reviews for
13
141
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dover, Delaware
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed this february in the deluxe suite, the room was spacious but not very clean, carpet was stained and very dusty. the bathroom however was clean. We used the pullout bed which had sheets that were torn and had small blood stains on them. We were disappointed to learn that breakfast was not a home cooked one but just a carb fest and some token fruit.
the spa was nice and the staff were friendly. the pool area was very neglected dead plants and dead leaves were all over. We used a travel agency for this stay and after checking out we were charged by the hotel for our stay even though they were paid by the agency. To top it off the hotel sent reimbursement to the travel agency not us and almost 10 days later we still are waiting for our money! overall not worth the high price at all!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dena118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiveGables, Manager at Five Gables Inn & Spa, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of Five Gables Inn & Spa. Thank you for making us aware of our shortcomings. We will make every effort to correct these issues as quickly as possible. Having not been made aware of the condition of the sheets on the sofa bed while you were here, I can only apologize and guarantee that it will not happen again.
If you are having trouble with billing issues, please call me right away to rectify the situation. We haven’t had any issues with special payment arrangements that I am aware of. I would be happy to correct this immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bear, Delaware
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We have stayed here many times & this is the first time we were disappointed. The room we stayed in is starting to show wear. The fan did not work. We ran out of hot water every time we showered. We spoke with staff - but nothing was done about either problem. Lastly we used spa services - they were not up to standards either. All in all the value wasn't there for us!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiveGables, Manager at Five Gables Inn & Spa, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Five Gables Inn & Spa. We are dismayed that you feel Five Gables was not up to par during your last visit as we did address those issues while you were here. Our plumber did check the hot water heater, but there was not a problem with it. With a multi-head rain shower and a double whirlpool bath in the room, the hot water supply can be depleted after a few uses as it takes at least 20-30 minutes to fill the bathtub. The ceiling fan was not able to be fixed during your stay as parts were not available. The therapists that performed your spa services are well seasoned and have been with us for quite some time. It would have been helpful to know at the time that you were dissatisfied with your services so that we could have talked to the therapists right away. We generally do not have complaints regarding our services and will address your complaint directly with our therapists.
We do hope to welcome you back to Five Gables Inn & Spa in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Keep in mind we stayed here in mid-January clearly the off season. Other reviews cover the basics; our expectations were high, it is a nice place with nice amenities. The staff were attentive. There were no off season discounts.... At the price point for the room--at a B&B--a welcome glass of wine would have set a nice mood. After a good evening of sauna and in room shared bath, hot food for breakfast would have made the place great? Since this was an anniverary spurge the lack of hot food for the breakfast tweaked nerves in need of rest. A small thing, but strange how it lingers.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkridge, Maryland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

A recent trip to St. Michaels, MD yielded a very nice surprise in the Five Gables B&B. We stayed for one night and were treated to such amenities as a steam room, sauna, pool, DVD player and a friendly atmosphere. We stayed in room #1 which had a king bed, fireplace, and a bath with jetted tub and shower. There was a very nice continential breakfast the next morning across the street in a cute cafe owned by the inn. My only reason for not giving a 4 star was the comfort of the bed...it was a bit hard for my preference. St. Michael's is a charming town and wonderful at the holiday.

Room Tip: Room #1 has nice amenities
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flolo86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Clean, spacious enough, great hot tub, quiet, good location on the central street. Breakfast is plentiful but not home cooked, pretty standard choice of ingredients that the guests assemble. I would go again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NNL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis
2 reviews
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We just booked a work conference at Five Gables and we had a spectacular experience. Heather was an excellent host and was able to accommodate all ten people in suites that were the size of apartments! The rooms have antique decor that add to their charm and character. We were able to walk to all the town hot spots, Carpenter Street Salon and Ava's Pizzeria, while enjoying the beauty of St. Mikes. The conference room was one the best we have ever used. Is has all the latest technology you need, comfortable chairs and excellent decor. There was even a fireplace in the conference room! Heather provides all the beverages and drinks that we needed for our two days. Overall, this was a very memorable experience for our group. Thank you Heather. We will be back for our next meeting.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RD S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiveGables, Manager at Five Gables Inn & Spa, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
We loved having your group stay with us and are so please that you had such a wonderful experience. We look forward to seeing you all again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Michaels hotels
0.2 mi away
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
1.6 mi away
St. Michaels Inn
St. Michaels Inn
#4 of 4 in St. Michaels
432 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. Michaels Harbour Inn Marina & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Parsonage Inn
Parsonage Inn
#2 of 13 in St. Michaels
328 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bay Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Bay Cottage Bed & Breakfast
#7 of 13 in St. Michaels
93 reviews
0.7 mi away
George Brooks House B&B
George Brooks House B&B
#5 of 13 in St. Michaels
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Five Gables Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Five Gables Inn & Spa

Property: Five Gables Inn & Spa
Address: 209 N Talbot St, St. Michaels, MD 21663-2103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Talbot County > St. Michaels
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in St. Michaels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Five Gables Inn & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the picturesque Chesapeake Bay village of St Michaels, Five Gables Inn & Spa blends historic charm and warmth with a luxury spa experience. Accommodations include spa tubs and fireplaces and are complemented by the inn's indoor pool, sauna and steam room, generous amenities, a gracious a truly helpful staff and a superb location. Our meeting room is a great place to hold executive retreats and company meetings. The on-site spa is open daily and offers a full range of relaxing treatments featuring Aveda products and skillful professionals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Five Gables Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
5 Gables Inn & Spa
Five Gables Inn And Spa
Five Gables Hotel St. Michaels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing