We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely B&B” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Five Gables Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Five Gables Inn & Spa
Ranked #7 of 13 St. Michaels B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
manhattan beach, ca
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

My husband and I have been staying at the Five Gables for our mini vacation for the last two years. It is always great and enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiveGables, Manager at Five Gables Inn & Spa, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
It's always wonderful to welcome back our frequent guests! Thank you for your loyalty!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    72
    26
    10
    6
See reviews for
12
138
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

The property is nicely designed and maintained. Our room was well-furnished but small for the price (about $300/night). Although we didn't use it there is an indoor pool and spa, a significant attraction for a winter visit to the Eastern Shore. The Inn is convenient to shops and restaurants in St. Michaels and to the Chesapeake Bay Maritime Museum, the town's most significant attraction. What you don't get is a B&B type full, hot breakfast. Rather, the Inn only offers a continental breakfast, along the lines of what you would expect at a Holiday Inn Express or similar. If you want a true B&B (without the spa) there are better and somewhat lower priced alternatives in St. Michaels, such as the Hambleton Inn.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DAGTucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiveGables, Manager at Five Gables Inn & Spa, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to visit TripAdvisor and write a review of Five Gables Inn & Spa. We are happy that you enjoyed your overall stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, Delaware
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

Arrived June 5th for an anniversary get away. Lovely facility, very clean and comfortable. Our room was in the Main House (which also contains the pool & spa). It was very nice being within walking distance of everything in St. Michaels. Nice time of year to go as later in the summer the town is overrun with tourists!! Very quiet, nice room with fireplace and double whirlpool bath inside the room. Missed the breakfast as we overslept but in all a very nice place. We will be coming back in the future.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank als1328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Five Gables Inn & Spa, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review about us. We are happy to see that you enjoyed yourselves and we look forward to welcoming you back to Five Gables Inn & Spa in the near future. Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

My wife and I visited from Fairfax, VA for a nearby getaway. The suite, 56, was in a building across the street yet still nice, Unfortunately the view overlooked the back parking lot. What really surprised me was the $100 I had to pay for 'a guest' in addition to the $295 weekend rate. I've never considered my spouse a 'guest' for a weekend B&B getaway.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiveGables, Manager at Five Gables Inn & Spa, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Five Gables Inn & Spa. We believe you are mistaken at the "Guest" charge. The rate for Suite 56 and all suites for a Saturday night is $395, which is what you paid for you and your wife. We only charge an extra fee if there are more than 2 people in a room. I have taken the liberty of checking your statement and there was not an extra charge added; only the room charge and taxes. I sincerely hope that this clears up an misunderstanding you may have had. Please feel free to contact me directly if you have further questions. We do hope to welcome you back to Five Gables Inn & Spa in the future.

Heather Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

We recently attended a wedding in St. Michael's, MD and stayed at the Five Gables Inn. This is a very lovely facility, extremely clean and comfortable. Our dogs stayed home but since this inn is pet friendly we got the chance to meet some cute four-legged guests. The location was perfect as everything was within walking distance. Lots of cute shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiveGables, Manager at Five Gables Inn & Spa, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. We are happy that you had a great time with visiting Five Gables Inn & Spa and St. Michaels. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIlmington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

My husband and I just stayed and the Five Gables Inn and LOVED it! So quiet and relaxing! Our room was beautiful and quaint and we loved the fireplace and whirlpool tub. The staff was very friendly and welcoming. The continental breakfast was great and the breakfast room was beautiful! We liked being within walking distance of everything in St. Michaels. We will definitely be staying there again!

Room Tip: We liked our second floor deluxe king room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiveGables, Manager at Five Gables Inn & Spa, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Thank you for your very nice review. We are happy that you had such a wonderful time. Please come and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

We stayed here for a one night getaway for a $99 per night rate in one of their King rooms. First off, it is more of an Inn with a continental breakfast (as it is called) than a B&B, but we knew that before we booked and were happy with the stay. We had a first floor king room with a gas fireplace, small porch, and a single whirlpool tub in the bath. We used the fireplace and it worked fine. We spent a good amount of time sitting on the porch, it does have the parking lot nearby, but it was never an annoyance. Our porch did feature comfy adirondack style chairs, but the other rooms next to ours all had less comfortable looking chairs. The walls were not soundproof but since it seemed to be mostly couples staying there, we didn't hear much from the neighbors. The room was small but clean, tv was tiny but had a dvd player so we watched a movie in the morning. Free wireless internet was available without a password, so easy to connect to. We tried the indoor pool, the pool room was heated and the water was comfortable, but was very small and more of a novelty. There is also a sauna and steam room available. Breakfast was pretty simple; muffins, breads, cereal, oatmeal, fruit, juice, and yogurt. The Inn consists of 3 buildings, the main one we stayed in on the river side of Talbot St (MD-8), and two on the other side of the street which had the breakfast room. Outside of the pool room and next to our room was the side of the building, there were some stacks of bricks and other materials that could be cleaned up to make it look a little nicer.

All in all, a fine place to stay for a night in St. Michaels, especially for $99 a night. Prices do go up substantially for the tourist season, not sure I would pay for a stay here then. The Inn is at the one end of town, but you can walk to the other end in 10 mins, so the location is great.

Room Tip: We stayed in King Room 4 in the main building, it was on the back side of the main building on the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bmorechris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiveGables, Manager at Five Gables Inn & Spa, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Five Gables Inn & Spa. We appreciate your comments and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Michaels hotels
0.2 mi away
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
#1 of 4 in St. Michaels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
1.6 mi away
St. Michaels Inn
St. Michaels Inn
#4 of 4 in St. Michaels
3.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. Michaels Harbour Inn Marina & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Parsonage Inn
Parsonage Inn
#2 of 13 in St. Michaels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.7 mi away
George Brooks House B&B
George Brooks House B&B
#5 of 13 in St. Michaels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bay Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Bay Cottage Bed & Breakfast
#9 of 13 in St. Michaels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Five Gables Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Five Gables Inn & Spa

Property: Five Gables Inn & Spa
Address: 209 N Talbot St, St. Michaels, MD 21663-2103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Talbot County > St. Michaels
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in St. Michaels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Five Gables Inn & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the picturesque Chesapeake Bay village of St Michaels, Five Gables Inn & Spa blends historic charm and warmth with a luxury spa experience. Accommodations include spa tubs and fireplaces and are complemented by the inn's indoor pool, sauna and steam room, generous amenities, a gracious and truly helpful staff and a superb location. The on-site spa is open daily and offers a full range of relaxing treatments featuring Aveda products and skillful professionals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Five Gables Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
5 Gables Inn & Spa
Five Gables Inn And Spa
Five Gables Hotel St. Michaels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing