We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A sweet inn and spa!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Five Gables Inn & Spa
Ranked #8 of 13 St. Michaels B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2007

Having read all the wonderful reviews on Tripadvisor we decided to give the Inn a try for a one-night getaway. It was delightful! Our only wish was that we had time to stay longer.
The room had a wonderful decor and huge whirlpool tub. The luxurious bathroom was even stocked with a wide range of Aveda products! LIttle touches such as lemonade, coffee and cookies in the hallway made us feel pampered. Plus the indoor pool, steam room and sauna in the main building created a quite place to unwind after sightseeing. Not a problem that it was across the street. We just donned the huge cozy robes (provided) over our swim suits and went across the street. The Inn also has free bicycles to borrow. We used these to go to the Maritime Museum that is a short bike ride away. All in all a wonderful visit. We will return!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank SoLong22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 214 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2007

Stayed with mom in Room 2. On first level the room was very cute and did have a balcony. The bathroom was a nice size. Would have preferred to be on upper lever, but other then that it was great. We could hear the poeple above us walking back and forth alot! Room was clean, sheets, clean, Staff friendly. They offered up Lemonade and Iced Tea and cookies upon arrival. They booked us in 2 spa treatments. My mom loved her 1hour long massagewith Erin; my 30-hour facial was just OK.
I would highly recommend this hotel, the last minutes rates were great and it is so close to down town, we just walked everyone. Altough the town closes at about 5pm during the week so we were a little disappointed in that, but I would definatley go back to St. Michales to relaz.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank delaware97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2007

My husband and I stayed here for the second year in a row. It has become a short weekend, winter relaxing getaway. We have been pleased with everything about the place both times. I have to admit, though, staying in the main house was a bit nicer than staying across the street. We enjoyed the pool and sauna in the evening and nightime when it was completely empty. It was easier to reach it when it's right downstairs from your room as opposed to across the street! It is a very convenient location to walk to nice restaurants, bars, and shops.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BaltoThirtiesCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2007

The location is outstanding, the staff is outstanding and the room was outstanding. Does it sound like we enjoyed our stay? You bet. The breakfast room was very nice, and featured the largest coffee mugs I have ever seen. We stayed for our 5th wedding anniversary and it was well worth it. Rooms are very well kept and clean as a whistle. Staff in particular Heather could not do enough for us. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patlpoolvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2007

Highly recommend this inn! My husband and I spent a romantic weekend at Five Gables and loved the facilities, staff and vacation. After booking a deluxe king -- (check out last minute specials on their web site) - we were pleasantly surprised they upgraded us to a suite upon arrival. We stayed in 207 - in the recently renovated (green building). It was huge, decorated well, cheerful and very clean and bright with lots of windows.

The inn is located in the heart of St. Michaels - you can walk to everything. The staff were very friendly at check-in and helped us with restaurant recommendations and reservations (don't miss the Town Doc restaurant for dinner, but make a reservation to sit outside!). You also have free use of bikes at Five Gables, which we used for a nice ride to and through Harbortown and a beautiful golf course area.

We had breakfast at Key Lime Cafe next to Five Gables (great blueberry pancakes) and enjoyed all the shops. St. Michaels is a great place for a romantic overnight trip. We wanted to rent a boat but didn't have time. Very relaxing place.

If you reserve a room at Five Gables, I would say ask for the green building because that has all been recently renovated. I can't speak to the other buildings, did not see the rooms and think those are older.

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ELM2426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2007

Don't be confused it looks like a B & B, but it is an Inn, so don't expect that personal touch. The biggest issue for us; the staff was not friendly or helpful and it was obvious they preferred you didn't talk with them at all.
The room was adequate, but had an unpleasant musty odor. The in room whirlpool bath was the Inns best amenity; it was lovely.
They did provide a continential breakfast almost to the quality to a discount hotel chain. They offered spa services, however the staff refused to show us the spa room. (We thought this odd since we were already paying customers of the Inn and were interested in the services). The pool is very small and appeared unkept to the point we didn't want to use it.
This Inn is not on the water but it is priced almost as much as inns along the waterfront. So for value, accomodations and service I think there are many other place in St. Michaels that will provide a better overall experience.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank JenniferLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2006

My husband and I wanted to get away for a few nights and some neighbors recommended St Michaels. Quite honestly I did not know much about the town except that they were dog friendly and that some inns and b&b's allowed pets. I came across Five Gables and learned that they allowed pets for a small fee so I booked the room as we only stay at b&b's and inns. Five Gables is very pet friendly and that they provide a dog bed, a treat, and a big biscuit for your canine family member plus the room had a fireplace, jacuzzi tub, and down comforter. All rooms have hard wood floors and a french country cottage decor. Actually alot of the town has this decor. The room we stayed in was very comfortable and relaxing. All products in the inn are aveda so you really feel pampered. The inn has a spa. I did take advantage and got a massage however was not impressed for the $100 charge. The inn does have a pool, steam room, and sauna. We took advantage of all services. The inn provides free bottled water by the steam and sauna room. The only negative compliant I have is the breakfast. It is a continental breakfast with breads, muffins, cereal, fruit and warm yogurt. The coffeee and hot water was not hot. The breakfast is not what you would get in a b&b. We ate dinner at Characters Pub (bar like atmosphere) excellent seafood, Bistro at St Michaels (liked very much) and Town Dock (very good food and a great view of the bay). We had a takeout lunch from Big Al's and they have one of the best crabcake sandwiches I have ever had and very inexpensive. I highly recommend the Five Gables as well as the town regardless if you have a pet.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sharijano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Michaels hotels
0.2 mi away
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
1.6 mi away
St. Michaels Inn
St. Michaels Inn
#3 of 4 in St. Michaels
510 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. Michaels Harbour Inn Marina & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Old Brick Inn
The Old Brick Inn
#1 of 13 in St. Michaels
556 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parsonage Inn
Parsonage Inn
#2 of 13 in St. Michaels
349 reviews
0.7 mi away
George Brooks House B&B
George Brooks House B&B
#4 of 13 in St. Michaels
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Five Gables Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Five Gables Inn & Spa

Address: 209 N Talbot St, St. Michaels, MD 21663-2103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Talbot County > St. Michaels
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in St. Michaels
Price Range: $151 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Five Gables Inn & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the picturesque Chesapeake Bay village of St Michaels, Five Gables Inn & Spa blends historic charm and warmth with a luxury spa experience. Accommodations include spa tubs and fireplaces and are complemented by the inn's indoor pool, sauna and steam room, generous amenities, a gracious a truly helpful staff and a superb location. Our meeting room is a great place to hold executive retreats and company meetings. The on-site spa is open daily and offers a full range of relaxing treatments featuring Aveda products and skillful professionals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Five Gables Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
5 Gables Inn & Spa
Five Gables Hotel St. Michaels
Five Gables Inn And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing