We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful Historic House. Centrally Located.”
other travelers have booked this property
Front and north side of W Melson house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front and north side of W Melson house
Park and Harbor one-half block away from house Front of W Melson House
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Front and north side of W Melson house
Park and Harbor one-half block away from house
Front of W Melson House
South side of W Melson house with patio with table and chairs in middle
Side Patio adjacent kitchen
Front of Melson House on Locust St.
South side of Melson House
Living Room with Fireplace
Dining Room
Dining Room
Kitchen
Family Room with queen sleep sofa
Family Room
Family Room
Family Room
Master Bedroom
Second Bedroom
South Side of House with parking in rear
Rear of house
Park and Harbor One Half  Block Away
House plaque
House plaque
St Michaels harbor view from park half block from house
Park half block from house
Front of House
Front of W Melson house
W Melson house with T Blades house to the right
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
St. Michaels, Talbot County, Maryland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Seymour18...
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful Historic House. Centrally Located.”
Reviewed March 26, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

This location was perfect for us. We walked to restaurants and shops as well as a park. Because of knee issues, I can't walk for long distances. However, the walk here was quite comfortable. This house was interesting from a historic perspective and nicely done. It has all the quirks of a house built about 1840. A fun stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twsaltrun
Loveland, Ohio
2 reviews
“What more could one ask for!!!”
Reviewed November 16, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

A cozy, comfortable, attractive home in a great location. It is possible to walk all over the lovely town!

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret...
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“3rd Year in a row.. Saint Michaels..Gets better and Better”
Reviewed September 12, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

What a lovely time we had..
Just my dad..now 88, myself 48 and my son 8, and our dog.
A lovely home.VERY CLEAN. Just the right size for us!
Great washer and dryer, dishwasher, all appliances in kitchen were great.
Location is spot on. Park your car, and never touch it again. Enjoy your stroll thru town.
Saint Michaels is a gem!
Tom and Amanda are so kind and easy to work with, great ambassadors for Saint Michaels.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I loved the size of the house, and the layout of the home.
Liked least: ..Cannot wait for the second full bathroom to be completed.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCT814
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Step back in time.”
Reviewed August 6, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This is a great place to stay if you like looking back in time and having some modern amenties. One side is from1840 (referbished well) the other side newer but built with the older style in mind. The two sides are connected with a rather nicely done kitchen with some period cabinets and shelves. The bedrooms are nice with the full bath in the newer side and a half-bath downstairs. Talking with the owner (Tom, real nice guy, very helpful) he is planning on a bathroom in the bedroom in the original half. The space is there it should work out great. Your time here will be well spent. We brought our pekingese with us and did very well. The place is clean and well taken care of. It was fun to eat in the original half, played a game of chess with my daughter. Though they have wifi, it was nice to give it a break. There are several restaurants in the area but we simply ate at home. The kitchen is ready to go. Go to the grocery store and make your own crab cakes. If your visit takes you to St. Michaels you have to stay here or at any one of Tom's places. He has the Bruff house, the Blades house ( similar size) and the Harrison house for the larger family. Either way you are going to enjoy where you stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The decoration of the place is great. The detail to period decor is nice.
Liked least: Have not thought of it yet.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teach_gra...
Cape May, NJ
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“First Time in St. Michaels”
Reviewed April 1, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Spending our first time in St. Michaels and needed a rental that would allow our two chihuahuas. We rented this cottage for three nights--perfect location for walking everywhere. The cottage was very clean and the owners thought of everything. From hand soap in both bathrooms to coffee filters and plastic wrap--everything was there. The cottage is decorated with lovely antiques but could really use more comfy furniture. There is a small patio off the kitchen with a folding patio set--again not very comfy. We did meet the owner who gave some great suggestions for places to eat and visit. The cottage is definitely a great value and perfect for those who wish to leave their car in park. Word of caution: if you are on the tall side, the slope ceilings in the bedroom and bath are tough. I guess the people of the 1800's were smaller!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, location, location!
Liked least: The sofa and chair
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andra P
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Washington Melson Cottage”
Reviewed March 12, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

After Christman and before the warmth of Spring, my husband and I have found a way to make the dull drums truly enjoyable. We have discovered the charming village of St. Michaels. And if that wasn't a find in itself, we found an historically preserved cottage with a great location, the Washington Melson Cottage. We have been coming here for four years with our two dogs to enjoy the relaxed atmosphere of the town, and the convenient location the cottage offers to the shops, restaurants, and the park that overlooks the water behind the backyard. We take long walks, go out to eat, do some shopping, visit museums, and retire to the cozy comfort of the cottage.

This charming cottage is historically preserved with antiques, handmade quilts, beautiful sconces and brassware, yet includes the creature comforts of modern life. Our favorite time is relaxing in front of a blazing fire in the family room. Needless to say, we plan to return for many years to come.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The amenities suited our needs very well. Loved the working wood fireplace.
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlin P
Nanty Glo
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Vacation Spot”
Reviewed January 26, 2016 for a stay in October 2015

For the past three years we have visited St. Michaels several times a year. On our first visit we discovered three rental properties in the heart of town. On our return we first rented the Thomas Blades house next door to W. Melson. This past October, the Blades house was not available, but knowing the owner and the condition of Blades, we were confident, Melson house would also be a terrific property. We were not disappointed. W. Melson house is a restored and updated sailing captain’s home. The house is well-appointed with a full kitchen and fully furnished rooms. The house is well-maintained, comfortable, and clean. Everything you could possible want is there for your use. With two bedrooms each with a double bed, it is comfortable and convenient for a family of four or two couples.
There is a nice-sized living room, full kitchen, and another quaint sitting room/game room/dining room as well as the fully furnished large living room, and half bath on the first floor. With TV and wired or wireless Internet this home is the ideal vacation destination.
As we always do, we totally enjoyed the conveniences and the accommodations of these rentals; all the comforts of home in the amazing village of St. Michaels. We highly recommend any of the properties on Locust St and the hospitality and friendliness of the owner.
My only caution about Melson house is just to be aware that the one full bath is off the master bedroom and because it is an older home, the bathroom has a low, sloping ceiling. It is clean and convenient, but not the most comfortable for a taller man.
Whenever we vacation in St. Michaels, we will be happy to rent either of the two homes on Locust Street.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, cleanliness, conveniences, furnishings
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing