We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where's the music?”

Carpenter Street Saloon
Ranked #7 of 51 Restaurants in St. Michaels
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Where's the music?”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Window advertised live music from 2-8. Got there at 2:30 and nothing was playing. Lots of young folks getting their drink on early!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Silenagig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    146
    38
    22
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Michaels, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Sometimes you just need a dive bar...”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

And if you're in St. Michaels, this is all you got. With pool tables upstairs, a juke box up and down, C-Street offers you all you need. Fairly inexpensive, you can hang with the watermen of the Eastern Shore. Also, don't miss the annual shopping cart races held every St. Patty's Day.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Liz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
83 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good sandwiches and bar food”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Stopped in at lunchtime; location not crowded, ambiance and decor were interesting. Lunch special was a steak sandwich; meat was good quality, fries crispy. Waitress pretty quick and pleasant. We would eat there again.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank KirkinPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Skip this place. Not worth the bad service for so-so food.”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

This was the low-light of our entire weekend in St. Michael's.

Heard the rockfish was worth a visit, but my wife and I couldn't get past the bad (or was it indifferent?) service. It struck us so "off" it sparked a conversation about what's important in a good meal. More on that later.

We wanted to have a light lunch before heading back to Virginia on that Sunday, so we popped in. First impression was bad; seat yourself as the sign says, but no server says a word to us for several minutes (there were more than enough servers, btw.)

When one did show up, her attitude was just amazingly poor. Didn't welcome us, tell us her name or anything before she started placing silverware & placemats in front of us. Then, gruffly asked what we'd like to drink.

Strike 1.

We tried to engage her by asking about the menu, and what she recommended, and it was like we were annoying her by asking.

Strike 2.

During our meal, which was just ok (crab cake sandwich, rockfish sandwich), our server came to the table, asked if my wife was finished with her drink (she wasn't) and before my wife could acknowledge and answer, she picked up the glass and walked off.

Strike 3.

So back to our conversion about what matters in a good meal out. I maintained that I'd rather have so-so food with excellent service than the other way around, and after this experience, my wife completely agreed with me.

And I don't think we're being too harsh, frankly. The whole vibe of the servers and the dining room was bad. You know something is wrong if the servers rarely smile when they engage with customers. We struggled to find one as we observed other tables.

So, just skip it. There are better places.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Surferboi61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
90 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great food & service”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We visited here in February during a quick trip to St. Michaels. Just wandered in, looking for lunch. Waitress was great about giving recommendations ("the chef makes a mean grilled cheese")....damn, that WAS a great grilled cheese. A fun & casual little place, much less touristy than the rest of the strip.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bee778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carpenter Street Saloon also viewed

St. Michaels, Talbot County
 
St. Michaels, Talbot County
 

Been to Carpenter Street Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing