We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Old Brick Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Brick Inn
Ranked #1 of 13 St. Michaels B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2007

I always think it's helpful to know who writes these reviews, so for your planning purposes - we are a couple in our mid 30's, living in Washington, DC. We had a terrific stay in the Chesapeake Room. The room was beautiful, the bed was super comfortable, the customer service was exceptional and the food was delicious. They even made a special vegetarian breakfast with a lot of food, not just a scone for us. This was a perfect overnight getaway from Washington, DC. We would definitely return.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LGDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    85
    24
    16
    18
See reviews for
24
359
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, MD
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2007

First of all, wow, I guess I did not realize how easy it is to post the reviews here, so I am more than a year over due, but I am quite sure things could only have changed for the better at the Old Brick Inn in St. MIchaels. When I use the term "bliss," I mean it because, it was such a dream to get married here, the hosts are completely accomodating in absolutely every way, it is so lovely and intimate, I cant think of anywhere else we would rather have gone, and everyone that stayed at the Inn loved it. John and Sally sent us to the best restaurant in town where we held our reception, hint NOT the Wedding Crashers place, and they were just wonderful to our family, serving a nice breakfast in the morning especially for them. Meanwhile my husband and I enjoyed the last moments of our stay in the tub in the French Country room (I think that is what it is called) where we had been greeted with the sweetest, most thoughtful wedding night decor courtesy of Sally, including candles and flowers from the wedding. This is a very much belated thank you again to the Old Brick Inn. We hope to return someday soon!

  • Tips/Secrets — Go to The Shore restaurant
  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mauiinapril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, NC / North Myrtle Beach, SC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2006

The Old Brick Inn provides a wonderful getaway from one's mundane life. The Inn is perfectly situated in St. Michaels for easy access to all the village has to offer.

The Innkeeper was very friendly, and kindly made our dinner reservations for us.

Our room was very large, and located in an addition to the original 1816 structure. The bed was large and comfortable; the "memory foam" mattress topper was a very nice touch (I have one on my own bed at home, and usually miss it when I travel)! My only quibble with the room itself was that it did not have hardwood floors (a "must" for that historic atmosphere), but instead featured emerald green wall-to-wall carpeting. Also, the accessories and reproduction furnishings were a bit "downscale" for the prices the Inn commands at the height of the tourist season...one of the "objets d'art" still had its T.J. Maxx pricetag! (To be fair, however, St. Michaels is a pricey town itself, and The Old Brick Inn's rates are not unreasonable for the area).

The bathroom was quite roomy and functional. The Inn provides nice soaps and toiletries, and thick, soft towels. The "rainfall" showerhead gave me quite a nice shower! However, the linoleum needs to be replaced (ceramic tile, please!) and the bath could use some spackling and painting.

The breakfast was delicious and generous: cereals, fruit salad, yogurt, granola, toast and jelly, Eggs Benedict with crabmeat, herbed potatoes, and tea/coffee/juice.

Homemade cookies are available 24/7 (the ginger ones were divine), as are complimentary tea and coffee. Guests are limited to one complimentary soda, with additional ones being 50 cents each. In my opinion, asking guests to pay for extra drinks is rather tacky, especially at The Old Brick Inn's price-point! After all, how many sodas can one person drink overnight? I've never encountered this at any other B&B (and I have stayed in many of them). Perhaps this policy is due to a bad past experience?

My minor quibbles should not keep you from staying at The Old Brick Inn...I only mention them so you are fully informed. I certainly recommend the inn to anyone planning a sojourn to St. Michaels.

  • Liked — Great location and food
  • Disliked — Slightly downscale appointments
  • Tips/Secrets — Book early, as the Inn fills quickly
  • Stayed October 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank history_prof_2b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern, PA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2006

My wife and I have stayed at several B&B's in the past, and this by far was the best. From the miinute we arrived we were treated like old friends. Our hosts were extremely personable and accomodating. We stayed in the Chesapeake Room which was superb. It had the quaintness we were looking forward and the pampering we were used to (plasma sceen television and electric fire place). The oversized room made us feel as if we were in a presidential suite. To our surprise, we were offered the option of having breakfast delivered to our room (unique to the Chesapeake room only), but we enjoy the entire B&B atmosphere and decided to be join the rest of the Inn for breakfast. The food was absolutely delicious and I am astounded by a prior posting that gave such a negative review. The selections and uniqueness of the food was beyond our expectations. The location is perfect for getting anywhere in St. Michael's without a car. We took a side trip to Easton and walked around the historic district, which was very quiant, but I would skip Oxford and Tilghman Island which doesn't seem to have much of a town area, and lacks the charm of St. Michaels. Beautiful for sitiing and watching the water, and day go by, however. The pictures of the Inn on the web don't do it justice. It has to be seen to truly appreciate the history of the building. We had dinner at The Inn at Perry Cabin, so it was nice to see, but I would still return to the Old Brick Inn the next time we are in town. Did I mention the fresh baked cookies each night??

  • Liked — The friendliness, cleanliness, and history of the building
  • Disliked — The noisy guests above us.
  • Tips/Secrets — If you can afford the Chesapeake Room...go for it!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank GCDO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabin John, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2006

In town for a wedding, the Old Brick Inn was one of several lodgings recommended by the bride's mother. We chose the Old Brick Inn primarily because we liked the idea of being in walking distance from shopping, restaurants and other tourist attractions. We were also bowled over by the mostly superlative reviews. We were not disappointed; starting with the innkeepers' warm greeting on our arrival(and the delightful news we'd been upgraded to the lovely Tuscany Room), the complimentary chocolate truffles on the dressing table, the very comfortable bed and the absolute quiet at night, the fantastic warm scones made with fresh blueberries and the tasty egg dish at breakfast...we couldn't have been more satiated, satisfied and refreshed by our two day visit. My advice: bring your own bikes, those available to rent in downtown St. Michaels are pretty sub-par and the bike ride to Oxford, taking the oldest ferry in the state, is a great experience. Plus you need to work off the scones.

  • Liked — the food
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 6604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia beach, va
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2006

This was a very enjoyable experience for my wife and I. Our hosts were exceptional and made our stay memorable. The breakfasts were 'gormet' quality. I would highly recommend the Old Brick Inn to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ME-VirginiaBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marlton,nj
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2006

my wife and i honeymooned at the old brick inn in st. michaels, maryland the last week of july,2006. this inn is so romantic and the innkeepers, sally and john, are fantastic. the breakfast every morning was unbelievable. they have a pool in their courtyard, which is unusual for a bed and breakfast, that is a real treat as it was very hot during our stay. if you are looking for a romantic hideaway this is the place to go. my wife and i actually have nothing to say but wow!!!!!! we will be back soon.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank cruiserpop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Michaels hotels
0.5 mi away
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
#1 of 4 in St. Michaels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
1.3 mi away
St. Michaels Inn
St. Michaels Inn
#4 of 4 in St. Michaels
3.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Michaels Harbour Inn Marina & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Parsonage Inn
Parsonage Inn
#2 of 13 in St. Michaels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
5.0 mi away
Wades Point Inn on the Bay
0.9 mi away
George Brooks House B&B
George Brooks House B&B
#5 of 13 in St. Michaels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Brick Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Brick Inn

Property: The Old Brick Inn
Address: 401 S. Talbot Street, St. Michaels, MD 21663
Location: United States > Maryland > Talbot County > St. Michaels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in St. Michaels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Brick Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of St.Michaels, The Old Brick Inn and Kemp House are elegant, historic homes built in the early 1800s. Both offer European charm with modern updates for the comfort of our guests. Our highly professional staff work tirelessly to ensure that every guest has his/her needs met. Nineteen luxurious guest rooms all have ensuite private baths, digital TV and free wireless. Several premium rooms offer whirlpool tubs or double showers. Our private courtyard features a perfect gathering area for friends and guests to relax and enjoy our premium beer and wine list. On-site parking is available for all of our guests. Our inn includes a full breakfast(not the norm in St Michaels). We now have a beautiful bar where all of our guests can relax and enjoy the libation of choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your The Old Brick Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Brick Hotel St. Michaels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing