We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely relaxing”
Review of The Old Brick Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Michaels
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Brick Inn
Ranked #1 of 13 St. Michaels B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Extremely relaxing”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Lovely accommodations. We chose Elizabeth's Rose Garden room, located on the third floor. Lots of stairs, but we were up for the climb. The inn is located on busy Talbot Street, but during our stay the street went absolutely quiet somewhere around 9:30 pm. Each morning we were greeted with a fabulous breakfast, graciously served. Our room was clean and comfortable, the bed more comfortable than I had expected. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandi_Jayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George W, Owner at The Old Brick Inn, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Sandi Jayne,

Thank you for your kinds words about the inn and staff. We strive to make every stay as comfortable as possible and we look forward to your next visit!

Our third floor rooms and the rooms at our Kemp House are always quiet and restful, and we are glad you chose the ERG for your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    91
    24
    16
    18
See reviews for
27
370
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights. Two days with rainy weather, so being close to restaurants & shops was wonderful. Room was very comfortable. Only complaint was the noise of folks doing work outside in the pool area while I tried to sleep in the morning.

Very nice staff. Charming town. Check out Ava's & The Town Dock for great meals.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank summertime0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

My husband and I have stayed here twice. The customer service and hospitality is outstanding. The staff goes above and beyond to make you feel at home. While having breakfast in the main area, wonderful quiche to be exact, we had the honor of meeting the owners who were nice as can be. Made our stay at the inn all the more wonderful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sneakysquirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed at The Old Brick in over the 4th and 5th of July 2012 to celebrate my birthday. We made our reservation online and their website is very nice offering pictures of all of their rooms and the availability/price of each, the reservation can be made online. We chose the Lady Guinevere room and it was located in the brick building adjacent to the main building. It was a large and comfortable room with a nice sized bathroom that had a double shower, I think this room was one of the rooms that is a little more on expensive side.

The staff was very friendly and accommodating. When we were outside on the patio where they have a small pool with a bottle of wine we had purchased from the inn, one of the innkeepers came out back to offer us real wine glasses instead of the plastic ones that we had brought out from the room. Each morning breakfast was served in the main part of the Inn and it was very tasty, they are set up with tables for 2 so you are nit sharing a large dining table as i have seen at other B&Bs. They also offered drinks and snacks in the afternoon and have that set up in a small room. They have an extensive wine list that they offer on site, my only complaint would be that none of their whites or champagnes were chilled so when we purchased one we had to wait for it to chill.

We only had kind of strange thing happen. While we were out and about on our 2nd day, we ran into one of the staff members on the street and he told us that they were concerned that we had left because they found the key to our room on the ground outside (even though our car was still parked in front, our belongings were still in the room and we were not scheduled to leave until the next day)They had only given us one key and we had it with us. This was a little concerning in that the name of your room is labeled on the key so anyone who found that key could have accessed our room while we were gone. When we returned to the Inn it was around 4:00 PM and our room had not been made up that day. I went over to the front desk to ask about it and the woman there was extremely apologetic and told me that the housekeepers had left for the day and she couldn't imagine why they skipped our room (hmmmm...maybe it was the housekeeper that had dropped our key in the street and that is why the room had not been made up?) She offered to call someone back to have the room made up but we declined as we actually just wanted to relax for a bit having been out all day prior to our dinner reservations that evening. To make up for it she gave us a bottle of wine (on the house) and loaded us up with fresh towels and coffee etc for the brewer in our room. I thought this was very accommodating.

Overall, it was a very nice stay and the innkeepers and staff were all very friendly, I gave 4 stars instead of five as things were just not perfect, considering the weird occurrence(s) on our 2nd day.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PJM27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Went to Old Brick Inn beginning of November as a 2 day romantic get away.This was our first b/b experience.The folks who work there,Melissa,Emily,Sabrina could not have been any nicer or helpfull both before and after we arrived.The room showed a bit of wear but was clean and very large.Breakfast was very good both days.Overall we had a very enjoyable time.You can walk through the whole town from the Inn.Emily made all the arrangements at a spa for a massage for my wife.I got the package and everything there and we had no problems.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ref069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Old Brick Inn the first weekend of November to celebrate our 2 year anniversary. It was our first time there, so we researched all the B&Bs in St. Michaels and thought this one had the nicest looking rooms, plus king size bed availability. We booked online without calling the B&B - the website was great and easy to maneuver through. Once we got there, the check in process was easy as well and the employees were helpful in restaurant recommendations and what to do in St. Michaels over the weekend. When we got up to our room (Captain's Quarters), we realized it faced Talbot Street, which is the main street. It was a very noisy room with all of the traffic going by, so that was a distraction. Also, the other issue was the water temperature in the shower. It would fluctuate often during a 10 minute shower, from really hot to really cold. I heard other guests mentioning the same issue at breakfast. The room itself was very nice, spacious and the bed was comfortable.

The B&B itself was rather large, spread across three different houses. Two were adjacent (we stayed in the main house) and one was located a block down on Talbot. I have stayed at several B&Bs and personally prefer a more cozy feel to a B&B with the actual owners being there to prepare the breakfast, talking to their guests, etc. I think everyone helping here were employees and it was run more like an inn. The breakfast was very good, with a biscuit/egg sandwich the first morning and a tasty fruit filled french toast the second morning. They also had a nice set up in an adjacent room for free coffee, teas, desserts and some snacks available all day/night. The dining area to me felt a bit cafeteria like with the lighting and size. I have definitely been in more homey and cozier B&B dining rooms before.

Overall, I would recommend this B&B if you like larger more "business like" B&Bs. I would also definitely call ahead when booking a room to see where the room is located because that could make or break the amount of sleep you get. We also felt the price of the room was also steep relative to other B&Bs, but it was probably because we had a king size bed. Now that we have been to St. Michaels and saw some of the other B&Bs, I most likely would book one of the B&Bs off the side streets, that fronts the water and is more secluded.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kinnery C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severna Park, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We have had great times over the years staying at this Inn. We decided to spend our 17th anniversary here again last week and had another great trip. It was nice to meet Innkeeper Melissa and wonderful to see Emily again, who we met in trips past. Both were so pleasant and went out of their way to be sure we had another wonderful trip. Breakfast was delicious too. It was a wonderful way to spend our special anniversary!! Will definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank collins30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Michaels
0.5 mi away
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
1.3 mi away
St. Michaels Inn
St. Michaels Inn
#3 of 4 in St. Michaels
443 reviews
7.4 mi away
Oxford Inn
Oxford Inn
#1 of 1 in Oxford
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
St. Michaels Harbour Inn Marina & Spa
0.3 mi away
Parsonage Inn
Parsonage Inn
#2 of 13 in St. Michaels
332 reviews
5.0 mi away
Wades Point Inn on the Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Brick Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Brick Inn

Property: The Old Brick Inn
Address: 401 S. Talbot Street, St. Michaels, MD 21663
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Talbot County > St. Michaels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in St. Michaels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Brick Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of St.Michaels, The Old Brick Inn and Kemp House are elegant, historic homes built in the early 1800s. Both offer European charm with modern updates for the comfort of our guests. Our highly professional staff work tirelessly to ensure that every guest has his/her needs met. Twenty luxurious guest rooms all have ensuite private baths, digital TV and free wi-fi. Several premium rooms offer Jacuzzi tubs or double showers. Our private courtyard features a perfect gathering area for friends and guests to relax and enjoy our premium beer and wine list. Free on-site parking is available for all of our guests. Our inn includes a full breakfast(not the norm in St Michaels). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Brick Hotel St. Michaels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing