We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoying natures best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sail Selina II

Sail Selina II
Ranked #1 of 5 Tours in St. Michaels
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Sail Selina II Boat Tours sails daily from St Michaels MD from April-Oct. Passengers are limited to just six guests for a personal experience of the history of sail. Built in 1926 during the Great Gatsby era, climb aboard and go back in time when yachtsmen enjoyed the elegance of freshly varnished mahogany and brighlty polished brass. Available on a per person basis or private charter, we offer day sails, Champagne Sunset Cruises, moonlight sails, sailing lessons, wine tasting and beer tasting excursions, romantic sit down table-for-two dinners, small weddings, overnights, engagements, birthdays,& anniversary celebrations. Once we cast off lines we tour the harbor and enjoy the sights that dot the shoreline of this quaint little seafood town. Hear the stories of the historic boats on display at the Chesapeake Bay Maritime Museums boat basin, and see where the movie "Wedding Crashers" was filmed. Once we leave the harbor we go out into the Miles River, put up the sails and foloow the wind. Guests are invited to participate or simply sit back and relax. We are here to make your out on the water nautical experience perfect.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Orange, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Enjoying natures best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Setting sail and being a part of the water of the Chesapeake was a wonderful experience. Adding the charm of Captain Iris along with the workmanship and beauty of the Selina II, made the voyage one of the highlights of our trip. It gave us the opportunity to truly relax and enjoy natures best from bay view. This is one that I would not hesitate to do again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Annette_Roger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    326
    13
    6
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Champagne sunset cruise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

My girlfriend and I went on the sunset cruise. We had our choice of drink (alcoholic or otherwise) as well as carrots, crackers, and spinach and artichoke dip. First mate frank kept filling up the drinks as we finished them and circulated with the food while captain iris shared her family stories, stories about the Selina II and insights about St. Michaels. Captain iris loves her job and her exuberance was on display the entire trip. The selina was the highlight of our st michaels trip and we would do it again if we had the chance.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jg2153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Great way to share the Chesapeake with friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

This was a wonderful addition to a girls' weekend in St. MIchael's. I loved that we had the whole boat to ourselves and Captain Iris and First Mate Frank added to the charm of this historic boat with stories about life on the bay.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank s v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton pa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Voyage”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

We went out on Selina's sunset cruise, and we were not disappointed. Although the winds were a bit rough, Captain Iris navigated us throughout the two hours while regaling us with history and stories that were all very interesting. She was very happy to answer all our questions about sailing. We were even able to watch and learn about the sailboat races that take place weekly on the water. First Mate Frank hoisted sail and hospitably kept the drinks and snacks coming while making sure that everything was as it should be. It was an absolutely delightful ride, and we would definitely recommend it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank SouthamptonPaDebK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptainIris, Owner at Sail Selina II, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thanks for your kind words, we always do our best to have a good time regardless of the wind, and sometimes that can be tricky if there is too much or too little. I love the Wed night series, so glad you got to see the races, its so neat to see sailboats all clustered together, like dancing butterflies on the water. - Capt Iris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice river sail”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

This was a nice, little sail to take a water view of the area. Captain very knowledgeable and eager to share the boat's family history.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank A F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptainIris, Owner at Sail Selina II, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Many people are eager to hear Selina II's history, so generally I do share her story. As the largest surviving catboat she really is an extraordinary piece of of American Maritime History. So glad you enjoyed the trip. What else could we have done to earn all 5 stars? - Capt Iris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sail Selina II also viewed

St. Michaels, Talbot County
 
St. Michaels, Talbot County
 

Been to Sail Selina II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing