We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Well worth the visit

Several exhibits about the boats and history of the Chesapeake Bay. They have an active boat... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Gander-and-Yankee
Worth the visit

This is more than a museum. It is living history and it tells the story of this busy seaside... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
John V
,
Maidstone, Uk
Read all 926 reviews
  
Reviews (926)
Filter reviews
919 results
Traveler rating
669
197
47
5
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
669
197
47
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boat building maritime museum chesapeake bay several buildings two days oysters different buildings light house self guided crab all ages hands on activities we spent hours boat shop interactive displays own pace great exhibits
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 919 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Several exhibits about the boats and history of the Chesapeake Bay. They have an active boat building & restoring area. You can view boats undergoing restoration and see the efforts involved. The museum also provides a nice walking trail.

Thank Gander-and-Yankee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is more than a museum. It is living history and it tells the story of this busy seaside community and its inseparable partnership with the sea and boats. We just loved the boat building that still goes on, keeping traditional skills alive. At the time of our visit, the museum was getting ready for a re-launch of a boat that has been completely rebuilt at St Michaels. A pity we could not have stayed on another day.

Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a great 'walking' museum with all sorts of exhibits. The lighthouse was our favorite attraction. There is also a working ship builder's demonstration, a boat exhibit with various boats on display, and various other exhibits. There is a lot of walking involved so wear comfortable shoes.

1  Thank njduckman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a fantastic museum which spans the history of the Chesapeake Bay. All sorts of ship building related information plus a working ship builder's area. Lighthouse and bell history, water fowling and decoy building, model ship building, historical information about recreational boating and other activities. St. Michaels township is within walking distance, very quaint and full of shopping.. The museum has many places to sit and rest and a superior gift shop. Wear comfortable shoes, this place is great for history buffs.

Thank margarethV476OA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great opportunity for all ages to learn about the many dimensions of maritime activities on the Chesapeake Bay. High points include active shipbuilding projects, platform lighthouse, oystering, crabbing, recreational boating, water fowling and Chesapeake Bay history. Nice gift shop to suit various interests.

Thank ehg2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

This museum consists of some 12 buildings including an area for ship building, the lighthouse and oystering. Well worth a visit on the waterfront.

Thank Cmtrott2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

One can't but help admiring all the mainly voluntary work which has obviously been poured into this exhibit over many years. But, in this day and age, static signboards with only text and an occasional photo or two does not cut the mustard. Nowadays most people under 80 years are looking for computerised graphics, suitable music or dramatised audio to hold their attention. Sure their are some marvellously restored marine vessels and smaller artifacs plus worthwhile historical photos in this museum. However many such such things can often be enjoyed in superior forms and no cost in many other places and in an "on demand" environment as well. Unfortunately, and like many, many older museums, today this one is very much passé. It pains me to make this assertion and I certainly salute the dedicated people who have achieved so much in the past. I also believe that there is still much merit in preserving the old ships and boats for educational purposes as well as downright posterity.

Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBMM_Editor, Public Relations Manager at Chesapeake Bay Maritime Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your recent visit to CBMM and especially for taking the time to write your review. We agree that many of our permanent exhibits need refreshing, and CBMM is currently undergoing major fundraising for a Master Plan that addresses this need through new buildings and exhibitions, and much more.

While there's still work to be done on this initiative, we are making progress today. We have a new audio tour of our floating fleet, which is included in our interpretive signage and accessible online at cbmm.org/audio. Our changing exhibitions also feature numerous interactives for all ages, including our current "Exploring the Chesapeake: Mapping the Bay" exhibition in the Steamboat Building. And we've recently upgraded our Thor pilot house exhibition, with literally all the bells and whistles of a real pilot house, for children of all ages to touch, learn from, and explore.

Please check back with us soon and see the transformations as we take CBMM into its next 50 years. We are dedicated to delivering memorable experiences for all to enjoy. Thank you again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Always enjoy visiting and the weather cooperated. We enjoyed the walk and the views.
The parking was easy and the area well kept.

Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went to the museum to attend the Maryland Premiere of "AN ISLAND OUT OF TIME" on Saturday, October 13th. The film was an excellent depiction of life on Smith Island and it was so nice to meet the couple the film is about - Mary Ada and Dwight Marshall and their family. And, I finally got to taste Mary Ada's Smith Island Cake - several different flavors, all delicious! Also, met 2 of the filmmakers, Tom Horton and Dave Harp, who are friends of my daughter. Lovely evening!

Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellent interactive displays. Fun for all ages. The lighthouse was so fun. You are encouraged to open drawers and cupboards to see what's inside. A fun learning experience.

Thank Wanderer607194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews