We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chesapeake Bay Maritime Museum”

Chesapeake Bay Maritime Museum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Experience how people live, work and play on the Chesapeake Bay - cruise on the Miles River,get your hands wet exploring a waterman's shanty, let our boat builders show you their magic, or climb to the top of an 1879 lighthouse. Come do the Bay, your way.
Maryville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Chesapeake Bay Maritime Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

boat refurbishing. educational. well done. interactive. friendly people. Pulled eel trap. It had a small fish in it. Climbed up lighthouse.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank homegrowntomatoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    524
    153
    39
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
90 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great visit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

Although it was a freezing day in February, we spent hours and hours at this museum. If you're adverse to cold, don't come during the winter - you have to walk between buildings and some of the buildings are "working" buildings so they are not heated. But definitely worth a visit! We got to see folks building boats, restoring boats, etc. Learned a lot and had a great time.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bee778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
medford lakes
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The Bay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

A must see when in St Mike's. A great history of the watermen and their crafts. Oyster dredging by sail. The building of the boats they used. Fascinating.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank wayne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
163 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great historical site, but dress warmly during winter”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

The museum offers a lot of history, rustic boats, maritime artifacts and a lighthouse tour. The staff is friendly and helpful. Our only complaint is that the buildings were not heated. At all. We wore gloves, hats and scarves while inside, and my nose was still frozen. The odd thing is the staff suggested we go in three buildings in particular since they were heated. But it was warmer outside. We rushed through the buildings and the campus because we were uncomfortably cold. We do recommend the collection of photos showing the degradation of the shoreline. And maybe visit when it's warm outside.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank SeeitAll728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBMM_Munson, Manager at Chesapeake Bay Maritime Museum, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for your review and recent visit. While we adjust the temperature of our indoor exhibits for visitors fully dressed for outdoor weather, it sounds like we could have been more mindful of the temperature during the day of your visit. We have shared your feedback with our VP of Operations to assure the visitor experience is a comfortable one in the future. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not to be missed in St. Michaels”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

This is a fascinating display of history and life on the chesapeake bay. Plan to spend several hours as there are at least 10 buildings, each highlighting different areas of interest. It is pet friendly (at least during low season) and your dog will have as much fun as you will.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovettsville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBMM_Munson, Public Relations Manager at Chesapeake Bay Maritime Museum, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for your visit and your review! Leashed dogs are welcome on our campus year-round along our 18-acre waterfront campus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chesapeake Bay Maritime Museum also viewed

St. Michaels, Talbot County
 
St. Michaels, Talbot County
St. Michaels, Talbot County
 

Been to Chesapeake Bay Maritime Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing