We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good cornerstone for a St. Michael's visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chesapeake Bay Maritime Museum

Chesapeake Bay Maritime Museum
213 N Talbot St, Navy Point, St. Michaels, MD 21663-2103
14107452916
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Experience how people live, work and play on the Chesapeake Bay - cruise on the Miles River,get your hands wet exploring a waterman's shanty, let our boat builders show you their magic, or climb to the top of an 1879 lighthouse. Come do the Bay, your way.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good cornerstone for a St. Michael's visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

Comprehensive but not overwhelming local historical museum. Worthy of a primary sight on a trip to St. Michael's.

Helpful?
Thank Aerocraft67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBMM_Munson, Vice President of Communications at Chesapeake Bay Maritime Museum, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
Thank you for your review and recent visit. Be sure to stop back again when our new tugboat exhibit is up - April 21 through 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    425
    139
    34
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westminster, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Lots of heritage”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

Plenty to see and experince. Holds a lot of history about the bay area as well as an active boat repair / building yard.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

We were in the St. Michaels area for the Presidents Day weekend and planned to visit the museum on Sunday. When we got to our hotel, we saw a sign that the museum was free on Monday. We gladly changed our plans and visited on Monday.

It is a wonderful, well thought out museum with a lot of information about the Chesapeake Bay area history. I would have gladly paid the $13 admission charge, though I have to admit it was even better free :-)

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank DLC12988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, MD
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“CBMM - In a Class Buy Itself”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Lots to do and see. Some docents. Volunteers in the boathouse rebuilding old workboats and building new ones. Dozens of Chesapeake Bay small hunting and fishing boats going back two centuries. Good oystering exhibit and a great platform lighthouse that you can tour.

Helpful?
Thank TravelerChester_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBMM_Munson, Manager at Chesapeake Bay Maritime Museum, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Thank you for your review of the Chesapeake Bay Maritime Museum in historic St. Michaels, MD.

Your review helps us share our love of the Bay and the people whose lives have been shaped around it.

A new tug exhibit opens April 21. We hope you can visit us again, and often.

Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Unexpected pleasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

It's worth going here for the walk around the point. But there's always something going on pertaining to Chesapeake Bay life. Some beautiful old boats to see, some of which are being lovingly refurbished.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank Tric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chesapeake Bay Maritime Museum also viewed

St. Michaels, Talbot County
St. Michaels, Talbot County
 
St. Michaels, Talbot County
St. Michaels, Talbot County
 

Been to Chesapeake Bay Maritime Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing