We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oysterfest!”

Chesapeake Bay Maritime Museum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Experience how people live, work and play on the Chesapeake Bay - cruise on the Miles River,get your hands wet exploring a waterman's shanty, let our boat builders show you their magic, or climb to the top of an 1879 lighthouse. Come do the Bay, your way.
North Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Oysterfest!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2011

Oysterfest is a great event with oyster stew competitions, cooking demonstrations, demonstrations of traditional trades e.g. boat building (skipjacks), watermen (oyster harvesting), how to farm your own oysters, boat tours, retrieving demonstrations by Chesapeake Bay Retrievers, an original American breed developed on the Eastern Shore, soups, raw bar, cocktails, crafts and other vendors. It's a great day at a great venue.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank MEB2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    527
    153
    39
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great place to visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

I've been to this museum several time, but I always have a great time when I go back. I always learn something new or see something I haven't seen before. Oysterfest was great. Overall, a must see when in St. Michaels.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank levh01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Very Quaint”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2011

Had nice time here. A little pricey, perhaos, but it's a tourist town and to be expected.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBMM_Munson, Vice President of Communications at Chesapeake Bay Maritime Museum, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
Thank you again for your review of our Museum. Through donations and other support, we do everything we can to keep our general admission price as low as possible. With free parking and a $13 admission price for adults (seniors and kids get discounts, active military and six and under free), you can spend hours taking in the beauty of our waterfront campus and historic boats, along with 12 exhibit buildings for a memorable experience.

You can also enjoy free general admission throughout the year, store discounts, free special events and reduced admission for affiliate events - when you join the Museum as a member. Plus, you'll feel good knowing you support the educational, exhibit and boat restoration programs of the non-profit Museum. Thanks again for your visit - come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful location and interesting exhibits”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2011

We spent a day there and the weather was sunny and warm. The staff were very helpful and the exhibits were interesting.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank CJWRhodeIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
65 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“An amazing tribute to the Chesapeake Bay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2011

This is a "Do Not Miss" part of any trip to St. Michael's. Plan to spend at least 2 hours here to see and experience everything.

Visited November 2010
Helpful?
Thank lindas6665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chesapeake Bay Maritime Museum also viewed

St. Michaels, Talbot County
 
St. Michaels, Talbot County
St. Michaels, Talbot County
 

Been to Chesapeake Bay Maritime Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing