We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chillaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Oaks Waterfront Inn and Events
Ranked #1 of 1 Royal Oak B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 13, 2007

We stayed here using a midweek special and had a great time. The only scheduled event we had for our 2 day stay was breakfast between 8:30and9:30. From the moment we were greeted by the staff we knew we found a new get-away that we will be returning to when ever we can. You can stay as busy or unbusy as much as you want. Staff was great. The free activities include-swimming, canoeing, biking, horseshoes, volleyball, putting(on the green). I would highly reccomend this B&B!

Stayed: August 2007
6  Thank harryo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
There are newer reviews for The Oaks Waterfront Inn and Events
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 101 of 101 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2007

Our son and daughter-in-law were married at The Oaks on October 21, 2006, and they could not have chosen a better location. The wedding party and family stayed at the Inn for the weekend, and the rooms and
breakfasts were first rate, as well as the service. The staff could not have been more accomodating nor the setting more picturesque. We hosted the rehearsal dinner at the Inn and were very pleased with our
decision to do so after looking at other venues. The wedding was all one could hope for; we highly recommend The Oaks!

Stayed: October 2006
4  Thank AlanPeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2007

My husband and I were planning a much needed weekend away and, based on the Oaks website, decided to stay there. We rented the "Honeymoon Cottage," which is a separate building from the main house. We have pretty high standards regarding cleanliness and comfort and were extremely pleased when we opened the door to the cottage. It consisted of 3 rooms, a kitchen (not fully functional but it did have a small fridge) a comfortable living room with a gas fireplace and a lovely bedroom with a very comfortable bed. The cottage was very clean and had plenty of towels and toilettries. And we had maid service every day. The staff was very pleasant and helpful with directions and restaurant ideas for dinner. Our stay included a wonderful breakfast in the main house's dining room. The selections were excellent. The three mornings we were there we had delicious choices such as crab meat omelet, french toast and blueberry pancakes. And wonderfully warm croissants. Even though we stayed there in the dead of winter (the river was actually frozen!) it was a wonderful experience. The only negative comment I have is that the shower head was not as forceful as we like and there were a few minor repairs that needed to be done, such as there was no towel rack in the bathroom. With that said, I'd highly recommend the Oaks and will definitely stay there again-even in winter!

Stayed: February 2007
4  Thank caomokitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2006

We attended a wedding here is August and it was simply breathtaking. The ceremony was outdoors by the water and it was perfectly shaded and set up. There is quite a long walk to the ceremony spot, so ladies watch the skinny heals because you will be stuck in the ground. As a recent bride I loved the fact that the girls and the bride were given the honeymoon cottage to get ready in and emerged from it one by one where they then crossed the small bridge before walking up the aisle.

The cocktail hour was held on the the back lawn and in the pavillion over the water. Two large bars were set up outside and ran very smoothly. The hors 'derves left something to be desired as there were only three or four and were not appealing to all palettes.

Dinner was sirloin steak and crab imperial, which was very good in both taste and portion size.

The reception itself was beautiful. Tall candlelabras adorned the tables and the bar was large and set up in an adjacent room so as not to block up traffic in the main reception area. There were several little touches that I am not sure if were the bride's idea or a staple for this venue, but I would highly recommend them. There was a groom's cake in additon to the wedding cake, a candy bar of all white candies when the cake was served, and the bride and groom were sent off to the honeymoon cottage by all guests holding sparklers.

The one drawback was the small dance floor. It there are not going to be a lot of people dancing it's ok, but if you expect all your guests to dance at once it was a little tight and people were definetly catching elbows to the head and getting stepped on.

This was a beautiful wedidng spot and I would recommend doing as much of your wedding outdoors here as possible because the scenery is simply breathtaking.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank bsb73080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2006

My husband and I attended a function at this Inn with the Board Of Realtors. We decided to stay at the Inn rather than drive back to Salisbury late in the evening. We called on the Wednesday before to make reservations and were pleasantly surprised that they had rooms available at a midweek rate. We stayed in a waterfront room with fireplace and whirlpool tub. Reservation stated Queen bed but it was a very small queen. Due to the unseasonably warm weather we never used the fireplace. We liked the robes they had available in the rooms and we enjoyed the whirlpool tub. The location of the room was however next to the outside exit door to the deck so whenever someone opened/closed the door I just about jumped 2 feet out of bed because it sounded as if they were coming in our room. A couple other downsides were that we were unable to get the window shade to come all the way down on one side. We ended up pushing a chair against it to block anyone's view into our room from the deck outside. Also, when we tried to use the shower we never could get the hot water to come out of it but hot water came out fine into the tub. The Inn itself was quaint and seemed to have a lot to do. We visited in the off season. We were surprised from the previous review that there was breakfast served. We had a choice of blueberry pancakes or mushroom omelette with fruit and toast. It was very good and was served with a view looking out to the water. We then spent the day in historic St Michaels which is about 10 minutes away. I collect Cat's Meow's Houses from all the B & B's we visit and was excited to find out that I could purchase one of this Inn at the Christmas House in St Michaels. Overall it was a nice getaway for us since we have 4 children and don't get too much time alone.

Stayed: March 2006
Thank momof4inmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2005

The Oaks is a lovely, lovely, lovely property. Beautiful views of the water, free bikes, free canoes, shuffleboard, horseshoes, et. al. to keep you as busy or unbusy as you might like. We rented a very large room with a private balcony, views of the water, and a kingsize bed. Perfect for a couple looking for a romantic get-away.

Regrettably, across the three days that my wife and I stayed at the inn there was a great deal of construction being done on the property's water-side exterior. My wife and I had dropped the kids off at a relatives, yet we were awakened each morning by 7:30 or so to banging, sawing, and the like. Our balcony had workers traipsing across repeatedly. The construction made relaxing by the water all but impossible, and views from the breakfast area were obscured by workers, saw tables, and the like. The construction continued each day into the late afternoon. Hence, we were forced to spend more time away from the inn then we might have otherwise.

We complained to the management after our first night. At checkout the following day, our bill was adjusted with very little haggling. In short this is a wonderfully romantic place--just not on the several days we visited. At the very least, I wish the management would have told us about the construction when we made our reservation or when we checked-in.

An aside... Breakfast is nothing special, which is somewhat surprising given the aspirations of The Oaks. Institutional bagels, fruit salad, and box cereal.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank mcosdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Royal Oak
3.9 mi away
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
2.3 mi away
St. Michaels Inn
St. Michaels Inn
#3 of 4 in St. Michaels
471 reviews
4.2 mi away
Oxford Inn
Oxford Inn
#1 of 1 in Oxford
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
St. Michaels Harbour Inn Marina & Spa
8.6 mi away
Wades Point Inn on the Bay
6.0 mi away
Tidewater Inn
Tidewater Inn
#4 of 9 in Easton
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oaks Waterfront Inn and Events? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oaks Waterfront Inn and Events

Address: 25876 Royal Oak Road, PO Box 187, Royal Oak, MD 21662
Location: United States > Maryland > Talbot County > Royal Oak
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Royal Oak
Price Range: $175 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oaks Waterfront Inn and Events 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oaks is a charming historic Inn with 15 rooms with private baths. There is a large common living room area for our guest to enjoy. Located a few miles from St. Michael's to our south, and Easton to our north, we are the perfect location with waterfront privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Oaks Waterfront Inn and Events reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oaks Waterfront Inn And Events Hotel Royal Oak
Oaks a Country Hotel
Country Inn Royal Oak
Royal Oak Country Inn
The Oaks a Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing