We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service was great, food was good as usual”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mamma Lucia

Mamma Lucia
Ranked #58 of 406 Restaurants in Rockville
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Service was great, food was good as usual”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have eaten at Mamma Lucia's before, and it is one of our favorite places. The food is consistently good. The service that we received was excellent (Vinny). It is a family-friendly atmosphere that won't hurt your wallet.

We love the bread and dipping oil!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank adam50young
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    48
    22
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Horrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

My wife and I typically have a good dining experience at Mama Lucia's, but the visit last night was horrible. My wife ordered the lasagna and I have the calamari with linguini. The lasagna sauce was very salty, had one layer of lasagna pasta, and was essentially garbage. My wife couldn't eat it. Seems like they added salt to the sauce to get the flavor to come out, but it didn't work. My calamari was tasteless. The sauce had no flavor at all. Last time making a visit. Would highly recommend staying away as there is much better in town.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“I'd go back!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Decent pizza at the bar, go on half-price wine night (Wed). A little loud, but I got good service and met some folks there. Seems like a local watering hole, I was from out of town.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank cwheelock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
174 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A little too starchy for me”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

This is an easy place to drop into while shopping nearby. The food is just average and a bit too saucy and starchy for me most days. But if you need some calories and warmth you could do worse.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
231 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Not up to par this time”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

I met a group of girlfriends at Mama Lucia this past week. We ordered wine by the glass, but one of of the women in our party noticed lipstick on her glass and had to ask for a clean glass.
The garlic bread is delicious. They have a huge menu with many choices. I enjoyed the portabello mushroom ravioli. The pasta entrees came with a salad. One of the people in our party was very dismayed to find a hair in her salad, so she called the manager over. He apologized and they did bring out another salad. However, given the combination of dirty glass and contaminated food, we really did not enjoy the meal. I have been there before without such incidents; perhaps this was an off night. The server was pleasant -- it was not her fault. But we would have like to have seen the manager be more attentive when the concern was raised.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FMCMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mamma Lucia also viewed

 

Been to Mamma Lucia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing