We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Rockville
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (345)
Filter reviews
345 results
Traveler rating
115
128
64
18
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
115
128
64
18
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shady grove front desk room was clean sink area yogurt free breakfast walk in shower small room shuttle service metro station free shuttle dc area quiet area other hotels outdoor pool comfortable hotel breakfast staff
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 345 reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2020 via mobile

Excellent. Love the free breakfast. Front Desk staff courteous and helpful. Very professional. Overal staff friendly and courteous. Room was clean and the bed was well made. I had access to the business center computer, very helpful.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank 793judithz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Front_Desk, General Manager at Sleep Inn Shady Grove, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2020

Dear Judith,
Thank you so much for choosing Sleep Inn Shady Grove for your visit to the area! Friendly service, clean accommodations, and a delicious breakfast are all aspects that we strive for, and it is wonderful to hear that you appreciated all of these. We wish you all the best, and we hope to see you again soon!

Sleep Inn Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2019 via mobile

I stayed overnight after having surgery to keep from driving home 7 hours. The hotel was clean, all the staff were friendly and the bed was comfy. I will be staying again when I have to go back that way.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank tammysE3098RH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Front_Desk, General Manager at Sleep Inn Shady Grove, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2019

Dear Tammy,
It is our goal to consider every guest like family, so reading your lovely comments warms our hearts. Thank you for commending our cozy accommodations and kind service.
We hope for your speedy recovery, and we'd love to see you again at Sleep Inn Shady Grove for another remarkable stay!

Sleep Inn Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2019

Have stayed here many times during our trips to MD to visit family. Seems to be getting a bit tired around the edges though, and next time we’ll probably choose the Radisson just across the way. HVAC system is excessively noisy. Room was clean but had a strange, musty, unidentifiable odor. Beds were comfortable. Included breakfast was adequate but the food wasn't piping hot. The youthful staff was polite and efficient. The location is quiet, and convenient to the Interstate. We were given a pass for the Radisson’s fitness center, which was fine.

Room tip: It’s the luck of the draw!
Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank spino18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Front_Desk, General Manager at Sleep Inn Shady Grove, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2019

Thank you for your return visits with us. We work to deliver comfortable, convenient value, and we're glad that you had a good rest with us. Our quiet location is easy to reach! We are, however, sorry that you were not completely comfortable. Your constructive insight is important, and we will address those cleanliness and maintenance issues with our service staff. Thank you for complimenting our team! We would love to build on our many positives as we welcome you back for an even better stay in the future.

Sleep Inn Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2019 via mobile

Checked in late after a long flight, was greeted by stench of Hash / marijuana, TV sets blasting and all this at past 10 PM.
Rushed down to reception to complain but instead I was told we don’t smell anything down here , was too tired to fight plus the receptionist was a mere child a tiny little teenager almost manning the night shift , maybe they are cheaper to hire but something is not right with this place. Open drug use plus distribution too probably, not well lit , filthy shower, musty rooms , heating system gives off a strange odors after continued use.

Please don’t waste your money here places half the cost are much better than this absolute train wreck waiting to happen.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank JiSahib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Front_Desk, General Manager at Sleep Inn Shady Grove, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2019

Dear Joe,
Thank you for your review of your recent visit. We're sorry to hear that your room was not to your preferred level of comfort. Please know we do not condone illicit behavior, and always work with local police to ensure a safe and comfortable environment for our guests. Your insight has been passed to our team for review and we hope for another chance to impress you going forward.

Sleep Inn Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2019 via mobile

PROS:
Clean (as far as hotels go)
Friendly staff, especially Matthew at the front desk
Convenient to Maryland Soccerplex
Quiet location
Beds surprisingly comfortable

CONS:
Very basic hotel, no frills here
No fitness center
Small rooms, double beds
Sink not in bathroom, standup shower stall only
Loud HVAC unit in room
Road noise (not a lot of hotel noise, ie., noise from the hallway or above/room beside you
Free hot breakfast, just go to McDonald's or Dunkin, you'll thank me later

Overall not a bad stay, just not up to par with other hotels in the Choice Hotels chain. Most of the cons stated above we were aware of prior to our stay, but we were assigned this hotel for a group to participate in a pay to play tournament so we had to stay here. If you are looking for a very basic but fairly clean place to crash for a day or two max, this may work for you.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank LAMFER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Front_Desk, General Manager at Sleep Inn Shady Grove, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2019

Although we are pleased to read that our high standard of cleanliness impressed you, we are sorry to hear that some aspects of our facilities were not what you expected from us. Know that your comments about areas of improvement are gratefully received, and they will be utilized as we continually improve. It is good to learn that you found our proximity to Maryland Soccerplex convenient and our surroundings quiet. However, please accept our apologies for the disturbance caused by the HVAC system and some external noise. Also, our team, mainly Matthew, will be happy to know of their positive impact on your stay.
We hope that you will consider staying with us in the future. Given the opportunity, we would like to provide you with the stay you expect and deserve.

Sleep Inn Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews