We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sleep Inn Shady Grove
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Rockville
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Spectacular Service”
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Checked in for a little R&R. I was impressed the moment we walked in. Amir, the manager was super accommodating. Natalie was very sweet and Sun...well he's just is one cool cat. All of this may seem like an unorthodox critic, but in truth, when a hotel makes you feel at home, you feel as if you're with friends. I stay at plenty of hotels throughout the year....sometimes for business and sometimes for leisure. Whatever your reason for visiting this fine hotel, you'll love it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    103
    49
    13
    15
See reviews for
66
58
16
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, United States
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Like other Sleep Inns, this hotel is clean, fresh and a good value for travelers. The location is in an office park area, very convenient to restaurants at both King Farms and Fallsgrove. Breakfast was fresh( typical Sleep fare) and the attendant kept the area clean and well-stocked. It would be nice if they began serving at 6AM instead of 6:30 for folks who need to get an early start.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from stairs and elevator. Top floor will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located in a nice area. The staff has a positive attitude and a great help. When I checked in the room smelled good, not the weird smell some rooms tend to have. The rate was slightly higher then most Sleep Inn's but it was for good reason. A. Summer time B. Location C. Events going on in the area. Most of the hotels were sold out in the area during this week. Overal no complaints, and will be coming back to this location

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessicabricker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Made reservation thru Expedia.com after checking reviews for hotels on Tripadvisor. This was close to where we wanted to be and offered the least expensive rate. The Sleep Inn is located in a research park. It is three floors with an outside pool. Parking is convenient. They offer two double beds or a single queen bed, no kings. Hotel staff at the desk was courteous, helpful and friendly. Although it was about 6 PM when we arrived, it seemed like there were plenty of rooms available. Every employee was friendly, even the maids would greet you as they passed.The rooms are a bit smaller than many places I stay but size is adequate for one night. There is a TV and a fridge.The toilet and shower (no tub) are separated from the sink area by a sliding door. Clothing storage area is more than adequate.The room was clean, the beds comfortable but the square pillows- which were comfortable if you put three together- take a little getting used to. A free USA today newspaper is available at the desk and they have free breakfast (waffles, hard boiled eggs, cereal, sausage, juice, coffee). The breakfast is not as extensive as some other places I have stayed but there is enough to choose from. The staff had lost the key to one of the storage areas so there were no napkins or spoons available (imagine eating cereal with a plastic fork). The is one combo snack/drink machine on the first floor for the entire hotel and it was out of order. So, I went across the parking lot to the (much more elegant) Crown Plaza for a soda. Guess that's what you get when you choose to save money on a hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrfiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

I go down to this area once a year for a trip with friends. Last year, we decided to try a new hotel (this one), and weren't satisfied at all.

Starting with the positives:
It's very clean
The staff is very helpful & accommodating (when asked for something, they immediately found/sent up what was requested)
Parking want hard to find
It was cheap/night

Negatives:
The room was incredibly tiny - my living room at home is twice as large. The room we stayed in felt like a bed jammed into a closet.
The bed was horribly uncomfortable - neither my husband or myself slept those nights
It was noisy - between the air conditioning unit and the noise from other rooms, we heard a lot of noise all night.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson City, Missouri, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

It's not the Ritz Carlton, but it is a very good value for the area. My room was clean, comfortable and quiet. The hotel staff was very helpful and accommodating, even to the point of transporting me to a business meeting in one of the managers personal vehicle during a torrential downpour!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

One of the previous reviewers is correct in pointing out that the lobby is much more contemporary than the rest of the hotel. The decor of my room was quite dated and different from a lot of newer Sleep Inns. I was also concerned about the presence of smoking rooms; however, the smell never got into my room. What impressed me was the cleanliness of the rooms. The fixtures, despite being older, were all very clean and well-maintained. The bedding was also up to date; it didn't have the bulky comforters that other hotels still use. I also appreciated that the Sleep Inn carried the menu for the restaurant at the Crowne Plaza next door. Overall, I think the Sleep Inn offers quality rooms at a fair price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mountaineer2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rockville hotels
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites
0.9 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Washington DC-Rockville
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Washington D.C. - Rockville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Rockville
2.5 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Rockville
4.7 mi away
EVEN Hotel Rockville
EVEN Hotel Rockville
#6 of 15 in Rockville
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn Shady Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn Shady Grove

Property: Sleep Inn Shady Grove
Address: 2 Research Ct, Rockville, MD 20850-3211
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Montgomery County > Rockville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Rockville
#8 Business Hotel in Rockville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn Shady Grove 2*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sleep Inn Shady Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Shady Grove Hotel Rockville
Shady Grove Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn Rockville
Rockville Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing