We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was a nice relaxing stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn Shady Grove

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sleep Inn Shady Grove
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Rockville
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“It was a nice relaxing stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located in a nice area. The staff has a positive attitude and a great help. When I checked in the room smelled good, not the weird smell some rooms tend to have. The rate was slightly higher then most Sleep Inn's but it was for good reason. A. Summer time B. Location C. Events going on in the area. Most of the hotels were sold out in the area during this week. Overal no complaints, and will be coming back to this location

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jessicabricker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    89
    41
    13
    10
See reviews for
56
49
15
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
211 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Made reservation thru Expedia.com after checking reviews for hotels on Tripadvisor. This was close to where we wanted to be and offered the least expensive rate. The Sleep Inn is located in a research park. It is three floors with an outside pool. Parking is convenient. They offer two double beds or a single queen bed, no kings. Hotel staff at the desk was courteous, helpful and friendly. Although it was about 6 PM when we arrived, it seemed like there were plenty of rooms available. Every employee was friendly, even the maids would greet you as they passed.The rooms are a bit smaller than many places I stay but size is adequate for one night. There is a TV and a fridge.The toilet and shower (no tub) are separated from the sink area by a sliding door. Clothing storage area is more than adequate.The room was clean, the beds comfortable but the square pillows- which were comfortable if you put three together- take a little getting used to. A free USA today newspaper is available at the desk and they have free breakfast (waffles, hard boiled eggs, cereal, sausage, juice, coffee). The breakfast is not as extensive as some other places I have stayed but there is enough to choose from. The staff had lost the key to one of the storage areas so there were no napkins or spoons available (imagine eating cereal with a plastic fork). The is one combo snack/drink machine on the first floor for the entire hotel and it was out of order. So, I went across the parking lot to the (much more elegant) Crown Plaza for a soda. Guess that's what you get when you choose to save money on a hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrfiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

I go down to this area once a year for a trip with friends. Last year, we decided to try a new hotel (this one), and weren't satisfied at all.

Starting with the positives:
It's very clean
The staff is very helpful & accommodating (when asked for something, they immediately found/sent up what was requested)
Parking want hard to find
It was cheap/night

Negatives:
The room was incredibly tiny - my living room at home is twice as large. The room we stayed in felt like a bed jammed into a closet.
The bed was horribly uncomfortable - neither my husband or myself slept those nights
It was noisy - between the air conditioning unit and the noise from other rooms, we heard a lot of noise all night.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson City, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

It's not the Ritz Carlton, but it is a very good value for the area. My room was clean, comfortable and quiet. The hotel staff was very helpful and accommodating, even to the point of transporting me to a business meeting in one of the managers personal vehicle during a torrential downpour!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

One of the previous reviewers is correct in pointing out that the lobby is much more contemporary than the rest of the hotel. The decor of my room was quite dated and different from a lot of newer Sleep Inns. I was also concerned about the presence of smoking rooms; however, the smell never got into my room. What impressed me was the cleanliness of the rooms. The fixtures, despite being older, were all very clean and well-maintained. The bedding was also up to date; it didn't have the bulky comforters that other hotels still use. I also appreciated that the Sleep Inn carried the menu for the restaurant at the Crowne Plaza next door. Overall, I think the Sleep Inn offers quality rooms at a fair price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mountaineer2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
388 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Have stayed here on a number of occasions, and have had very uniform positive experiences. The rooms aren't particularly large or fancy, but how much fancy do you need when you are in town on business and awake in the room for only a couple of hours a day? The hotel is very clean, service personnel are friendly and efficient, and the beds are fine. On a couple of occasions, I have been in a room with a noisy air conditioner, but that is the only negative that I have. Breakfast is pretty much standard for this genre. Overall, in consideration of the price charged, this hotel is very good and I will return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KingofThreePutts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Fear, North Carolina
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Lets just say if the rooms looked as expensive as the lower level entrance then it would be a Holiday Inn Express , but its Not . The bathroom is small and the has only a shower option. Besides the hotel the Rockville Towne Center is amazing

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockville
2.5 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Rockville
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Shady Grove
Comfort Inn Shady Grove
#5 of 15 in Gaithersburg
4.5 of 5 stars 377 reviews
16.3 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Washington DC Convention Center
Cambria hotel & suites Washingto...
#27 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Quality Inn Tysons Corner
Quality Inn Tysons Corner
#11 of 14 in Tysons Corner
3.0 of 5 stars 257 reviews
16.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center
Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Conven...
#58 of 141 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 926 reviews
15.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Metro
Econo Lodge Metro
#28 of 50 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 stars 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn Shady Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn Shady Grove

Property: Sleep Inn Shady Grove
Address: 2 Research Ct, Rockville, MD 20850-3211
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Rockville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Rockville
#4 Family Hotel in Rockville
#9 Business Hotel in Rockville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn Shady Grove 2*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Sleep Inn Shady Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Shady Grove Hotel Rockville
Shady Grove Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn Rockville
Rockville Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing