We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Reasonably Comfortable for this Price Point” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn Shady Grove

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sleep Inn Shady Grove
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Rockville
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
388 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Clean and Reasonably Comfortable for this Price Point”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Have stayed here on a number of occasions, and have had very uniform positive experiences. The rooms aren't particularly large or fancy, but how much fancy do you need when you are in town on business and awake in the room for only a couple of hours a day? The hotel is very clean, service personnel are friendly and efficient, and the beds are fine. On a couple of occasions, I have been in a room with a noisy air conditioner, but that is the only negative that I have. Breakfast is pretty much standard for this genre. Overall, in consideration of the price charged, this hotel is very good and I will return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KingofThreePutts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    87
    41
    13
    10
See reviews for
56
49
15
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Fear, North Carolina
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Lets just say if the rooms looked as expensive as the lower level entrance then it would be a Holiday Inn Express , but its Not . The bathroom is small and the has only a shower option. Besides the hotel the Rockville Towne Center is amazing

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

the room I had was pretty clean. Ok size room with a queen size bed. The decor doesn't strike me nice. Just average. The bed isn't as comfortable as I would like it to be. It feels kind of flat. Not too much room for truck parking. I feel this place would suit others more than myself.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Avery H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Booked this hotel from one of those "discount" sites, because of this I was slightly worried that I might have got stuck with a smoking room. They were quite accommodating and gave me a non smoking room. Location is next to interstate, and close to metro for quick and easy access to Washington. Although the room's decor was outdated I found my room to be very clean. Nice fresh smell, and very clean crisp white linens. We took advantage of the free shuttle to the Metro. Staff was friendly. The continental breakfast was fresh, and exactly what you need to get your day started. This hotel is a good choice if you would like to travel to the dc area on a budget.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
101 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

As an alternative to downtown Washington this is great its is close to the train line direct into the city. And, they have a shuttle to pick you up. You have to be patient though and let them know in advance when you are arriving back at the station. The rooms were adequate clean and quiet. the staff friendly and proficient. all in all a good choice would return there if i was in Washington again

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
150 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

I can't fathom the horrible review given. I just took 42 people, 39 were students, to the Inauguration and we stayed here. My room was clean and I had no problem with the Internet. The hotel staff was friendly and accommodating. The bed was fine..it wasn't home and it wasn't a 4 star hotel. But then, I didn't pay those prices either. If you want a higher quality, go across the street to the Crown Plaza, but you'll pay a lot more.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank islandmarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I was in Sleep Inn, for 14 days, in December and it was an excellent stay with nothing to complain about. Front office staff and other guests very friendly, I had to use their free shuttle to move around and the cab guys are really good people, Spotless room and shower (everything appeared brand new!) and the shower was really dame good. Good Place and Good Sleep for the money you pay. I look forward to going there again in Feb...Rajakumar Duraimurugan, from India.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RajakumarD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockville
2.5 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Rockville
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Shady Grove
Comfort Inn Shady Grove
#4 of 15 in Gaithersburg
4.5 of 5 stars 371 reviews
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
EVEN Hotel Rockville
EVEN Hotel Rockville
#4 of 16 in Rockville
4.5 of 5 stars 259 reviews
16.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center
Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Conven...
#59 of 141 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 917 reviews
16.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#8 of 11 in College Park
3.0 of 5 stars 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn Shady Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn Shady Grove

Property: Sleep Inn Shady Grove
Address: 2 Research Ct, Rockville, MD 20850-3211
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Rockville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Rockville
#9 Business Hotel in Rockville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn Shady Grove 2*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Sleep Inn Shady Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Shady Grove Hotel Rockville
Shady Grove Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn Rockville
Rockville Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing