We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“good value for the area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn Shady Grove

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sleep Inn Shady Grove
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Rockville
Certificate of Excellence
Asheville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
98 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“good value for the area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

As an alternative to downtown Washington this is great its is close to the train line direct into the city. And, they have a shuttle to pick you up. You have to be patient though and let them know in advance when you are arriving back at the station. The rooms were adequate clean and quiet. the staff friendly and proficient. all in all a good choice would return there if i was in Washington again

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    87
    41
    13
    10
See reviews for
56
49
15
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
148 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

I can't fathom the horrible review given. I just took 42 people, 39 were students, to the Inauguration and we stayed here. My room was clean and I had no problem with the Internet. The hotel staff was friendly and accommodating. The bed was fine..it wasn't home and it wasn't a 4 star hotel. But then, I didn't pay those prices either. If you want a higher quality, go across the street to the Crown Plaza, but you'll pay a lot more.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank islandmarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I was in Sleep Inn, for 14 days, in December and it was an excellent stay with nothing to complain about. Front office staff and other guests very friendly, I had to use their free shuttle to move around and the cab guys are really good people, Spotless room and shower (everything appeared brand new!) and the shower was really dame good. Good Place and Good Sleep for the money you pay. I look forward to going there again in Feb...Rajakumar Duraimurugan, from India.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RajakumarD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I checked in late at night and was given a smoking room without being asked after booking the room on Travelocity. Not only did the room have a gut-wrenching nausea-inducing stale cigarette odor, the hallway wasn't any better. I was "lucky" it turned out, they still had a non-smoking room. It was much better but not completely free of the smell. The room was ugly and outdated as sin. Everything was worn looking with that horrible "you can never really get it clean after it's been in a hotel for two decades" patina. The horrible feeling blanket was gross, I had to be careful not to make physical contact with it. I don't know when I last slept in a place where I felt uncomfortable touching things. I am not a germaphobe or primadonna.

This was the worst hotel room I've had in the last decade, in tight competition with a room in an undeveloped town in Cambodia I had recently. Perhaps the worst part is that it wasn't even that cheap. I think it was sixty or seventy dollars. I think you would get a better room in any Motel 6. Unfortunately the room was unrefundable as I had booked it as a mystery deal, the only time I've been disappointed with that program, besides it was after midnight.

Do yourself a favor, go anywhere else in Rockville.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nikolai L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesboro, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed on a Sunday night, Sept 30, price AAA was 89 plus taxes. Room was recently redone, was very clean. No tub just a walk in shower. Frige plus the regular amentities. The heat and air conditioning worked fine with no odor. We did not use the WiFi. We were there for a funeral so I didn't pay attention to the exercise room, pool or the laundry. The breakfast had eggs, sausage,waffles and the regular foods featured on an expanded continential breakfast. Everything was clean and the attendant kept everything filled . Staff was pleasant and the hotel is in a quiet area.. Check your linens as the maid had forgotten our washcloths and we discovered this too late. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeaPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

This hotel does not try to be fancy. But the rooms are well appointed, clean, with microwave and refrig.
The breakfast is also not so fancy, but nice array of cold and hot foods. I did not use the shuttle, but all the hotels in this area provide one to the Metro. Having the proximity of the restaurant and bar is very conveinent, and esp the room service from the restaurant as well.
I will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanjps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, New York, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We had a perfectly excellent trip with nothing to complain about. Pool was open til 10 PM when we got back from DC for our 8 year old, people were getting bar drinks at Crown Plaza and bringing them over to pool if you like, staff and other guests very friendly, free shuttle to metro station saved money, Spotless room and shower (everything appeared brand new!) We stayed on top floor, quiet, maid service was excellent, Breakfast filled us till Dinner, beds were firm and so comfortable, only paid for subway and hotel (breakfasts were free, newspapers were free, coffee was free, shuttle free, free ice for cooler, museums/zoo free in DC too!...) Had computer-slow but good to check mail or do a quick search for restaurants...) Hotel shared shuttle and pool with Crown Plaza next door and room service was Crown Plaza too. Desk staff were very nice. AC was ice cold. We loved staying here to tour DC and see our neighborhoods growing up.... Almost stayed in Bethesda but so glad we chose Shady Grove/Rockville... Less traffic and craziness after running around DC all day... Hotel is in a business park area and so quiet and peacefully situated and nicely landscaped... Very restful and relaxing upon coming back each day... Do this hotel... AARP gives a discount, we just joined and saved the $16 it cost us to join with this hotel... Don't look elsewhere, pick this one for sure!!

Room Tip: third floor room maybe 322 close to elevator and across from laundry room. Directly down on 2nd floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R0nna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockville
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites
4.7 mi away
EVEN Hotel Rockville
EVEN Hotel Rockville
#4 of 16 in Rockville
4.5 of 5 stars 247 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Rockville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Washington D.C. - Rockville
0.9 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Washington DC-Rockville
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rockville - Gaithersburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn Shady Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn Shady Grove

Property: Sleep Inn Shady Grove
Address: 2 Research Ct, Rockville, MD 20850-3212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Rockville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Rockville
#9 Business Hotel in Rockville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn Shady Grove 2*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia and Choice Hotels so you can book your Sleep Inn Shady Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Shady Grove Hotel Rockville
Shady Grove Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn Rockville
Rockville Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing