We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof PLUS+ Washington DC-Rockville
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Rockville
Reviewed June 24, 2006

A simple hotel that is located within 2-3 minutes of the Metro Station depending on traffic at the time. It is a very busy area, but the hotel sits back from the road, so noise is not a problem. The hotel was a good value for the price.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pat74miller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (257)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 258 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Rockaway, NJ
12
Reviewed May 1, 2006

My husband and I spent two nights in the Red Roof. It is what economy lodging should be. There were no extras--no iron, no hair drier, no coffee pot, no cute little bottles of toiletries. But everything was neat and clean. The bed was comfortable, the shower hot. The people at the desk were pleasant and efficient. The location is in a commercial area and there is some road noise during the morning rush. But accommodations near Washington are very expensive. This motel is only a short drive from the Shady Grove metro stop. If you need a safe, simple place to sleep and you are on a budget, this is a sensible choice.

Stayed: May 2006
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2006

The price was good, but in retrospect we should probably have paid more for a nicer place. There were several people "hanging out" around their room doors when we arrived, which initially put us off, but we took all valuables with us when leaving for the day. Our room offered the bare minimum--no hairdryer, no iron, no coffeemaker, small rough towels, and the room certainly could have been cleaner--the tiny table was sticky in one spot, and we found trash on the carpet in the corners. The ice machine was not working one night--twice we called the front desk to inquire, and twice were assured we would receive a callback, but no one ever returned our call to update us. There is a nice shopping center about a mile or so away, with lots of inexpensive places to eat, and a Safeway market. Overall we did not feel very comfortable here, but it was adequate for the price. I don't think we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2006

Good place for a short-term Montgomery County visit.
Request newer (upper level)section.. much nicer than older part. Staff friendly and helpful. Close to 270 and convenient to most county attractions. Clean and fairly spacious rooms.

  • Stayed: March 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fcburd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2005

I was pleasantly surprised during my stay, especially for the price. I was in Rockville for training and I paid only half what others who were also staying in the area were paying. Plus, when I got there, the price per night had decreased since the time that I booked the room. They informed me of this and gave me the lower price automatically. Yes, the doors to the rooms are on the outside. I wasn't fond of this idea initially. However, the hotel was so clean and the staff was so friendly that this little inconvenience was quickly forgotten. It has its own private drive and is surrounded by trees. This helps to make it more attractive than it would otherwise probably be. But this place has been taken care of. For an older place, it has held together well. The lobby was clean and nice as well. The rooms were on the small side, but what do you expect? There is no breakfast served, but you can get coffee. There is a shuttle to the subway station (Shady Grove) that leaves at 7, 8, and 9 a.m. every Mon-Thu morning. Even though it wasn't scheduled, the driver took people on Fri as well. (Weekends are out, though.) Cab fare from the hotel to the metro station was $8.40 for two people. We walked to the metro most of the time. This took 30 minutes, but the walk was well-lit and safe. We had no problems. The staff was very attentive to our needs and refused tips when offered. There is a Burger King and some other restaurants across the street. I went to Pho Nam and, whereas the soup was good, it was a cash only place and you can't get a receipt. Anyway, I enjoyed my stay and I would definitely stay there again!

1  Thank MOchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed yesterday via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled on business
Thank Marito Rivera G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2015, traveled with family
    • Service
Thank 227massimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William D, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington DC-Rockville, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockville
0.9 mi away
Sleep Inn Shady Grove
Sleep Inn Shady Grove
#11 of 14 in Rockville
267 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites
0.9 mi away
Radisson Hotel Washington D.C. - Rockville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Shady Grove
Comfort Inn Shady Grove
#4 of 15 in Gaithersburg
435 reviews
5.1 mi away
EVEN Hotel Rockville
EVEN Hotel Rockville
#6 of 14 in Rockville
334 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Rockville Hotel
Sheraton Rockville Hotel
#7 of 14 in Rockville
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof PLUS+ Washington DC-Rockville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ Washington DC-Rockville

Address: 16001 Shady Grove Rd, Rockville, MD 20850-4010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Montgomery County > Rockville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Rockville
Price Range: $82 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof PLUS+ Washington DC-Rockville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Red Roof Inn, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ Washington DC-Rockville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Hotel Rockville
Red Roof Inn Rockville
Rockville Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing