We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice Hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Roof PLUS+ Washington DC-Rockville

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Roof PLUS+ Washington DC-Rockville
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Rockville
South Bend, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed here for a week over Spring Break and it was fine to go back just to sleep at night. We thought the rooms were very small, although they are decorated nicely and were clean. Our big issue was the fact they only leave two towels in the room everyday (there were 4 of us staying there) and only restocked items like tissues and soap once in the entire week we were there. My husband would have to go to the front office every night and get more towels. He even asked if they could leave 4 towels and was told it's their policy to only leave 2 but would try to make a note with our request (obviously it didn't work). The only other problem we had is since it's a pet friendly hotel, we had a large dog staying in the room next door to us that was barking almost non-stop. I will say that once I called the front desk to complain about it though, we never heard it again. Overall, not that bad of a hotel for the price we paid just outside of DC over spring break.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rescue3a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRoofInnRockville, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington DC-Rockville, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you taking time to write a review-your comments help us to improve our service. We are retraining our team members on the importance of being proactive. Example, ask at checkin " how many people" , leave a note for housekeeping daily-we clearly did not make that happen for you. Thanks for being patient with our team-hope you will give us another opportunity to make it right!

Thank you,
Shirley Jordan/ Claudia Lazo G.M's
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    59
    41
    32
    22
See reviews for
43
41
48
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Ledge, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed in two different locations on this trip. Nice to see that both Red Roofs have spent some money on redecorating & cleaning. The Rockville location was really in need of the re-do. Also, Kellie at that inn, was her usual great help. She really does a good job of meeting & greeting. She goes out of her way to provide great customer service. Thanks again, & we will be back. This was not any of your options below, but Business is close.

Room Tip: No pool, no restaurant, no correct option to select.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janiecega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRoofInnRockville, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington DC-Rockville, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Kellie is an asset to our team, and we really do appreciate all that she does-great to hear that you like the new rooms, we are proud of the new product and are willing to do our best to keep it appealing to our awesome guest. Thanks for choosing us, and we know we will see you soon!


Shirley Jordan/ Claudia Lazo G.M's
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kutztown
Level Contributor
62 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

I can't get over how friendly and helpful the front desk staff was. Thanks to all of you. The room was clean, and the bed was comfortable. My complaints are minor. There are other motels in the same area in which I have stayed that you can book for around the same price. Those motels provide a decent breakfast (one has their own restaurant buffet) and better shuttle service. I understand that Red Roofs do not normally provide breakfast; however, I think that for the money one pays the shuttle service could be improved. There is a bus (No. 43) that you can take from near the motel to the Shady Grove Metro when the shuttle is not running. Parking is scarce at the Metro station.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lindun104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRoofInnRockville, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington DC-Rockville, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
It's always good to hear that our team has hit the mark with providing awesome customer service. We are working on improvements with our shuttle service-your feedback has given us a clear direction..".We need to be more flexible with the hours of operation". Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Shirley Jordan/Claudia Lazo G.M's
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livnim
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

The room was clean and comfortable, the staff polite and helpful, all of the rooms are entered from the outside, which I think is less secure than a main entrance, but I had no trouble. I wouldn't have any problem recommending red roof in to family and friends. I also stayed in a red roof near BWI airport and had a similar experience .

Room Tip: Get the room with coffee maker, fridge, and microwave
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRoofInnRockville, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington DC-Rockville, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
It's always good to hear that our team has hit the mark with providing awesome customer service. We are working on improvements with our shuttle service-your feedback has given us a clear direction..".We need to be more flexible with the hours of operation". Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Shirley Jordan/Claudia Lazo G.M's
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

This motel was scary looking from the outside, but the room was newly remodeled (apparently) and very clean. The only complaint was that our room was equipped with two towels...for four people. If I was going to be in the area again, I would most likely return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsmarkfb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRoofInnRockville, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington DC-Rockville, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thanks for your feedback-a positive consistent experience is always good! knowing you would recommend us to your family and friends really does mean a lot to us. Hope to see you very soon.


Shirley Jordan/Claudia Lazo G.M's
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

We had a room in the very back which was nice because there are lots of trees. The location is near a Melting Pot and a Chinese place which we made use of. The furniture was new, the linens were clean, however, the room itself was not very clean. It appears that housekeeping vacuums and changes the linens, and that's about it. I had to clean the toilet to my satisfaction, and wipe down other surfaces that clearly needed it. The coffee pot is barely that, it has single pods for brewing which have no flavor. The internet is not high speed as far as I could tell but was sufficient. Not much in the way of cable channels but we didn't spend a lot of time in the room. The pillows were hard as rocks, and the staff gladly brought me two others but the first night with them was uncomfortable. I had to walk past two ice machines to find one that worked. Two important things for me when choosing a hotel are cleanliness and comfort, unfortunately they need improvement in those two areas. With the upgrades that were recently made, it could have been a nice choice for the money if the toilet was clean and the pillows were better. On a positive note, I will say, no bugs and I liked having a microwave and refrigerator! If the rooms were spotless, I would have given this a 3.5.

Room Tip: you must get the best room they offer, and the back of the hotel is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRoofInnRockville, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington DC-Rockville, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
thank you for your feedback-room cleanliness is very important to us. We are very sorry we failed to meet your expectations. We have scheduled a clean team meeting /training to assure this does not continue. Again, your comments help us with our goal of 100% guest satisfaction. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights.
Overall, the room (two beds) was good!
Clean (!) bathroom, soft beds, floor half carpeted half hard wood floor, a little bit noisy a/c but you get used to that, spacious room, iron/hairdryer on request, TV if you at all need it, pretty quiet environment.
If you don't use the safe in the room - please specify this upon check-out! Otherwise they automatically charge everyone ;)
if you go out for breakfast or for a coffee or anything else...don't expect many options around (only Burger King...Chicken-something and alike). Though, bus 43 will take you to Starbucks or Panera - 10 min ride, the bus stop is right across the road :)

The staff is extremely helpful! Every time we would go to the reception with any question, there was a guy named Patricio! He was multi-tasking and yet going out of his way to help us with everything, always smiling and giving everyone full attention. Thank you so much for having him on-board :) He made our stay as smooth as possible and still took his time and helped us A LOT even after we checked out!

We would definitely stay there again and recommend it to others!
And would also recommend Patricio being promoted ;)

Room Tip: We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. Overall, the room (two beds) was good! Clean (!) bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anastasia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRoofInnRockville, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington DC-Rockville, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
I have shared your comments with my team-too hear that Patricio went above and beyond, giving you the service you deserve (makes me proud). Thanks for sharing your experience.

Shirley Jordan G.M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockville
0.9 mi away
Sleep Inn Shady Grove
Sleep Inn Shady Grove
#8 of 16 in Rockville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Shady Grove
Comfort Inn Shady Grove
#4 of 15 in Gaithersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Rockville
0.9 mi away
Radisson Hotel Washington D.C. - Rockville
1.0 mi away
Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Rockville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof PLUS+ Washington DC-Rockville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ Washington DC-Rockville

Property: Red Roof PLUS+ Washington DC-Rockville
Address: 16001 Shady Grove Rd, Rockville, MD 20850-4010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Rockville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Rockville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof PLUS+ Washington DC-Rockville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Red Roof Inn, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ Washington DC-Rockville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Hotel Rockville
Red Roof Inn Rockville
Rockville Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing