We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Lovely ice cream as summer starts” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carmen's Italian Ice

Carmen's Italian Ice
Ranked #2 of 9 Dessert in Rockville
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely ice cream as summer starts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

We went on Jayden day (Monday) for their discounted ice cream and had the custard pie cup. There was a line when we got there which we waited in for about 15 minutes but since it was a pleasant night, it was fine. The pie part was just stewed apples so maybe they ran out of the pastry but the custard was great. My brother in law's blondie bar was wonderful. Word of advice, salted caramel ice cream goes great with warm pie. I think I am just going to stick with this one combination from now on but then I like pie and baked goods. I saw most people walking out with the gelato and custard combinations.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dash4m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    4
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rockville
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Real deal homestyle ice cream cafe off the beaten path in Rockville.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Great place for ice cream & related cold frozen stuff. An honest-to-goodness local institution in the north end of Rockville. The staff welcomes everybody as a friend and neighbor, even if you are walking in for the first time. Owner Jason & his associates set the gold standard as staunch Rockville community supporters. Their mobile truck selling ice cream is a welcome fixture at city events and kids sporting events, they are the first to pitch in at fund raisers and charity events, and everybody in town knows about them. My only ding is their expresso-style coffee isn't great. That's too bad...their location on Nelson St. is just down the road from Exit 6 to I-270, and I wish I could get a better Latte there when headed out in the morning. The few tables of outdoor seating make a great place to read the paper and have a coffee on nice days...would be better if the coffee was better.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RVille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Neighborhood charm and a Rockville Landmark”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

This is THE PLACE to go for dessert in Rockville! The homemade ices are wonderful, and the frozen custard with their unlimited topping bar is always a hit with the kids. Jason and company have built a business that is so much a part of our city that you can't really have a Rockville event without Carmen's!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Phroggue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Carmen's is a family favorite & fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

We love Carmen's and have been going there for years! Their custard flavors are delicious and they have wonderful ices. The people who work at Carmen's are always the nicest too. When someone talks about going for ice cream, we always choose Carmen's.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank S1772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, MD
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great flavors and Great Neighbors”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

We love this place.
Great ice flavors -- we love the strawberry lemon ice and the mango, but taste them all. They're great! swirl your ice with custard (a gelati) for a smooth summer treat.

As if good ice isn't enough, the folks at Carments are great community supporters. They support local sports teams and community building events. The 8th of every month is Jaden day -- come and get discount ices.
In the nice weather, families come with their dogs and Carmens puts out water bowls for the dogs at the outdoor seating areas.
Don't miss some of the best ice and the best people around!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gsd12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carmen's Italian Ice also viewed

 

Been to Carmen's Italian Ice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing