We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thai done a little differently” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amina Thai

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Amina Thai
Reserve with OpenTable
Amina Thai is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #66 of 406 Restaurants in Rockville
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Rockville, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Thai done a little differently”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The food here is prepared Halal. So there is a little different take on some of the dishes you may be used to ordering. Things were mostly fresh with no surprises. Good overall meal.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    19
    7
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
146 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“YUM!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

I went to Amina Thai for lunch today - A colleague had suggested the Kai Gua. When I got there and did not see it on the menu, they were able to accommodate my wish for it (it is a Chef's Special and apparently usually a dinner dish). It was really wonderful - just the right amount of flavor and a generous portion. The lunch specials, which I will return to try, include a drink and spring roll for $9.95 (in the DC area this is a pretty good deal). The owners are also the ones who wait on you and are really nice. I will definitely return and will recommend it to others.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jonekn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Service, Yummy Food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

I have been coming to Amina's for years now and she never disappoints! I love the Pad Thai Jae and the Fried Rice. The big selling point for me is the welcoming environment though; every time I walk in Amina remembers me and Amina Thai feels like home. The food comes out quickly and is fantastic! It also is great for vegetarians and vegans. Just mention that you are veg and Amina will make sure that it fits your diet!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Delicious halal Thai food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

The food here is great. It is very tasty and at a good price. They are pretty quick to get the food out too. The food is halal too. The only Thai place I know of in this area that has halal food and taste excellent. Highly recommend the food over here.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank foodrunner29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

The food was not bad, but overly salty. Unlike many Thai restaurants, the price is much higher at dinner than lunch. Lunch prices are comparable to other Thai restaurants in the area, but the dinner prices are distinctly higher. There are several Thai restaurants in Wheaton where you can get better food at lower dinner prices.

The owner is very welcoming, and the restaurant has a nice, clean look. It is on the small side.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amina Thai also viewed

 

Been to Amina Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing