We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Breakfast buffet was more than I expected.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Rockville
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
67 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Breakfast buffet was more than I expected.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2010

The hotel was almost directly off the highway making it easy to determine we had arrived. Check-in was easy and painless. The beds were comfortable and the room was clean. The breakfast buffets were excellent. There were many selections available and the food was reasonably hot in temperature for a buffet. The meat alternated between bacon and sausage and there was either pancakes or french toast. Cold cereal and fruit were also available. Muffins and breads could be had if desired. The juice selection was limited but adequate.

The shuttle service to the metro was reasonable. On returning one evening, the shuttle was full so a second trip was required. On another evening, we called to request a shuttle as the metro had arrived after the top of the hour pick-up. We were not waiting too long after the call was made.

We asked for a restaurant recommendation for seafood. The typical franchises were mentioned and then the front desk staff remembered another place. They gave us a card for a free appetizer. The restaurant was outstanding and well worth the trip and expense.

Other than being about a 45 min metro ride from DC, it was a good place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ghtester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HNegash, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 23, 2010
Dear -: Guest

Let me start by thanking you for completing TripAdvisor comment regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your feedback is very much appreciated and I can assure you that my staff and I use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again.

If we can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us at (301) 424-4940.

Again, thanks for taking the time and have a great day!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    267
    137
    51
    48
See reviews for
305
180
62
208
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
167 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2010

I've stayed at quite a few hotels in the area when visiting family, and this is my favorite spot. It's nothing fancy, but it's fairly priced, well located, and clean.

I had one minor issue when staying here, basically I had to wait about 15 minutes for someone to show up to the front desk for check in. But other than that, my stay was problem free.

Pros - Comfortable rooms, clean premises, fast free internet, good pricing for the area, plenty of parking, good location.

Cons - Staff is hard to get a hold of when you need them.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank purewaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexinrockville, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 27, 2010
Thank you so much for the Kudos about our property, we always appreciate the feedback regardless of the situation.

Constructive feedback allows us to reward our best employees and it allows us to take immediate measures to meet our challenges.

Not very often, but now and then, both front desk employees may have to attend to a guest's immediate needs. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused after a long day of travel.

You expect and deserve the best and we promise to be ready next time you come to visit and stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS® Rockville Hotel & Suites.

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay. Alex.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Durham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2010

Stayed here for 5 nights earlier this month and couldn't fault it. Room was lovely, staff were very helpful especially Greg on front desk, and breakfast very tasty. We took the courtesy bus to the Metro when we went to Washington and was told to ring on our return for pickup which we did and driver was there within minutes. Our only dissappointment was the pool closing the day after Labor day which was the second day of our stay. The temperature was 90+ and it would have been nice to have had a swim but I guess this was end of season there. We were sad to leave but would recommend this hotel as a good base for exploring Washington and all of the other great places in the area.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MozzCoDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexinrockville, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 27, 2010
Thank you so much for the Kudos about our property, we always appreciate the positive feedback from our guest.

Our guests expect and deserve the best and that is our promise to each guest, to be ready and willing to above and beyond.

On your next visit, stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS® Rockville Hotel & Suites, you'll be glad you did!

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay. Alex.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2010

We stayed here 2 times, once in 2008 and 2009,it was pretty good,
rooms where clean, friendly! Breakfast was good!
Pets allowed! Price was a little to high!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiff2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2010

Our family of 5 were held up in traffic getting to the hotel so called ahead to make sure our reservations were being held and were assured our room was prepared and available on the 3rd floor. We arrived at the hotel at 10.30 pm after a 6 hour drive, very tired and just wanted to get to bed. Checked in and were given a room key for the 4th floor. We attempted to swipe the key card but it would not give us the green light to enter - with good reason. The room was occupied! After repeated attempts to enter, the occupant finally yelled that the room was occupied. We went back, all of us, including my little son who was exhausted, to the lobby. They allotted a room on the 5th floor. Entered the room, unpacked and turned on the shower, found the towels were used and wet. Called the lobby for fresh towels and sent my teenage son to bring them up. Then found that the tub did not drain. Called the front desk who asked us to come downstairs. Once again, we had to pack up and weary as were, trudged down to the lobby and were allotted a King bed suite, which we were assured had been inspected and was ready. Not so - the pull out couch did not have bedding, pillows or comforters. Another call to the front desk brought these items to us. We were too tired to complain any more, though the bathroom ceiling was moldy - we took a picture of this - and the carpet seemed worn. The king bed was comfortable, the pull out not very. The only plus was the breakfast the next morning which was plenty and delicious.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cantraveller2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexinrockville, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 30, 2010
First, allow us to apologize for your inconveniences due to our ineffective handling of your particular situation upon arrival.

Yes, we failed (in this particular situation) to live up to our standards and your expectations of our hotel operation. I can personally attest to similar experiences, at some of the very best hotels across the country. I'm in the business and I understand but that is not the issue; we dropped the ball somewhere.

On the other hand, thank you for your vote of confidence and choosing our hotel for your stay; we are ranked number one on a consistent basis for a reason.

We would like to have another opportunity to serve you on your next visit and prove that we listen and go above and beyond to please our guests to ensure their satisfaction and secure their loyalty to our hotel in Rockville Maryland.

We did follow up on these issues and found no mold on the ceiling. However, the "worn rug" is a slight traffic pattern where the foam was ever so slightly more compressed than the rest.

In closing, please feel free to contact me or the General Manager Mr. Hailermariam Negash and mention this comment on your next stay and we will make sure all is in place for you and your family.

Thank you for your feedback and we remain,

At your service, Alex.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2010

Great place to stay while sightseeing in DC. They have a shuttle that will take you to/pick up from the Metro. Breakfast was fantastic! Beds and comforters were great. Only downside was bathroom needed a little work. But nothing to get uptight about.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptAllie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexinrockville, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 25, 2010
Thank you for your vote of confidence and choosing our hotel for your stay; we are ranked number one on a consistent basis for a reason.

We followed up on the bathroom item and did find a problem with the caulking and have taken the necessary steps to a presentable level.

Your comment has been helpful and we appreciate the feedback as we continually improve our offerings. We look forward to serving you and your family on your next visit to Rockville Maryland so let us know ahead of time for an extra touch to your room.

Thank you for your continued patronage and we remain,

At your service, Alex.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2010

The hotel is right off the freeway and very convenient. Rooms are clean.

The restaurant is closed for lunch and dinner, but there are great places close by that can be reached by shuttle or driven to.

My only beef was the shuttle to the Metro. It only runs every hour. After a day sightseeing we found ourselves in the station with 16 other guests waiting for the shuttle. After a half hour wait, the shuttle shows up and 10 people get in, leaving the rest of us to wait for the shuttle to make a second run. We gave up and took a $10 cab ride bak to the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank idm60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexinrockville, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 19, 2010
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay.

We apologize for any inconveniences you may have experienced and appreciate your understanding of unique situations, especially when it comes to transportation. At times especially in the peak summer months where traffic and weather conditions can make traffic difficult. We try to run extra shuttles and will even make additional trips beyond our normal hourly runs to accommodate our loyal guests.

We understand that at times guests will give up their turn in line for the shuttle as well and also understand that at times one can simply not wait.

This is our commitment to our guests - complete satisfaction.

We appreciate the opportunity to serve you again on your next visit as we continually take each guest's communication seriously to improve our services.

Please feel free to contact us or mention this comment on your next stay and we will provide a complimentary upgrade.

Thank you for your feedback and we remain faithfully,

At your service, Alex.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rockville hotels
1.4 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Rockville
3.5 mi away
EVEN Hotel Rockville
EVEN Hotel Rockville
#4 of 16 in Rockville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Rockville Hotel
Sheraton Rockville Hotel
#9 of 16 in Rockville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Washington D.C. - Rockville
1.1 mi away
Homewood Suites Rockville - Gaithersburg
1.3 mi away
Sleep Inn Shady Grove
Sleep Inn Shady Grove
#8 of 16 in Rockville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites
Address: 1251 W Montgomery Ave, Route 28, Rockville, MD 20850-3133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Rockville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Rockville
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rockville
#7 Business Hotel in Rockville
#7 Family Hotel in Rockville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When visiting the greater Washington DC area, stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Rockville Hotel & Suites. With 164 non-smoking guest rooms and suites, FREE parking, FREE breakfast and FREE Wi-Fi, you'll be hard pressed to find a better deal. Our prime location is convenient for work and play in Rockville Maryland and is just 12 miles north of the greater Washington DC area and directly off I-270 also known as Maryland's Technology Corridor. Our hotel is near historical sites, lovely parks, major corporations, government agencies and family attractions. Family, business, kid and pet friendly accommodations to suit your needs for a comfortable and relaxing stay... Traveling with an RV - no worries - bring it and park for the night or the weekend, there is plenty of space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Rockville Hotel Rockville
Best Western Plus Rockville Hotel And Suites
Best Western Rockville Hotel
Rockville Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing