We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Rockville
GreenLeadersSilver level
England
Level Contributor
93 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed August 13, 2006

Used this hotel as a base to visit DC. Used free shuttle to Rockville Metro there and back - ideal for leaving car at hotel.

Rockville Metro was great but took us (non US citizens) 10 minutes to work out how to buy tickets as there was nobody to help us.

Rockville felt a very safe area to stay and go out at night in.

For the price paid the room was adequate in size for 2 adults and 2 children and kept clean.

Pool had lifeguard on duty each day we used the pool however the pool floor was a little rough on childrens' feet.

  • Liked — Convenient for Washington DC
  • Disliked — Business centre computers did not work and no in room safe
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Margaret2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    286
    151
    54
    51
See reviews for
329
191
64
223
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
livonia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2006

Our family wanted a hotel with a pool, so when we returned from a day of sightseeing we could relax by the pool then go to bed. Well, the pool is only open 12 p.m. to 8 p.m. If you want to utilize the pool find a different hotel. The shuttle the hotel offers has very limited hours also!!! The housekeeping staff was very limited on the towels and no washclothes were to be given out---ever!!!

  • Disliked — the limited time frame of the pool and the shuttle
  • Tips/Secrets — if you want to swim in the pool, find a different hotel
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clydescrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, GA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2006

I realize the above reviews about the Washington Gateway Hotel are very favorable. I agree that the frunishings in our room were comfortable and that there was ample parking. I have no quibbles with the clenliness of the room or the amenities provided. My main complaint has to do with the air conditioning or the lack thereof.

Despite its other attributes, the central air conditioning system in the hotel failed two out of the three nights we were there. The first room we were assigned had zero a/c; the unit for the room would not even turn on. The second room to which we were sent was hot as blue blazes because the a/c in that room also had not functioned for many hours.. The maintenance man finally got to our room and made some adjustments, but the capacity of the cooling system is so low that after 3 hours our room was barely tolerable. In saying this, I must add that I keep my own house about 78 degrees during the day and turn it down to 76 at night. Our room remained warmer than my own house the whole time I was there..

The last night we were there, a thunderstorm caused a minor interruption in the power flow. The surge knocked the a/c out in most, if not all, of the hotel. We had electrical power in the hotel and the a/c in the restaurant was working, but the a/c in the hotel rooms was out. About 11 pm, the engineer, as he was called, finally got service restored and cool air began again to flow. As before, the capacity was insufficient to cool the room very much before dawn despite the fact that the outside temperature was below 70 degrees. (There was no way to open the windows more than an inch or two.)

I was not satisfied that the front desk staff was really on top of the situation. We were initially told that the maintenance man had gone home and that we would be moved to a room where the a/c worked. Such a move was not possible because the hotel was full. There were several high school groups staying in the hotel and I think the troops were at the point of mutiny before the front desk staff responded and faced the reality of the situation.

Given the faliure of the a/c on a general basis, I can see why one woman, who was obviously in near distress from the heat, jumped in the swimming pool, clothes and all.
I was not an act of frivolity but one of necessity. I talked with her later and she simply said she was on the verge of heat related trouble and, having no bathing suit, she was limited in her options.

I am sure the hotel would be fine in January or Feburary, but for us in early June with the outside temperature in the 90 degree range, it was an uncomfortable experience.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ulpian88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2006

Stayed at Bestwestern Washington Gateway for three nights. The staff is very friendly, and I took their free shuttle to the nearby Metro Rockville station. For the first two nights, I stayed in a executive room with a king-size bed. I was very impressed by the size of the room, it got a separate living room with TV, sofa, microwave, and even a mini-bar. For the third night, we stayed in a standard room with two double beds, so it is understandably much smaller. So if someone plans to stay there, it might be worth the extra 10-20 bucks to upgrade to an executive room.

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yihan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 5, 2006

This hotel is great! The staff is one of the best that I have seen in my many years of travel! The rooms are spacious. They offer free high speed in the rooms and wireless in the lobby which was great for my purpose. I had stayed here previously and they have replaced the hallway carpet which really gives them an upscale look. I definately recommend this hotel. Love their staff..

Stayed January 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 22, 2005

Great Staff and quality product

Stayed December 2005
Helpful?
1 Thank HolidayLancaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 10, 2005

I stayed at this hotel at the beginning of December and found it to be a very pleasant experience. As the previous reviewer mentioned, they are doing some renovations, but this was a minor inconvenience. The front desk was friendly and helpful, the room was very comfortable, the lobby was very impressive, and the location was more than adequate (very close to I-270). I would definitely stay here again (actually tried to book for this week, but they were full for one of the nights I needed). Don't hesitate to book here...you won't regret it one bit!

  • Stayed December 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rockville hotels
1.4 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Rockville
3.5 mi away
EVEN Hotel Rockville
EVEN Hotel Rockville
#6 of 15 in Rockville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
1.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Washington D.C. - Rockville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Homewood Suites Rockville - Gaithersburg
1.3 mi away
Sleep Inn Shady Grove
Sleep Inn Shady Grove
#11 of 15 in Rockville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rockville - Gaithersburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites
Address: 1251 W Montgomery Ave, Route 28, Rockville, MD 20850
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Montgomery County > Rockville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Rockville
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rockville
#6 Business Hotel in Rockville
#6 Family Hotel in Rockville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When visiting the greater Washington DC area, stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Rockville Hotel & Suites. With 164 non-smoking guest rooms and suites, FREE parking, FREE breakfast and FREE Wi-Fi, you'll be hard pressed to find a better deal. Our prime location is convenient for work and play in Rockville Maryland and is just 12 miles north of the greater Washington DC area and directly off I-270 also known as Maryland's Technology Corridor. Our hotel is near historical sites, lovely parks, major corporations, government agencies and family attractions. Family, business, kid and pet friendly accommodations to suit your needs for a comfortable and relaxing stay... Traveling with an RV - no worries - bring it and park for the night or the weekend, there is plenty of space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Rockville Hotel Rockville
Best Western Plus Rockville Hotel And Suites
Best Western Rockville Hotel
Rockville Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing