We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“I didn't believe it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Rockville
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“I didn't believe it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

When I read the raves about the free breakfast, I have to admit, I didn't believe it! But it was true and MORE! Real china, real coffee cups, real glasses for juice, real silverware and more. Fresh Scrambled eggs, not powdered, real bacon and sausage, delicious home fries, Danish, bagels, waffles, cereal, 4 kinds of juices,
Got to see it to believe it! Plus the hotel was great....only 10 minute drive for us to Bethesda. A+++++++

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gegegoodlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWHotels, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thanks for your kind words… even if you were rather skeptical at first… haha. We really have become well known for our bountiful breakfast. It these challenging times, many hotels have cut back on their amenities… we have taken a different approach. We feel now is the time when travelers are really shopping for value. We are proud our hotel, the services we provide, our team and not to mention our more than fair pricing. I hope you were able to take advantage of our free shuttle to the metro. It’s less than 2 miles from the hotel… and the metro goes right into downtown Bethesda.

We hope to see you again here at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Rockville Hotel & Suites. Please share your experience with your friends and family. If you are on Facebook, please like us at /BestWesternPlusRockville.

Ron Wallach
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    255
    136
    50
    45
See reviews for
297
170
60
200
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We have been using this hotel for many years now and have utilized many of their facilities from parties to conferences to overnight stays, in our dealings with them we have seen polite courteous staff, rooms with the comfort of home and management that has been very easy to work with. I have yet to have any of my personnel come back to me with any issues. Also the FREE breakfast is always a plus. I know when I travel I look to Best Western first for just that reason, and that they are pet friendly. There are many reasons why I am pleased with their services, but I encourage you to stay and find yours.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joshua b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWHotels, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words. We never get tired of hearing great feedback. While I’m always pleased to hear great feedback about the service and value that we provide to our guests … it always humbles me when we get such great feedback from our proud men and women in uniform that give so much of themselves for our country. To that I say, thank YOU for all YOUR service. We are glad we can play even a small part in the important roll you play.

We hope to see you again here at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Rockville Hotel & Suites. Please share your experience with your friends and family. If you are on Facebook, please like us at /BestWesternPlusRockville.

Ron Wallach
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdale, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

The Best Western Plus Rockville is competitive with other local hotels on amenities, but very competitively priced. The free breakfast buffet is very good, and rare for the DC metro area. The hotel was clean and well maintained, and the staff is helpful. I have stayed there multiple times and it would always be my first choice for any business trip to Rockville.

Room Tip: Suggest an upper floor for quietness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ando19446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWHotels, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you so much for taking time to share your positive experience with us. Hearing you have stayed with us before is the highest praise a hotel can be given – it speaks volumes. You are right about the DC area hotels limiting their breakfasts. We have become famous for our free full American breakfast buffet. I will share your comments about our team with our group. We are lucky to have a great team of people here – you can’t training someone to care about guest… someone either does or they don’t … and our team does.

We look forward to seeing yon on your next trip here at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Rockville Hotel & Suites. Please share your experience with your friends and family. If you are on Facebook, please like us at /BestWesternPlusRockville.

Ron Wallach
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Ohio
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel recently and it was very nice. The people at the front
desk were excellent and very helpful. The shuttle to the metro station was great. We did not have to drive for the 2 days we were there, just used the metro. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. Excellent breakfast. Would definitley stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kathyh633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWHotels, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words. We really do have a hidden jewel here. Smart move to not worry about driving while in an area you are not familiar. Between our shuttle to the metro, shopping and dining, it’s easy to take advantage of our free parking and see the city by metro. I agree, we have an excellent free breakfast … it’s the perfect way to start the day!

We hope to see you again here at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Rockville Hotel & Suites. Please share your experience with your friends and family. If you are on Facebook, please like us at /BestWesternPlusRockville.

Ron Wallach
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Our mission was to see Washington, DC and this hotel was great for that. Downfall was that we checked in on Sunday and the "restaurant" (which basically served pizza and wings) was closed. Not only that but there isn't anywhere to eat within walking distance. We had to get back in the car after a long day on the road and drive to a very touristy area to eat. It was a lovely area but not what we had in mind. Air conditioning was also very loud in the room.
The shuttle was convenient for getting to the Metro and the train dropped us a mere 2 or 3 blocks from the White House. We walked all of the National Mall and had a very great day and caught the train back where we waited for the shuttle for a long time as it was more than 15 minutes late and we had arrived early for the pick up time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DJB1504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWHotels, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you so much for giving us your feedback. I was glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and found our location close to DC to be convenient for you. Although our restaurant is closed on Sundays, we do offer complimentary shuttle not only to the metro but to numerous shops and dining options surrounding the hotel - all just minutes away.

We hope to see you again here at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Rockville Hotel & Suites. Please share your experience with your friends and family. If you are on Facebook, please like us at /BestWesternPlusRockville.

Ron Wallach
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
94 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This hotel had a great staff to help you with any questions you had about Washington DC. Our room was large and very clean. I was impressed with the fat that they are a green hotel. They had a recycle bin in each room for paper, plastic, glass bottles and beer or pop cans. The bed was great I have never sleep so good in a hotel. Each room had a safe, there was an additional cost to use this but for us it was well worth it. The only problem we had was with the TV remote you had to hold it very close to the TV in order to get it to work. The lighting in our room was great plenty of lights and a large window. The hotel provided a bus which took you to the Metro Station in Rockville and to the Town Center. The drivers were very helpful and suggested some restaurants to try. The hotel had a continental breakfast which was very good large eating area and the time was for break fast was a longer time then most hotels we have stayed at. The hotel had a restaurant that served pizza and snacks. I would have liked to see more variety of food choices. All in all a great place to stay if we go back to Washington DC we will stay here again

Room Tip: We were in room 753 which had an okay view and was near the end of the hall so there was little to n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boopsie58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWHotels, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
I’m so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff to be friendly and helpful. We really do have a great team. Thanks for noticing the fact that we are a green hotel. We really do take pride in the fact that we are doing our part. We will look into the remotes for our brand new HD TVs with over 60 channels, half in high def. Those remotes are actually new and state of the art. They are part of our green annotative, with low use built in batteries. You might not have noticed, but the remotes have no crevasses around the numbers – so they may be washed. We are the first hotel in the area to have environmentally and clean remotes such as these.

We hope to see you again here at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Rockville Hotel & Suites. Please share your experience with your friends and family. If you are on Facebook, please like us at /BestWesternPlusRockville.

Ron Wallach
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

This hotel is overall a good value for the money. We got a suite with a living room and separate bedroom with a door that closes for the price most nearby hotels would charge for a single room. The rooms are spacious and clean, there were two nice large HD TV's in the suite, as well as a coffee maker, mircrowave and mini fridge. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom had nice marble countertops and marble shower stall. The place seemed well maintained. We had a minor problem with a noisy fan in the AC unit, and the guy came and fixed it that same day. The breakfast in the morning is included in the rate and is hot and fresh, with coffee and tea, eggs, potatoes, sausage, pancakes, make-your own waffle machine, yogurt and fruit as well as cold cereal and juice. There is a free shuttle to the Metro (a 10-15 min ride) that goes into Washington DC (about 25 minutes on the train) so you dont have to drive in and face the notoriously horrible DC traffic. The shuttle will also drop you off at the nearby shopping mall or Rockville Town square, a newly developed shopping and restaurant area with an outdoor plaza with fountains that is pleasant on a nice day. The only downside of this place really is that the crazy laundry room automatically locks at around 10pm. I was in the middle of doing my laundry after a week on the road and threw everything in....my underwear, pyjamas, robe, tee shirts, blouses, slacks, etc., and then came back later to find the room was locked electronically and my card key would not open it. There was another guest there who was similarly annoyed to find his clothes were held captive. It took half an hour of intense complaining and the manager and staff fumbling around to get it resolved, finally they opened it after a few stories about how it was automaticlally locked by the computer and no one could possibly open it until the next morning!!! Be warned if you are thinking of doing laundry in the evening - be done before 10p or have a major hassle. The front desk staff needs more training as well, one staffer grumbled that it was unfair I was raising my voice "for no reason". Well, if you were in the middle of doing ALL your clothes and found they were being held for ransom until the morning, and you had nothing to sleep in and nothing to wear the next day, and got a lame story about how the computer could not be over-rode to open the door until morning, YOU would be mad too!!! if you can't fix this stupid situation, put a sign up to warn people so they don't get stuck in a jam. Locking the door until morning - really - how is that customer friendly? there were not even any other rooms nearby the laundry room. Other than this very unpleasant episode, we had a pleasant stay and would recommend this hotel for a reasonably priced place that gives easy access to get to DC for sightseeing or business. There is also a small but modern fitness center and an in ground ourdoor pool on the premises (was closed for the season when we stayed). Pros: good value, spacious rooms, comfortable, clean, good breakfast, free shuttle. cons: crazy laundry room, some noticable noise from nearby interstate 270 (might be worse in winter when no tree leaves to block it), some staff that could benefit from more customer service training.

Room Tip: rooms not facing I-270 may be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cozy_Kitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWHotels, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We never get tired of getting great feedback. We really are a great value. You are right about DC traffic. For those not used to it, it can be a little crazy. Smart move to reserve a suite -- for just a little more, you can get a lot more space to spread out. And the additional TV is not a bad plus… especially for families. You are right about the shuttle – it’s a great way to get downtown via metro … or even down the street for dinner and a movie.

We here take our guest feedback very seriously. Guests have asked for a smoke free hotel, we made the change… they asked for an on property restaurant we added it. Another addition we made based on our regular guests’ feedback, it not have the guest laundry machines run after 10pm, as it’s located on the same floor as some of our suites. There is a sign by the door stating the hours of operation. I’m sorry if you did not notice that.

We hope to see you again here at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Rockville Hotel & Suites. Please share your experience with your friends and family. If you are on Facebook, please like us at /BestWesternPlusRockville.

Ron Wallach
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rockville hotels
1.5 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Rockville
3.5 mi away
EVEN Hotel Rockville
EVEN Hotel Rockville
#4 of 16 in Rockville
4.5 of 5 stars 264 reviews
1.1 mi away
Homewood Suites Rockville - Gaithersburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rockville - Gaithersburg
1.3 mi away
Sleep Inn Shady Grove
Sleep Inn Shady Grove
#8 of 16 in Rockville
4.0 of 5 stars 228 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Rockville Hotel
Sheraton Rockville Hotel
#9 of 16 in Rockville
4.0 of 5 stars 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites
Address: 1251 W Montgomery Ave, Route 28, Rockville, MD 20850-3133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Rockville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Rockville
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rockville
#7 Family Hotel in Rockville
#7 Business Hotel in Rockville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When visiting the greater Washington DC area, stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Rockville Hotel & Suites. With 164 non-smoking guest rooms and suites, FREE parking, FREE breakfast and FREE Wi-Fi, you'll be hard pressed to find a better deal. Our prime location is convenient for work and play in Rockville Maryland and is just 12 miles north of the greater Washington DC area and directly off I-270 also known as Maryland's Technology Corridor. Our hotel is near historical sites, lovely parks, major corporations, government agencies and family attractions. Family, business, kid and pet friendly accommodations to suit your needs for a comfortable and relaxing stay... Traveling with an RV - no worries - bring it and park for the night or the weekend, there is plenty of space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Rockville Hotel Rockville
Best Western Plus Rockville Hotel And Suites
Best Western Rockville Hotel
Rockville Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing