We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good Inn Near D.C.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Rockville
GreenLeadersSilver level
Millersburg Ohio
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Inn Near D.C.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

Stayed at this inn for 3 nights and found it to be a good choice given our schedule of touring D.C.
The hotel provides a free shuttle to and from the D.C. Metro and runs every hour on the hour. The room was clean and comfortable and front desk personnel was friendly and very accommodating. Had a small issue with a slow drain in the shower and was taken care of immediately and efficiently. Good free breakfast including eggs, bacon, sausage, waffles, pancakes, cereals, juices, yogurt and coffee. Would definitely recommend to anyone who has no desire to drive in downtown D.C. We took the metro into the city and hopped on the Old Time Trolley and had a most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redtail196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWHotels, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback. We couldn’t be happier to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. I have to agree with you – we offer an ideal location for those that want to visit our nation’s capital – but want to manager their logging costs while doing so. Our metro system I so fast and clean – it’s almost its own attraction. Smart move to take Old Town Trolley a great way to see the city, plus they pick up at various stops right off the red line which is the line we offer our free shuttle to. We have become famous for complimentary full American breakfast buffet.

We hope to see you again here at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Rockville Hotel & Suites. Please share your experience with your friends and family. If you are on Facebook, please like us at /BestWesternPlusRockville.

Ron Wallach
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    267
    137
    51
    48
See reviews for
305
180
62
208
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

We spent the night at the Best Western in Rockville this past week. We liked the room. It was roomy and very quiet. Breakfast was the free buffet and was good for what it was. There was plenty of variety even for someone trying to eat more healthy. Your staff was very helpful and were able to answer all questions. We didn't use the shuttle service, but the location was good for driving to the subway station. Thanks.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tripnavvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWHotels, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for giving us your thoughts on your stay. We never get tired of getting great reviews. We really are a hidden gem. We take guest feedback very seriously as we learn a lot from our guests… and we listen to them. Our guests asked that we become smoke free – we did. Our guests ask that we add high speed internet – we did. Our newest enhancement based on our guest feedback is healthy options on our abundant complimentary full American breakfast buffet.

We hope to see you again here at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Rockville Hotel & Suites. Please share your experience with your friends and family. If you are on Facebook, please like us at /BestWesternPlusRockville.

Ron Wallach
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

I did not stay much in the hotel while we were there for 3 nights. We used the shullte bus to go to the subway to Washington, DC. The driver was very friendly and kept us interested with his talks.

I liked the free breakfast, they had a lot of varieties.

The room was a little small but clean.

Too bad the pool hours wasn't long enough, we coldn't enjoy it after our long visit to Washington, DC. They have a lifeguard which is a plus.

Room Tip: Do not stay on left side of the hotel close to the ventilation (some sort of big machine that makes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank douglas41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWHotels, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We get a lot of great comments about our shuttle drivers. It seems that they are not only great ambassadors to our hotels but to the city as well. Everyone seems to love our complimentary full American breakfast buffet. You are right – we have a great variety on our buffet… it’s a great way to start the day.

We hope to see you again here at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Rockville Hotel & Suites. Please share your experience with your friends and family. If you are on Facebook, please like us at /BestWesternPlusRockville.

Ron Wallach
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed there for two nights about a week ago. Beware of traffic on the highway in the area. Check in was quick and painless. The room was clean and nice. If you need a little more quiet time avoid rooms on the pool side (exterior wall) of the bldg, because the traffic noise (and pool noise) is noticeable. The free breakfast was good especially if you don't have specific plans or don't want to go out for breakfast. We wanted to pay for our first night on a different bank card. The young lady at the desk made us aware of a discount that we were eligible for when she saw our ID badges for NIH which helped us to save money for both nights. At checkout time Kendall helped us and verified that we got our discounts. If I'm in that area again the Best Western will be the Best place for me:)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LARRYSTRIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWHotels, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Thanks for taking the team to give us your feedback. I think the title off your blog really says it all – “Best Western in Rockville wants to be your Best Friend.” We really have a great team here – and they work very hard to see that every one of our guests is happy. I think it’s that drive that set us apart from the pack. Sure it would be easy to not give you a discount when you are ready to check in – but we work very closely with NIH, and want all their travelers to know about our relationship with their complex. Plus, quite simply it’s the right thing to do. I’m glad you enjoyed our complimentary full American breakfast buffet. It’s a great way to start the day. Many people enjoy the rooms overlooking the pool. Yes, at times there can be a little noise as our guest enjoy the outdoor pool after a long day or work or touring. When you make your reservation for your next stay, simply request a room not overlooking the pool area. We work hard to accommodate all guest requests.

We look forward to see you again here at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Rockville Hotel & Suites. Please share your experience with your friends and family. If you are on Facebook, please like us at /BestWesternPlusRockville.

Ron Wallach
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

This was our third visit to the Best Western Rockville, and were very satisified with our room, the service and the value.

Our room was quiet and spacious, with plenty of room to store our luggage and cooler without tripping over either in the middle of the night. The bed was very comfortable. One of the reasons that we've chosen this hotel over others in the area is for the great night's sleep. The walls and door are thick enough that you won't hear your neighbors' conversations in either the next room, or the hallway, which is especially appreciated after a tiring day of DC sightseeing.

The front desk staff was courteous and friendly with good customer service skills. This is a noticeable improvement from our previous visits. While the front desk folks in the past had satisfactory customer service skills, there now seems to be more of a emphasis of being more cordial to the guests and to anticipate their needs. I especially appreciated being reminded to check my bill regarding the safe charge, a charge in the past that I had been assessed without using. While this is a small courtesy for guests, it spoke volumes to me about making sure that guests were not being overcharged, and that they were satisfied with their overall experience at the hotel. Thank you too, front desk staff, for your assistance, pleasant demeanor and patience with all of our DC questions.

The bottom line is you will find this hotel will meet your needs, families and individuals, while doing so in comfort, with courtesy, at a good value, and with a top notch breakfast to boot. I have no reservations about recommending the Best Western Rockville to friends and family visiting the DC area.

Room Tip: Choose rooms away from the elevators and vending machines for those in your room who are light sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kasaWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWHotels, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We love getting positive comments from our guests… but we love getting positive comments from returning guests even more. That is the true sign that a guest is happy with the service we provide.

I have to say we have a great team at the front desk and not a day goes by we don’t get positive feedback about them. We take our guest feedback very seriously. So when you (and others) mentioned that it needs to be clearer that we have in-room safes (larger enough for a laptop computer) … we listened. We not only added a sign at the desk, mentioning this great amenity, but also at check-out gladly take off the nominal $1.50 surcharge if guests have opted not to use the safe.

We hope to see you yet again here at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Rockville Hotel & Suites. Please share your experience with your friends and family. If you are on Facebook, please like us at /BestWesternPlusRockville.

Ron Wallach
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
162 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

The Best Western Rockville is a large property off of I-270 in Rockville. It was most like, in another life, a different chain due to the size of the public areas and rooms. Very clean. Excellent Breakfast set-up. Easy in and out from highway. Some maintenance will be needed shortly in a few areas but on the whole a good value. Travel hint: If you are headed to the Beltway via 270 South, give yourself extra time....the on ramp in the mornning is slow.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sfgfiat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWHotels, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I’m glad you enjoyed our complimentary full American breakfast buffet. With all our options on the buffet, it’s a great way to start the day. For those not used to DC traffic, it takes time to get from one place to another here in the nation’s capital. For those going to DC, either for work or play, and want to avoid I-270, I suggest they take advantage of our complimentary shuttle to the metro stop. It’s just 2 miles away and the metro goes right into town.

We hope to see you again here at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Rockville Hotel & Suites. Please share your experience with your friends and family. If you are on Facebook, please like us at /BestWesternPlusRockville.

Ron Wallach
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

I stayed at this hotel with my husband and parents as it is close to my relatives. My family has stayed here many times before but this was my first as part of a couple. The hotel was just as I remembered - nice rooms, amazing bed, good service.

They did not honor my request to have a room far from the elevator, but the hotel was so quiet and doors so thick that it did not matter. The door handle turned up instead of down, which took us a while to understand in the beginning.

The pool was good for a quick dip.

Breakfast was pretty good, covered all the basics and was tasty. The restaurant's pizza was surprisingly good.

I would definitely stay here again, and not just because it is close to my relative's, but because it really was a good hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keem27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWHotels, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thanks for your kind comments. I’m glad you found our rooms comfortable, beds amazing and staff friendly. I have to agree with you … we really do offer great amenities for less. Funny you should mention our pizza. We take our guests’ comments very seriously. Our guests ask for a restaurant so we added Callaway’s, a causal place to enjoy pizza, wings, salads and even beer and wine. The pizza is homemade … and really good. Not your typical “hotel food” at all.

We hope to see you again here at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Rockville Hotel & Suites. Please share your experience with your friends and family. If you are on Facebook, please like us at /BestWesternPlusRockville.

Ron Wallach
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rockville hotels
1.4 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Rockville
3.5 mi away
EVEN Hotel Rockville
EVEN Hotel Rockville
#4 of 16 in Rockville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Rockville Hotel
Sheraton Rockville Hotel
#9 of 16 in Rockville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Washington D.C. - Rockville
1.1 mi away
Homewood Suites Rockville - Gaithersburg
1.3 mi away
Sleep Inn Shady Grove
Sleep Inn Shady Grove
#8 of 16 in Rockville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites
Address: 1251 W Montgomery Ave, Route 28, Rockville, MD 20850-3133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Rockville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Rockville
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rockville
#7 Business Hotel in Rockville
#7 Family Hotel in Rockville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When visiting the greater Washington DC area, stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Rockville Hotel & Suites. With 164 non-smoking guest rooms and suites, FREE parking, FREE breakfast and FREE Wi-Fi, you'll be hard pressed to find a better deal. Our prime location is convenient for work and play in Rockville Maryland and is just 12 miles north of the greater Washington DC area and directly off I-270 also known as Maryland's Technology Corridor. Our hotel is near historical sites, lovely parks, major corporations, government agencies and family attractions. Family, business, kid and pet friendly accommodations to suit your needs for a comfortable and relaxing stay... Traveling with an RV - no worries - bring it and park for the night or the weekend, there is plenty of space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Rockville Hotel Rockville
Best Western Plus Rockville Hotel And Suites
Best Western Rockville Hotel
Rockville Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing