We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“French food in Rockville” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mosaic

Mosaic
Reserve with OpenTable
Mosaic is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 386 Restaurants in Rockville
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“French food in Rockville”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

We tried one time and we found the food very good and well cooked. Definitively much more better than a couple of French restaurant in DC area. Service was very good, prices are OK. However not sure to come back

Helpful?
Thank PA_AUDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    59
    13
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
U.S.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not A Chain!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Mosaic is one reason Rockville is solid as suburbs go. An independent restaurant serving interesting, if not always stellar, food. Go for the waffles (and waffle sandwiches) and the fresh salads. Anything else is a bit hit or miss but mostly hit. And if it's a miss, well, you will still be supporting an independent, and won't be breaking the bank doing so.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hoppyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Gluten Free Brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Mosaic offers gluten free waffles that can be substituted in any of their menu meals. I have to say the GF waffle is so light and crispy and delicious, you would never believe it is GF. I cant wait to go back! Plus, they take reservations so you dont have to worry about a long wait for brunch.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank iutami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
716 reviews
221 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,254 helpful votes
“Not a bistrot nor is it French.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We came due to rave reviews written here. The place seem to thrive on regulars. While seated near the entryway, we noticed lot of old folks and waiters appear to know each other. The ambience was staid while the lighting and décor were not helping either. So let's talk about the dishes that we had. Their boeuf bourguignon's tangy flavor was a departure from the classic recipe and not in a good way. The inside of the meat cubes were on the dry side. Tender coq au vin waded in its gravy and could have worked better had it not been too zesty. The mushroom rice and the mushroom soup were ok. Service was slow in the beginning and picked up speed after we entertained the waiter. I'm not sure if I can call their food French.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ebbtide123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Interesting French Food - Must Return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Met a friend for dinner at Mosaic on Thursday night. No wait, and the noise level was low. The food was very good and so was the deserts. I had a hard time choosing what to eat because so many entree's sounded good. The waffles attracted me to this place. Must return to try more of Mosaic's food. Great value.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank drcon100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mosaic also viewed

 

Been to Mosaic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing