We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great Italian” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Il Pizzico

Il Pizzico
Ranked #1 of 387 Restaurants in Rockville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Great food. A little pricey but is worth the money. Enjoyed the seasonal specials on the menu and really is very authentic italian

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kande7872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    59
    16
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Il Pizzico is Always Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We love this restaurant and have been regulars for years. This is an upscale Italian restaurant - definitely not your spaghetti and meatballs type, although they have a wonderful selection of pasta dishes. We always begin by sharing a watercress salad, which is consistently delicious. They also serve some nice bread with an amazingly good olive tapanade. Two of us enjoyed a fish special - this is pretty much our favorite "seafood restaurant" as well, often way out-doing the various regular seafood restaurants we go to. My mother-in-law ordered the ravioli stuffed with pistachio in cream sauce, which is amazingly good.

Don't be fooled by the name. Il Pizzico I am told translates as "The Pinch." Nothing to do with pizza, which they don't even serve.

In addition to great food, the service at Il Pizzico is excellent. Attentive. Friendly. The owner, Enzo, often walks around the restaurant asking diners how they are doing and inquiring about any needs. Enzo ordered our wine for us which is always appreciated as the wine list is all Italian wines, many of which I have am not familiar with.

Finally, the prices at Il Pizzico are quite reasonable. Entrees range from $14 to $24 generally. Wine prices are also reasonable.

I give Il Pizzico my highest recommendation.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bmkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“always excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

we have been going to Pizzico since it first opened as a pizza joint and watched with pleasure as it grew. The food is always great and we have never had a bad meal. The decor has been upscaled and the entire experience is outstanding.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ghs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Authentic Italian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

I am Italian and I live in the US but I travel to Italy 4 times a year. This is one of the very rare authentic Italian food restaurants in the DC area. Dining here is not cheap ( not excessively expensive either ) and it is at the level of the best Italian restaurants in Italy. I went several times and fish based food are my preferred.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paolo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Italian Food Around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

I had wanted to go here for years and finally got around to it this year. The food is incredible! I can't wait to go again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Talcmonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Pizzico also viewed

 
 

Been to Il Pizzico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing