We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Simple food done very well” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amalfi Ristorante

Amalfi Ristorante
Reserve with OpenTable
Amalfi Ristorante is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #34 of 386 Restaurants in Rockville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Parklawn Drive
Description: Established in 1977 Amalfi is a True Family Owned & Operated Restaurant. We offer dishes from both northern and southern Italy. We also have extensive Gluten Free and Vegetarian options along with a few Vegan options as well. With everything being made from scratch to order we can please any customer. We take pride in doing all the work ourselves and strive to have the very best restaurant in town. Moe Jr. is the head chef, John serves tables, Teresa hosts and Moe Sr. overlooks the operation. Moe Sr. and Teresa started Amalfi over 36 years ago and now the two sons are in control and have taken Amalfi to the next level. We have now upgraded all of our meats to all natural products. From all natural chicken to milk fed veal, even our sausage is all natural. The majority of our meals are now made to order to ensure optimal freshness and quality. Come in and see why they say, "Once you visit Amalfi you may never leave!"
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Simple food done very well”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I was quite impressed with Amalfi Ristorante. OK, I'll confess: I was pleasantly surprised. The restaurant is off the main drag, and the building was very nondescript. If you blink you'll miss it as you drive by. But it was worth the effort to find it, and the food turned out to be excellent.
You get the feeling that the recipes have been handed down over many generations. It feels very much as if you are eating at someone's home rather than at a restaurant. I generally judge Italian restaurants by the way they prepare veal. The good places serve very tender veal; the bad places serve shoe leather. The veal at Amalfi was very tender and the preparation was excellent. My daughter had the chicken parmigiana and she loved it. There was a lamb special that evening and it was outstanding. No major complaints, though I should caution you that the menu will not win points for creativity or originality. Amalfi serves standard Italian fare but they do an excellent job with it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    25
    8
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ocean View, Delaware
Level Contributor
70 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Same excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Have not been here in several years because we left the area. WOW, everything is the same including the outstanding food & service. The white pizza as an appetizer was over the top super. Still as I remembered, the bolonaise pasta and salads superbly prepared and excellent. The wine menu needs some attention but overall fine.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank grndpierre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Real Food,Nice People”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Great Staff and excellent food...Get a daily SPECIAL ! This Restaurant has served the area for many decades We celebrate many family events there. EZ to Park.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Arnie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Would not come here again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

One of the worst places I have been. The reviews from others were good which is why I came here but it was some of the worst italian food I have had. I got the chicken parmesan. The chicken tasted like pure frying oil and the tomato sauc tasted like acid. I asked about it and the man told me they brine the chicken so its juicy, there was not one bit of juice in the chicken I had. Terrible. I am leaving this place with a stomach ache and like I ate straight from a deep fryer. Beware.

    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank erinnm005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great staff - as always!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Every single time I have been to Amalfi, it is amazing. The food is delicious, authentic and worth every penny! My family has been going to Amalfi for over two decades and it is certainly a favorite! I recently went there with my family, we were a party of 17!! Despite having such a large party, the staff was more than accommodating and allowed us to split the checks. Everyone who works here is good natured, warm and welcoming. This is the real deal - family owned since the 70s, the recipes are incredible, everything made as you order.

They recently updated the restaurant with a new waiting area, a change of decor and freshly painted bathrooms. The restaurant is not fancy, it's comfortable, but still perfect for a date night or family dinner.

The white pizza with fontina cheese is to die for! The. Best. White. Pizza. Ever. If you go, you must get this appetizer! My husband almost always opts for his favorite entree - Chicken Alfredo with Linguine, and every time, the chicken is cooked to perfection, the pasta and sauce an amazing balance of rich creamy goodness! I had the Chef's Special Whole Flounder in herb butter with a side of linguine with a butter garlic sauce. Delicious!! We almost always finish the meal with a cappuccino! Yum!

When I asked my husband to describe Amalfi, he said, "Above outstanding!" Without a doubt, easily the best Italian food we have ever had anywhere. I recommend to everyone and will continue to do so.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank KatieK23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amalfi Ristorante also viewed

 
Rockville, MD
 

Been to Amalfi Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing