We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasting is believing ...”
Review of Yuan Fu Vegetarian

Yuan Fu Vegetarian
Ranked #57 of 411 Restaurants in Rockville
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Tasting is believing ...”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

I'm not a vegetarian, but if I were able to eat like this every day, I could be. Outstanding food, friendly service. This is the kind of place that you have to think twice about recommending, because you don't want it to be too busy the next time you come!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank APM_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    16
    8
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Tasty culinary deceptions, not just for vegans”
Reviewed December 31, 2011

We've found this to be arguably the best vegetarian Chinese restaurant in the Washington area with reasonable prices and imaginative dishes that use soy and gluten products to mimic chicken, beef, pork and fish. Try the vegetarian duck hot pot with basil and ginger, pumpkin chicken with mushrooms or the Kung Pao triple delight with asparagus. The sauces match up with what you get at higher-end "ordinary" Chinese restaurants. Located in a hard-on-the-eyes little strip center south of downtown Rockville.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank abettel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Wonderful and imaginative little vegetarian rest”
Reviewed December 30, 2011

Most of the clientele is very discriminating and lots of kosher/hallah folks frequent this cute place. Serving completely vegetarian fare, cooked in the monastary style of thousands of years of buddhist monk cooking. A little high on the salt, sugar and oil content to accommodate the replacement of meat.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Paoball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Rare Tasty All-Veg Chinese Restaurant.”
Reviewed October 18, 2011

We came across reviews of Yuan Fu while searching for Vegetarian-friendly Chinese food in the DC area & made the drive to Rockville on a Saturday. We split the veggie dumplings (ok, not great) & Triple Delight (delicious!). The staff was extremely friendly & we did not wait long for the food. It is a small restaurant so we did have to wait about 10 minutes for a table. They have so many options (vegetarian soft-shell crabs?!?! ) and we're looking forward to sampling more of them!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sphinx130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Vegetarian Chinese Food I've Found!”
Reviewed February 3, 2011

Our family has gotten take-out from Yuan Fu many times, and each time we are pleased with everything. The Sesame Chicken with Broccoli is a favorite, but the highlights are the Roasted and Five Spice Ducks. The Roasted is hot and is my husband's favorite, but I think the cold Five Spice Duck is the best thing ever. Just thinking about it makes my mouth water! Also very good is the General Tso's Chicken which is a bit on the spicy side. We always order a fairly large order and they always throw in a container of Sweet and Sour Cucumbers for free.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tarheelal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yuan Fu Vegetarian also viewed

Rockville, Montgomery County
Rockville, Montgomery County
 
Rockville, Montgomery County
Rockville, Montgomery County
 

Been to Yuan Fu Vegetarian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing