We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very indifferent food”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Taipei Tokyo 3

Taipei Tokyo 3
Ranked #176 of 406 Restaurants in Rockville
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Thai, Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
399 reviews
254 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 660 helpful votes
“Very indifferent food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Taipei Tokyo is a small restaurant that tries to serve three types of food - Chinese, Thai and Japanese - and predictably fails. I had mysterious crab lumps inside shaved cucumber to start and then a large plate of rather rubbery and overcooked chicken tempura. The sake was luke warm and tasted rather odd. The others in my group were similarly underwhelmed. The restaurant needs to be a tad less ambitious and spend more time on the food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Faience44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    27
    11
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Germantown, Maryland
Level Contributor
192 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Lots of different choices better than average.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in for lunch and tried sushi. Average at best. They offer Japanese, chinese, and some thai. Good selection but nothing really stood out as being great. We were in a party of six. That was the overall review.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zachary2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
100 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Really like this place have eaten here several times”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

They get the pan Asian tastes right, good size portions, excellent service, good menu variety. We always go back to this place.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hoofmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
358 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Wish this place were in my "hood!"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Thank you trip advisor for helping me find a nice Asian restaurant while traveling to Rockville! It was exactly what my coworker and I had in mind! The restaurant is in a very busy upscale shopping court, it is a cute, clean and trendy type restaurant. It has a nice feel as soon as you walk in. Our waitress was fun and spot on. Started with the Tom Ka soup with tofu. Omg...soooo good. Fresh veggies, perfect tofu...I have to say, one of the best of my fav soup. Next I had the Golden Fire Maki sushi roll. I chose salmon for the top. Generous portion and very fresh. Another perfect choice. My house wine was a nice pour in a nice size wine glass (not the tiny one). My friend also enjoyed her dinner as well. If this place were in my hood I would make it my "go to place!" It was that good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shersei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Excellent Asian Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

This is a great place where you can fill your craving for Asian food across multiple cuisines. The sushi selection is very good and I love their stir fried yaki udon. The thick chewy stir fried noodles are so good! My other favorites include the chow fun noodles and an awesome crispy beef dish. Finish the meal with one of their specialty ice creams. Sometimes they have red bean or green tea ice cream, which are nice treats.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rcheng517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taipei Tokyo 3 also viewed

 

Been to Taipei Tokyo 3? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing