We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good breakfast brunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Diner

Silver Diner
Ranked #2 of 389 Restaurants in Rockville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: At Silver Diner, we're much more than a diner. Whether you choose a classic dish or a vegetarian, vegan, or gluten-free option, Executive Chef Ype Von Hengst has created a menu of customizable, healthier choices that all share one thing: the highest quality, all-natural ingredients available.Silver Diner is proud to be a key part of the local community, nurturing it's growth, providing food for healthier lifestyles, and supporting local schools and non-profits. With a menu that features more than 15 local farms that support sustainable agriculture, Chef Ype creates seasonal dishes using the freshest ingredients available within our local region.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good breakfast brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Good food. Good atmosphere. I enjoyed the pancakes and eggs. It was crowded on Sunday. Good enough that I ate at the BWI airport location the next morning on my way out of town!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank urbweiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    145
    56
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
238 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Oh I wish we had something like this near where I live!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Over New Years I traveled up to Maryland to visit friends. I was told that before I left we were going to the Silver Diner to get milkshakes and so we did at 2:00 a.m. New Years Day. All I can say is WOW! I loved this place. The decor was fun, funky, retro, and yet somehow not kitschy. The menu was amazing! It had all kinds of food including lots of healthy options which were clearly marked with the nutritional information listed. The prices were great and when the milk shakes came out I was amazed at the portions. Not only do you get the milkshake in a glass but the leftovers in the shaker as well! What a great way to start 2014!!

Here's their website: http://www.silverdiner.com/restaurants/rockville

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LadyZady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not typical...better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We had family in from out of the country for the holidays and they wanted to have they "typical" American breakfast. We stopped in to the Silver Diner before a long day of last minute shopping before Christmas. Everyone at the table from our 6 year old niece to her grandma enjoyed everything. We appreciated the healthy options as well as some traditional favorites. I particularly enjoyed the Bison Huevos Rancheros...exceptional. Our dining experience was fairly priced which allowed us to spend that extra dollar on stocking stuffers. On a side note, the new location is great! The restaurant is clean, retro-modern and easily accessible. One of the best stops along the Rockville Pike for breakfast or any meal.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LCP_NCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrisville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Going with the majority opinion here...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

I see that quite a few people gave it the "four dot" rating, and I concur. The strong emphasis on "farm-to-table" in the menu was new to me; I had not been here in several years. It's definitely a solid, "you can't go wrong" choice to please a group with divergent tastes.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank phm3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibsons, Canada
Level Contributor
201 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Fun and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Bring your quarters to play the jukebox and slip into another era as you dine on delicious pancakes or waffles. We go for breakfast on the weekends. They have Gluten Free pancakes too which I order and fresh fruit options.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank mellowjude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Silver Diner also viewed

 

Been to Silver Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing