We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have it your way”
Review of India Grill - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
India Grill
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Indian
Good for: Families with children
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Have it your way”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

A wonderful, cozy Indian restaurant. The buffet is a real bargain. If you like Indian, but don't like it overly spicy, this restaurant will prepare food to your specification....mildly spicy is no problem. Outdoor seating available when weather permits.
Hands-on owner takes pride in his food and service....and it shows.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank REP19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    6
    4
    0
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Potomac, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

4 stars, nice atmosphere, attentive service, quality food. We would go back.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank SunriseFitness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Nice Lunch Buffet”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Went for lunch with a few friends... the Sunday lunch buffet had a good variety of nice curries both vegetarian and non-vegetarian. Loved the tandoor chicken as well... nice salads and sauces. Price was very reasonable and the staff was more than pleasant and accommodating.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drlynnrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Park, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“If you liked this, you really don't care for Indian food!”
Reviewed April 30, 2012

We happened upon this little place while our car was being serviced. My friend and I are Indian and a great fan of Indian cooking, spices and recipes. With sincere apologies to all that have called this buffet tasty and a bargain, I have to say- folks, this was definitely NOT (good) Indian food. This was pretend Indian food. The service was okay, the plates were not terribly clean, the food was cold, bland, tasteless and the variety of dishes very limited for the money we paid. Just up the road, at Minerva, for the same price, you get 3 times the number of dishes, 10 times the truly authentic taste of India, and a clientele that is thoroughly familiar with Indian cuisine.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mitali S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A "Go To" Indian Restaurant”
Reviewed March 16, 2012

I love Indian food and eat at different restaurants and certainly have my favorite dish, Murg Makhani/Buttered Chicken and hands down I've never had it at any other restaurant as good as India Grill makes it. My friends all laugh and ask was it as good as India Grill and so far my answer has always been NO!. I work in Rockville and live in PG and when I have a craving I will make the trip just to get some. My other favorite dish is the Papdi Chaat, which they also make the best of any other restaurants I've tried. I do the buffet every once in a while, but since my favorite dishes aren't usually on there I stick with my favorites. I also recommend their saag paneer, which is also a hit with my friends, who much like my staples swear that no other restaurant makes there's as good.

And I've never experienced it being unclean and I've been going here for over 9 years now and the workers are always friendly and helpful. And I've done both dine in and call in an order for pick up. There were a few times over the past several years that my meal wasn't perfect, but it's always been when there was a change in chefs and that happens at major chains too, so it never took away from my love for the restaurant!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keisha1218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed India Grill also viewed

Rockville, Montgomery County
Rockville, Montgomery County
 
Rockville, Montgomery County
Rockville, Montgomery County
 
Rockville, Montgomery County
Rockville, Montgomery County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing