We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great parrillada, good service, lots of Argentinian clients” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Patio

El Patio
5240 Randolph Rd., Rockville, MD 20852
301-231-9225
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #60 of 374 Restaurants in Rockville
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Argentinean, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Parklawn Dr.
Transit: 28436, 28618, 15342, 15338. Ride on: 10 Metro: C4, C8, J5 closest metro station is Twinbrook
general
Level Contributor
132 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great parrillada, good service, lots of Argentinian clients”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We've dined here several times, both at its previous location and its current one. The parillada quality is excellent, but even for someone used to Argentinian food (by marriage) the quantity of meat is a bit over the top: the parillada for two is sufficient for 3-4. Not seeking a big meal, today we just had empanadas and beer; in the future we'll go back to the meat dishes since the empanadas were disappointing, microwave-mushy rather than oven-crisp. Our service has always been good at El Patio, and their shop with Argentinian specialities (including wines) is a great service. They are highly specialized in Argentinian cuisine, though for some reason they don't serve the international food at which Argentina beats the world, pizza.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AfricaAsiaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Hidden little piece of Argentina in Rockville,MD”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

When you go to El Patio you are looking for good Argentinian food, but you will also get a great dinner/lunch experience.
The food is great, the wines are really good, the desserts are all home made and to die for.
You will also get a family atmosphere, "fútbol" will always be on the big screen tv and beautiful folklore or tango music will be playing.
Service can be slow when its crowded but if you have ever been in an Argentinian restaurant you'll know that that is almost a trademark.
Ricardo is the most friendly waiter there,follow his advise.
El Patio is ,for us Argentinos in the US, 100 % nostalgia and it is a good thing once i a while.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bawlmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Too serious”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I used to go often to this place when they were at the old location which I enjoyed better. I went to this new place and i thought that the mood was way too serious! The food is really tasty, but I feel that they overcharge! I would enjoy more if they weren't so stiff.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank raquelcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Pros:

* Fresh food
* Courteous and friendly service
* Very diverse menu with traditional Argentine dishes
* Fast service
* Has a market with Argentine products
* The pastries are amazing
* The owners run the restaurant, and chat with customers. Very friendly
* Good environment for families, friends, business.
* The asado, parrillada, milanesas etc. are superb!
* Friendly place...

Cons:

* It closes early in Sundays (at 8pm)!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank XYZ n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Just bad quality food and service...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Very greasy food. it also seems they reheat food from previous days. being a steak expert, I tell you, the meat is terrible.
Waiters have no training at all. There was an argument between the cashier and a waiter. Very unprofessional people.
I did like the athmosphere since they were watching a soccer game that day.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steelers2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Patio also viewed

 

Been to El Patio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#