We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent food for the price you pay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Patio

El Patio
Ranked #50 of 386 Restaurants in Rockville
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Parklawn Dr.
Transit: 28436, 28618, 15342, 15338. Ride on: 10 Metro: C4, C8, J5 closest metro station is Twinbrook
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food for the price you pay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

For just $ 8.00 I had a delicious squash soup and a sausage sandwich!
And such big portions!
I also bought some empanadas to go for $1.70 each.
The place is simple but clean and welcoming, with an attractive pastry coroner.
Very good for an informal meal, but the quality of the food is excellent, and the staff is great.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Renata1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    18
    9
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, Va
Level Contributor
422 reviews
362 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“A wonderful Argentine evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Location isnt great coming from the DC/Northern VA area, but made the trek for an authentic experience. Expectations were definitely met. Ambiance was good with some live Latin music playing, although a bit sterile. The food was outstanding. The chorizo here is some of the best I've had. The meat here was tasty and fresh. I ordered the mixed meat platter which had some unique offerings. All delicious and an incredible amount of food. Among the meat products in the platter was some blood sausage which was incredible. Dessert was traditional delicious. According to my lovely date from Argentina, the place was authentic. Wine was super reasonably priced here so get ready for a wonderful experience.

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nads82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“El Patio's Restaurant, Rockville, MD 8/06/12”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

What an amazing restaurant! this is the 2nd time I have been here in 2 weeks. The first time was for dinner (with a date) and the second time was for lunch with my family. Both times the service was EXCELLENT and both times the food was AMAZING! the ambiance was very casual so you don't have to dress up to be there. The 2nd time I went, we had the most beautiful waitress! Just a little more to add to our experience. I recommend this restaurant to anyone and everyone. You get plenty of food for the price and great service.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank boricua1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Argentine Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

I lived in Buenos Aires for 4 years and this food was as good as anything I had there. We ordered several different types of empanadas and "sandwiches de miga" and they were all excellent. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. We had been there before and we will definitely go again.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Helenerose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Just like home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

I have been in America for long enough to feel homesick.I 'm from Argentina and Argentinians have their strong culture.When I went to EL Patio I felt like home again. I could not believe it! I will recommend this place because is unique.I was sick and tired of going to the american restaurants all the time.Now I am going to try to find some time extra to go to El Patio instead.The owners were so welcoming and friendly , you wont believe!!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anargenta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Patio also viewed

 
Rockville, MD
 

Been to El Patio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing