We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good hotel, tip below to get there” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Rockville
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Ohio
Level Contributor
243 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good hotel, tip below to get there”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

This time is my second visit on business to this hotel. A couple of tips, the taxi driver could not find the hotel (Marinelli, Road) on his GPS, so the trick is to search under North Bethesda which is separate from Bethesda. I do not know if you put Rockville into the GPS, if that will work as well.

Everything was fine this time. The breakfast buffet looked really good, but I do not eat much for breakfast. Parking is a hassle for visitors. When the gate is up you can park for free. My ride came to pick me up, but when he parked the gate was up. But when it was time to leave, the gate was down and he had to pay $10. It is a bit annoying and the hotel should provide some free guest parking.

The wifi worked fine and I was able to hook both my phone and laptop up. You may wish to join the Marriott hotel rewards, because one of the perks is free internet access, which in my opinion should be free at all hotels. The login procedure still requires a last name and room number, which is better than using some esoteric password.

The hotel is next to the white flint metro station, red line. The hotel map shows the metro station being about half a mile away, but it is more like 500 feet from the hotel entrance.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harring10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    218
    59
    19
    19
See reviews for
100
65
43
259
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

The Lobby is new and updated but the rooms need severe update I was upgraded to the concierge level and the rooms and amenities were below average. The carpets were old and on the weekends I had to ask the front desk several times before the room was cleaned

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kzubairi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBasile, Director of Operations at Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
We are sorry you were unhappy with your accommodations. We are due for a rooms upgrade soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

I have stayed at this location a few times over the past few years, but this month August 2014 have had the opportunity to stay three weeks in a row.
Service is great and always with a smile. I was on the 10th floor each time which also houses the Concierge Lounge.
The room was well laid out and functional with lots of electrical outlets in the room -- always a nice feature these days as lots of folks travel with multiple plug-needing devices!

I have to give special kudos to the concierge lounge as they had an excellent spread of appetizers and breakfast items. Far better than continental or cheese & crackers in many places.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank schrap2755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardsley, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We arrived after a ridiculously long 6 +1/2 hr journey from Westchester County NY; a trip that should take 3 1/2 to 4 hours at most. Tired and hungry, we were not happy with the half hour wait that we had to check in, as the only people waiting on the Elite line. We expressed our annoyance to the manager on duty who had come out to help customers check in after our long wait. From that point on, all was wonderful. The manager was so apologetic. Instead of the one level upgrade that our Platinum status offers, we were offered a two level upgrade to a Junior suite with parking included. Instead of the usual Continental breakfast, we were offered a full buffet breakfast for two of the mornings of our stay in which the Concierge Suite was not open.

The staff at the hotel is amazingly friendly. Every door is opened and held, one is greeted at every departure and return. One evening we returned late and we were so hungry. The snack/gift shop was closed, so the front desk gave us two snack bags to get us through the night! Now that is service!
The only constructive criticism that I can make concerning the room is to add light to the bathroom, as it is impossible to use the mirror without sufficient light, and to think of the female guests and to please add a magnified MAKE-UP Mirror:)
The purpose of our stay was to visit with family, so we will be back, and when we return, it will be to The Bethesda North Marriott, for sure!

Room Tip: Junior Suite on any floor is lovely! (Ladies bring your own make-up mirror!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ronales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
697 reviews
154 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

I really like this hotel a lot! Nice big yet comfy lobby.

Exceptional service at the front desk. Also, Idris in the On the Rocks Bar was awesome! Super friendly and helpful! She made us want to get a second drink and come back sometime in the future!

The rooms here are pretty nice as well. Very comfortable beds and a decent bathroom. Of course, this is not a trendy, funky kind of hotel. It is just a very nice Marriott- which is exactly what it should be! The location of course is phenomenal as it is right next to the Metro! If you find a better price here and want a hotel with a nice swimming pool, it may be worth staying out here when you visit DC!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank GlendaleCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights & upon our arrival in the evening, failed to notice the state of the room. The following day, in the light of day, my mother and I were shocked at the filthiness of the carpet, which was not only stained, but had dried, gummy, sticky spots in several locations throughout. As well, the door and frame of the bathroom evidenced fingerprints and presumably beverage stains. I'm not sure if the bath towels were clean, as they were gray & worn from long overuse - barely adequate to dry oneself after a shower. We complained to the front desk, and they did offer to move us, but we had a full day, and didn't wish to be bothered with a move. However, I don't believe there is an adequate standard of cleanliness held by housekeeping staff. A dirty dish sat on the floor of the hallway across from our room for 2 days.
On a positive note, we found the woman who ran the coffee shop to be very attentive and helpful.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanB09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBasile, Director of Operations at Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
I am extremely sorry that you had a bad experience. It is certainly not one that we are proud of. Would you be kind enough to contact our Executive Office so that we can get further details.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level Contributor
95 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

OK, this is a pricey place to stay but it was very convenient for visiting nearby relatives. This is a beautiful place and so was our room. It was very well-lit, very clean, very comfortable. We were here six nights and what a wonderful place it was to come home to each night. All the staff we encountered were EXCEEDINGLY helpful and pleasant. The restaurant serves good food (and room service was prompt). The parking was good. The beds and bedding were very cozy indeed. One plus is that there is a FREE laundry. There is only one washer and dryer so you sometimes have to wait to use it, but still, that's a nice thing. We really loved our stay here. It is the best conference-type hotel I have ever stayed in. Oh - and there is a metro stop on the corner. Also plenty of eating places and useful shops nearby. And very close to the 495 loop. Nothing to dislike whatsoever.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moniquepeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockville
3.2 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Rockville
1.0 mi away
EVEN Hotel Rockville
EVEN Hotel Rockville
#4 of 16 in Rockville
4.5 of 5 stars 259 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bethesda Marriott Suites
Bethesda Marriott Suites
#2 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 stars 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Bethesda Marriott
Bethesda Marriott
#7 of 11 in Bethesda
3.5 of 5 stars 444 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Washington DC / Rockville Executive Meeting Center
5.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rockville - Gaithersburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 5701 Marinelli Rd, Rockville, MD 20852-2785
Location: United States > Maryland > Rockville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rockville
#6 Family Hotel in Rockville
#8 Romantic Hotel in Rockville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the comforts of one of the premier hotels in Bethesda, MD with a stay at the prominent Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center. Stylish guest rooms, a Concierge level and 50,000 square feet of high-tech event space welcome both business and leisure travelers with everything needed for a remarkable hotel experience. Conveniently located near the White Flint Metro Station, guests enjoy easy access to downtown Bethesda, Rockville, Washington, D.C. And northern Virginia attractions. Featuring an expansive ballroom, 120-seat amphitheater, innovative catering and lavish amenities, our hotel's conference center is ideal for hosting inspirational Bethesda, MD events. Well-furnished rooms pamper guests with luxurious bedding ensembles, high-speed Internet access, tantalizing on-site dining, a heated indoor pool and 24-hour guest privileges to the hotel's fitness center add comfort and convenience for a relaxed and productive stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo, Marriott and Priceline so you can book your Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bethesda North Marriott Hotel And Conference Center
Marriott Bethesda North
Marriott Hotel Rockville
Marriott Rockville
Rockville Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing