We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice Stay, Clean.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Rockville
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice Stay, Clean.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

The hotel was very nice, but no wow factor. We were there for a week for the National Soccer Championships. Hotel full of kids and hotel kept things organized and clean. Had to wait an hour for check in, but provided bottled water while we waited. Was not happy with the breakfast they provided the athletes. We complained but they said it was approved by "our group" who negotiated the price and menu. I still expected more from Marriott. The eggs were cold, no bagels, plain yogurt (not even vanilla flavored). They had juice and fruit. After the first day we had to come up with our own breakfast for the 22 girls. Most of the other teams did as well.
The exercise room was very nice. TV on every treadmill and elliptical. Fruit and water were provided as well. Joe the concierge was wonderful!! It was nice to come back after a long day and get a smile and hello. Housekeeping staff very nice. Metro station at the end of the parking lot, very convenient. Restaurants within walking distance. A lot of shopping and restaurants within 2 miles that we drove to. Indoor pool, no outdoor pool. Outrageous the price they were charging for internet access. Thank goodness my rewards status allowed me free access. A lot of people using free lobby access.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cve73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    218
    59
    19
    19
See reviews for
100
65
43
259
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kendall Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
324 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I visit a client in Chevy Chase almost every month and this time my usual hotel was sold out, so they put me up here in North Bethesda. I was pleasantly surprised to see this new, modern building, and even more pleased once I got in. The lobby has that urban chic feel and the rooms are modern with the conveniences a business traveler needs. I'm kind of hoping my usual hotel gets sold out again so I can come back!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
122 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Clean, safe spot to get a good nights rest. Spent two nights here. The hotel is just off the Redline Metro White Flint station. As others have said, the staff really tries hard to help. Two quibbles - the price of internet in your room is outrageous - witness the evening crowd in the lobby. And although the TV was HD - it is a testament to cable that they can have the audacity to still sell hotels analog signals for most of the channels. Really? Likely this is not the hotel's fault but the combination of pricey internet and truly limited TV without eyestrain means that you should plan ahead. The convention rooms paid for high speed internet so they can do it but like the airlines they squeeze where they can to get those dollars. Kind of off putting in a place that was otherwise so hospitable.

Room Tip: The sixth floor facing the entrance is nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

I love this hotel and stay here whenever possible. Great location to the Metro White Flint station and fantastic hotel staff. Joseph and Alex are so personable and helpful. My only complaint is that housekeeping is either slow or they don't have enough. We were gone for several hours and returned to find our room was still not touched by housekeeping. It was also a few hours after I arrived to get into my room because housekeeping hadn't cleaned it from the previous occupants. Otherwise, very clean hotel with free washer and dryer and a Starbucks available for purchase in the lobby. Now, free WiFi would be nice. To pay that much for a room to not have free WiFi is ridiculous but seems to be par for the course at Marriott.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grant933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Va
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

For the most part, the Bethesda North Marriott satisfied my needs - a clean, safe, comfortable place to stay while attending a week long bridge tournament. In all my interactions with members of staff, from the bellman when I arrived, to the front desk staff, to the maids, everyone was very friendly and seemed eager to please. I was disappointed that the requested refrigerator was not in the room when I arrived, and it took three separate requests before it was brought to the room. I also felt that the air conditioning in the room was not in any way controlled by the thermostat on the wall, because I set it for 65 degrees at night and the temperature never wavered from 72 degrees during the whole stay. In fact, the hall was considerably cooler than the room, and this was during the summer. I appreciated being able to check e-mail on the computer in the lobby, but I would have preferred to do so on my own laptop in the privacy of my room. For hotels to charge for internet in this day and age is shortsighted, as it could be the deal breaker in choosing a hotel. My final, niggling complaint is that the line of toiletries provided has a fragrance that I truly disliked. It appears to be of good quality, just an odd combination of aromas. I would suggest that Marriott consider having on hand a supply of unscented toiletries, both for those who have fragrance allergies, as well as for those, like me, who find the fragrance offensive.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBasile, Director of Operations at Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay. We appreciate you bringing these issues to our attention. We will be sharing your thoughts with the appropriate departments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm City, Florida
Level Contributor
106 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

The staff of this hotel is great! They were helpful, courteous, and attended to needs immediately. The hotel is well-maintained - service was great at the restaurant and bar. The concierge lounge was wonderful - great apps served Mon - Thurs. My only negative comment is that it was too cold in the convention center and walking thru hallways, lobby, etc.
I even had to turn off the AC in my room to warm up. The front desk was notified and they kept trying to make it warmer, but it never really happened til our last day there. I am from Florida and if that AC was too cold, believe me, it was cold. Otherwise, everything was great! Also, it is half a block away from the Metro system, which we took from the airport. Very convenient.

Room Tip: High Floor
See more room tips
Green Features: Signs up to re-use towels, etc if you wished to be environmentally conscious.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank misterwiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Traveled here last week with wife and 3 girls for lacrosse tournament. Booked hotel in April for travel on June 27th. Have email confirmation for TWO DOUBLE BEDS!!! I check in around 11pm after driving for 6 hours and when I walked into the room, there was only 1 bed for 5 people. I went to the desk to ask about it and they said that :"Marriott does not RESERVE room type, it is merely a REQUEST". I was so shocked!!! I asked how does a family travel all day and not be promised 2 beds? I would assume they would sell X amount of rooms with 2 beds then if they had more demand, they would TELL the customer, they only had rooms with 1 bed. I said RESERVE is in the word RESERVATION and I have an email confirmation reserving 2 beds. They would not hear it and offered me 2 roll away beds. What choice did I have? I took the 2 roll away beds, stuck the desk and desk chair in the large closet and all 3 kids had to walk across the beds each time they had to use the bathroom!!! It was terrible. We stayed for 2 nights. I went down on the 2nd day to ask what happened and was given a $5 starbucks card as my compensation!!! To be honest, hotel was beautiful, clean and close to the Metro but pretty hard to enjoy a trip when you can't even walk around the room.

Room Tip: Arrive at 3pm because room type is first come first serve according to the Hotel Manager
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Allen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBasile, Director of Operations at Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Please accept my apology for your experience. We do our very best to accommodate all guest reservations. Unfortunately, we only have so many double rooms and a request for one does not guarantee availability. You might try calling ahead to speak with an in-house reservationist to see if a guarantee can be extended.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockville
3.2 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Rockville
1.0 mi away
EVEN Hotel Rockville
EVEN Hotel Rockville
#4 of 16 in Rockville
4.5 of 5 stars 259 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bethesda Marriott Suites
Bethesda Marriott Suites
#2 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 stars 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Bethesda Marriott
Bethesda Marriott
#6 of 11 in Bethesda
3.5 of 5 stars 444 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Washington DC / Rockville Executive Meeting Center
5.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rockville - Gaithersburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 5701 Marinelli Rd, Rockville, MD 20852-2785
Location: United States > Maryland > Rockville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rockville
#6 Family Hotel in Rockville
#8 Romantic Hotel in Rockville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the comforts of one of the premier hotels in Bethesda, MD with a stay at the prominent Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center. Stylish guest rooms, a Concierge level and 50,000 square feet of high-tech event space welcome both business and leisure travelers with everything needed for a remarkable hotel experience. Conveniently located near the White Flint Metro Station, guests enjoy easy access to downtown Bethesda, Rockville, Washington, D.C. And northern Virginia attractions. Featuring an expansive ballroom, 120-seat amphitheater, innovative catering and lavish amenities, our hotel's conference center is ideal for hosting inspirational Bethesda, MD events. Well-furnished rooms pamper guests with luxurious bedding ensembles, high-speed Internet access, tantalizing on-site dining, a heated indoor pool and 24-hour guest privileges to the hotel's fitness center add comfort and convenience for a relaxed and productive stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Expedia and Marriott so you can book your Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bethesda North Marriott Hotel And Conference Center
Marriott Bethesda North
Marriott Hotel Rockville
Marriott Rockville
Rockville Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing