We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what you want” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Rockville
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
210 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Just what you want”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

A well-designed and well-managed hotel with conference facilities and close to the National Institutes of Health. It must be one of the best hotels in this area, certainly the best of three that I have stayed in. The building is spacious, with high ceilings and large public spaces. Everything works: the lifts are prompt, the wi-fi is fast and is free in the large lobby area and restaurant, the service is excellent and done cheerfully. A helpful touch is the supply of electric sockets by the side of chairs in the lobby by the elevators and along a large table. The restaurant is large but comfortable, and serves a good breakfast; the dinner is a bit expensive and rather average. The location is excellent, being about 200 metres from the Red Line metro station White Flint. Although the hotel is quite close to Rockville Pike, a very busy road, the traffic noise doesn't penetrate. The bedrooms (standard) are lovely, spacious, comfortable beds, quiet and tastfully decorated and furnished. In particular, the art is really nice, as it is throughout the hotel - a lot of care has gone into the selection. Altogether, a hotel above its classification in my view and warmly recommended.

Room Tip: Upper floors are probably a bit quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adspharm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    218
    59
    19
    19
See reviews for
100
65
43
259
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
696 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We've stayed in the nearby Pooks Hill Marriott several times over the years, but decided to switch it up a little this time and try this place, as the Pooks Hill place has somewhat dated rooms and just isn't that "special."
Well, we were PLEASANTLY surprised with how much BETTER this property is! From the service and attention of the staff to the quality, cleaniness and comfort of the room to the INCREDIBLE restaurant and awesome staff in there, as well as the delicious menu - This is The Marriott to stay in while in the Bethesda area!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

A good hotel at affordable tariff. Parking space is ample. Never had a problem. House keeping is good. Food is okay. Conveniently located, close to shopping mall. However, internet should be upgraded. It is indeed a bit slow. Also lost and found should be implemented in a little more stringent basis. We left behind a laptop charger, which was never found. The reception staff were good and friendly and took care of all details.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BHOPAL_FAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Staying here for four nights over a Thanksgiving holiday. Our family has a total of four rooms. The hotel is conveniently located next to a Washington Metro station for easy access to the District. Situated about 10 miles from downtown DC right on Rockville Pike.

The hotel is well cared for. The staff has been attentive and helpful, particularly Sarah and Carlos at he front desk. Food service and housekeeping are all good.

There is one frustratingly poor aspect to the hotel. I am writing this in the hope that management reads this comment and takes action for my fellow travelers. Manager-do not believe what your IT people tell you-you have a problem; the internet service in this hotel performs poorly and is clumsy to log onto. It requires a very slow to load signup page which pops up every time you log on, not just once every 24 hours. Often you provide the information and it does not load and you have to repeat the process again. I had this problem on both an ipad and a laptop. Even wired in a guest room it is slow to log on. This condition is present using wireless in both the guest rooms and the lobby. Despite strong signal strength, downloading is slow and uploading is slower. I travel all the time and am familiar with many other Marriott properties. Internet is a real problem in this hotel.

In summary, if internet i not important to you, I would highly recommend this hotel. I hope that management takes action and resolves the problem.

Room Tip: The corner rooms in the newer wing are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveldudesfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAllen, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Stayed here for a business conference. The rooms were nice, friendly staff, okay area. Nothing special about the hotel, the rooms are like every other hotel. The staff was very helpful at all times of the day and night.
The conference center was fair. The food was not great but I am not sure if it was the hotel or the organizers choosing cheap meals.
We did eat at the hotel restaurant one day for lunch and the food was amazing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

My wife and I have been here a half-dozen times over past few years and enjoyed every stay. The hotel seems at first to be situated in an ordinary suburban site. But, it is actually very nearby top-notch shopping and restaurants galore, close to a number of parks, an easy walk to the historic Bethesda Trolley trail and just a few miles from National Institutes for Health and other major government buildings. The metro stop steps from the hotel entrance making travel to downtown DC and all attractions very easy. Most important, the hotel experience is superb starting with the welcome from attentive staff, to clean/comfortable rooms, and the kind of fitness facility with indoor pool I have only seen in the highest priced spas. Remarkably, the rates here have always been reasonable, especially for weekends as the hotel seems busiest with conferences during the week. The concierge lounge available for Platinum members ("frequent flyers") is also very well appointed and managed. In short, this hotel is extraordinary in every way.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 32999B2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The facility and room was very clean, and staff service was very professional and helpful. I stayed in this hotel to attend a workshop which served dinner in the hotel. Food was great, especially their dessert was outstanding (I would say, European style sweets). I would definitely recommend this hotel, and will use it again at my next stay in this area. One this to mention is that a room was a little chilly. I ended up setting a heat at 75F, but I still felt chilly. But maybe just me.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anneymomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockville
3.2 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Rockville
1.0 mi away
EVEN Hotel Rockville
EVEN Hotel Rockville
#4 of 16 in Rockville
4.5 of 5 stars 259 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bethesda Marriott Suites
Bethesda Marriott Suites
#2 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 stars 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Bethesda Marriott
Bethesda Marriott
#7 of 11 in Bethesda
3.5 of 5 stars 444 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Washington DC / Rockville Executive Meeting Center
5.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rockville - Gaithersburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 5701 Marinelli Rd, Rockville, MD 20852-2785
Location: United States > Maryland > Rockville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rockville
#6 Family Hotel in Rockville
#8 Romantic Hotel in Rockville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the comforts of one of the premier hotels in Bethesda, MD with a stay at the prominent Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center. Stylish guest rooms, a Concierge level and 50,000 square feet of high-tech event space welcome both business and leisure travelers with everything needed for a remarkable hotel experience. Conveniently located near the White Flint Metro Station, guests enjoy easy access to downtown Bethesda, Rockville, Washington, D.C. And northern Virginia attractions. Featuring an expansive ballroom, 120-seat amphitheater, innovative catering and lavish amenities, our hotel's conference center is ideal for hosting inspirational Bethesda, MD events. Well-furnished rooms pamper guests with luxurious bedding ensembles, high-speed Internet access, tantalizing on-site dining, a heated indoor pool and 24-hour guest privileges to the hotel's fitness center add comfort and convenience for a relaxed and productive stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Marriott, Expedia, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bethesda North Marriott Hotel And Conference Center
Marriott Bethesda North
Marriott Hotel Rockville
Marriott Rockville
Rockville Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing