We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Convenient Suburban Washington Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Rockville
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Convenient Suburban Washington Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Staying here for four nights over a Thanksgiving holiday. Our family has a total of four rooms. The hotel is conveniently located next to a Washington Metro station for easy access to the District. Situated about 10 miles from downtown DC right on Rockville Pike.

The hotel is well cared for. The staff has been attentive and helpful, particularly Sarah and Carlos at he front desk. Food service and housekeeping are all good.

There is one frustratingly poor aspect to the hotel. I am writing this in the hope that management reads this comment and takes action for my fellow travelers. Manager-do not believe what your IT people tell you-you have a problem; the internet service in this hotel performs poorly and is clumsy to log onto. It requires a very slow to load signup page which pops up every time you log on, not just once every 24 hours. Often you provide the information and it does not load and you have to repeat the process again. I had this problem on both an ipad and a laptop. Even wired in a guest room it is slow to log on. This condition is present using wireless in both the guest rooms and the lobby. Despite strong signal strength, downloading is slow and uploading is slower. I travel all the time and am familiar with many other Marriott properties. Internet is a real problem in this hotel.

In summary, if internet i not important to you, I would highly recommend this hotel. I hope that management takes action and resolves the problem.

Room Tip: The corner rooms in the newer wing are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveldudesfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    222
    59
    19
    20
See reviews for
100
66
43
262
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
McAllen, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Stayed here for a business conference. The rooms were nice, friendly staff, okay area. Nothing special about the hotel, the rooms are like every other hotel. The staff was very helpful at all times of the day and night.
The conference center was fair. The food was not great but I am not sure if it was the hotel or the organizers choosing cheap meals.
We did eat at the hotel restaurant one day for lunch and the food was amazing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

My wife and I have been here a half-dozen times over past few years and enjoyed every stay. The hotel seems at first to be situated in an ordinary suburban site. But, it is actually very nearby top-notch shopping and restaurants galore, close to a number of parks, an easy walk to the historic Bethesda Trolley trail and just a few miles from National Institutes for Health and other major government buildings. The metro stop steps from the hotel entrance making travel to downtown DC and all attractions very easy. Most important, the hotel experience is superb starting with the welcome from attentive staff, to clean/comfortable rooms, and the kind of fitness facility with indoor pool I have only seen in the highest priced spas. Remarkably, the rates here have always been reasonable, especially for weekends as the hotel seems busiest with conferences during the week. The concierge lounge available for Platinum members ("frequent flyers") is also very well appointed and managed. In short, this hotel is extraordinary in every way.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 32999B2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The facility and room was very clean, and staff service was very professional and helpful. I stayed in this hotel to attend a workshop which served dinner in the hotel. Food was great, especially their dessert was outstanding (I would say, European style sweets). I would definitely recommend this hotel, and will use it again at my next stay in this area. One this to mention is that a room was a little chilly. I ended up setting a heat at 75F, but I still felt chilly. But maybe just me.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anneymomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Good location and lovely rooms, we took the breakfast package and it was worth it. The fresh made waffles and the omllettes were good as were the assortments of pastries.
The only minor negative was that when I asked the server for a small box for the muffin that I had not consumed(to have a little later) she lectured me on it, saying that if we ordered from the menu it would be ok. She then told a story about a guest who had abused the privilege. I thanked her then asked her to please bring me the box. I have never encountered this at a nice hotel before. She needed training in guest relations.
The room was spacious and the bed very comfortable. We had a nice view. Being the weekend the parking was free.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Islanlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
115 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Checked in for one night stay on business. Hotel has much to offer: lovely shining lobby, efficient rooms, excellent internet connections, prompt room service, courteous and very welcoming reservations desk. Rooms are business efficient and clean. This hotek approaches excellent but:
1. Hair dryer was on its last legs and should have been noticed by rhose servicing rooms, because it is annoying to wake up at 6 am in preparation for busy meeting and not have this minor but important amenity in working order.
2. Room tmerpature was set at 67F. Did not noticeon entry but noticed at 3 am when it becamse very cold
3. TV flat screen monitor had bright red vertical line running from bottom to near-top, interfering with screen.
4. Directions to my "walking distance" were erroneous in terms of how to and timing

Room Tip: Check out temperature before goiing to sleep and set thermostat to your comfort zone. Breakfast room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lilacroller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toldeo Ohio
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for a getaway weekend. We loved the fact that it was a more economical version than staying right in DC and tight on the subway system.. The hotel staff went above and beyond to make us feel welcome. From the desk help to the bellboys to the staff in the restauarant. Our room had a great view of the area and was very modern and smelled fresh. We had the breakfast buffet on Saturday morning and were so wowed by the food we decided to come back for dinner. We both had the crabcake special which was to die for! I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockville
3.2 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Rockville
1.0 mi away
EVEN Hotel Rockville
EVEN Hotel Rockville
#4 of 16 in Rockville
4.5 of 5 stars 264 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bethesda Marriott Suites
Bethesda Marriott Suites
#3 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 stars 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hilton Washington DC / Rockville Executive Meeting Center
2.2 mi away
Bethesda Marriott
Bethesda Marriott
#6 of 11 in Bethesda
3.5 of 5 stars 449 reviews
5.5 mi away
Homewood Suites Rockville - Gaithersburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 5701 Marinelli Rd, Rockville, MD 20852-2785
Location: United States > Maryland > Rockville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rockville
#6 Family Hotel in Rockville
#8 Romantic Hotel in Rockville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the comforts of one of the premier hotels in Bethesda, MD with a stay at the prominent Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center. Stylish guest rooms, a Concierge level and 50,000 square feet of high-tech event space welcome both business and leisure travelers with everything needed for a remarkable hotel experience. Conveniently located near the White Flint Metro Station, guests enjoy easy access to downtown Bethesda, Rockville, Washington, D.C. And northern Virginia attractions. Featuring an expansive ballroom, 120-seat amphitheater, innovative catering and lavish amenities, our hotel's conference center is ideal for hosting inspirational Bethesda, MD events. Well-furnished rooms pamper guests with luxurious bedding ensembles, high-speed Internet access, tantalizing on-site dining, a heated indoor pool and 24-hour guest privileges to the hotel's fitness center add comfort and convenience for a relaxed and productive stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Travelocity, Marriott and Priceline so you can book your Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bethesda North Marriott Hotel And Conference Center
Marriott Bethesda North
Marriott Hotel Rockville
Marriott Rockville
Rockville Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing