We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center is a Working Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Rockville
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
167 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center is a Working Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

With Marriott HQ nearby, the Bethesda North Marriott and adjacent Conference Center works, both for it's location and for it's clients. Marriott HQ has long needed a standard bearer for their main brand in their back yard.
After a 1 night stay there I can safely say the following:
Marriott fans and Marriott Rewards Members won't have any surprises.
The hotel is exactly what you'd expect - all business with a little luxury, very little.
Indoor pool is nice, exercise room has a lot of aerobic equipment which is what travelers who work out want- cross trainers and treadmills are always desirable.
The restaurant is as middle of the road as the hotel is - boring but great service.
The bed and bedding are very comfortable.
The staff is friendly and efficient.
The access to Metro is fabulous- the Red Line White Flint station is less than a block away.
Amenities in the area include restaurants, shopping, parks and more shopping.

Room Tip: Ask for a view south or west - it's just more attractive than Rockville Pike.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WorthHaving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    231
    61
    20
    20
See reviews for
100
68
44
275
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

As a platinum member of Marriott i was treated worse than any other hotel in the world. I was told at check-in there were no rooms available for upgrade, only after I complained of the smelly room I was given did I receive an upgrade 10 minutes after my original request. The front desk staff have an attitude and the manager backs them up. My suggestion they need training in hospitality. If it were not for the conference I was attending and the convenience of the hotel same location, i would skip this hotel. Obviously the front desk staff know this and thus the attitude

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank littlerOse0906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Five star service from the staff, an elegant lobby, and a lively pub. The 2-queen room was fresh and contemporary. When I realized I forgot some toiletries, Housekeeping was up in a flash with what I needed. The bed was comfortable and I slept well, which is unusual for me when I'm away from home (and it wasn't just because I was exhausted LOL). I would highly recommend this hotel to friends. The price for the room was on the high-end, but you get what you pay for and this hotel pulled out all stops to make my stay a pleasant and nice one.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1978Foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
Level Contributor
93 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for a friends wedding, also at this hotel, and I must say it lived up to the Marriott Brand. Check-In isn't until 3:00pm however the wedding started at 3:30 and we needed to get ready prior so we requested early check-in and they were able to oblige. Our room was beautiful and all decor was very modern and updated. The beds are amazingly comfortable. It felt as if I was sleeping on little clouds... LOL.
We ordered room service and the wait time was very minimal. The Ballroom the wedding was in hosted in was AMAZING. During the wedding, all the wait staff made sure to keep all the common areas clean and tidy. And if there was anything anyone needed, they were very quick to respond. I have not one complaint about this hotel and if I'm in the Rockville/Bethesda area again, I would definitely stay here.

Room Tip: If you order room service, try the Thai Chilli Buffalo wings. They're AMAZING
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FeBrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
243 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Booked the last room available when other arrangements didn't work out.

The staff was very nice and tolerant of my request to change rooms. Thanks Courtenay!

Although the hotel was swamped with West Virginia University Band members (loud and NOT courteous people) and comic book nerds, my sleep was not disturbed. Nice firm bed.

Room was clean; TV worked (could use more channels) and bathroom clean if smallish.

Why four stars? I only give 5 stars to hotels with free wi-fi. Sorry but if Super8 and La Quinta can throw in wi-fi, so can Marriott!

Room Tip: Room behind elevator (King bed) was surprisingly quiet and had no connecting door to next room. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MadisonGrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

I needed a place to sleep for three nights in the area and this hotel was just right for this purpose.
The service was prompt, the room was clean, and I didn't need much more than that.

One positive: when I was there they had the SPX 2012 running which did add a bit of color (too bad I didn't know in advance or I've had gone to a few sessions)

One negative: really? no free internet access? (actually, reading others' reviews, maybe I just had to ask for it :-) )

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karnaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
73 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

There for 3 nights for a nearby conference. Good quality sleep (7th floor, near lifts). My room had two double beds, desk, TV etc. No noisy fridge (good!). Small bathroom, but clean and everything functional.

Decent-sized bar and outdoor terrace. The usual embedded Starbucks you find these days. I didn't eat there, but the dining room is large, and breakfast looked decent as it was being set up.

A reasonable number of restaurants walkable, including Season52, where we went twice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wolandscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockville
1.0 mi away
EVEN Hotel Rockville
EVEN Hotel Rockville
#4 of 16 in Rockville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
3.2 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Rockville
2.2 mi away
Bethesda Marriott Suites
Bethesda Marriott Suites
#2 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Bethesda Marriott
Bethesda Marriott
#5 of 11 in Bethesda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Washington DC / Rockville Executive Meeting Center
5.5 mi away
Homewood Suites Rockville - Gaithersburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 5701 Marinelli Rd, Rockville, MD 20852-2785
Location: United States > Maryland > Rockville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rockville
#6 Family Hotel in Rockville
#8 Romantic Hotel in Rockville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the comforts of one of the premier hotels in Bethesda, MD with a stay at the prominent Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center. Stylish guest rooms, a Concierge level and 50,000 square feet of high-tech event space welcome both business and leisure travelers with everything needed for a remarkable hotel experience. Conveniently located near the White Flint Metro Station, guests enjoy easy access to downtown Bethesda, Rockville, Washington, D.C. And northern Virginia attractions. Featuring an expansive ballroom, 120-seat amphitheater, innovative catering and lavish amenities, our hotel's conference center is ideal for hosting inspirational Bethesda, MD events. Well-furnished rooms pamper guests with luxurious bedding ensembles, high-speed Internet access, tantalizing on-site dining, a heated indoor pool and 24-hour guest privileges to the hotel's fitness center add comfort and convenience for a relaxed and productive stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bethesda North Marriott Hotel And Conference Center
Marriott Bethesda North
Marriott Hotel Rockville
Marriott Rockville
Rockville Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing